We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Improved but more to go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Bay Amir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Bay Amir to your Saves list
Harbour Bay Amir
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Duyung - Sei Jodoh | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 77 Hotels in Batam
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Much Improved but more to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Running through reviews posted, I think the hotel has done much improvement during the last few months, but, more is needed.
The hotel and room are pretty clean, but, I think it could be better with some upkeep and upgrade to rebuild guest's confident.
It is conveniently located next to the ferry terminal, a mall and one of the famous seafood restaurants area in Batam.
However, being a bit off from downtown, choice of food is rather limited, but, not too far to get to downtown area like Nagoya etc by taxi.
And, 24 hours room service is promptly available.
The only problem I faced during my stay was the Wifi internet, which signal is close to none and is impossible to connect even though the router is right outside the room.
I was assured that an individual router can be arranged in my room in the case the Wifi outside doesn't work, but, it took the hotel more than 24 hours to arrange.
The worst part is that nobody has the courtesy to feedback to you in the interim nor inform their colleague taking over their shift.
So, I end up having to tell the situation all over again at least 3 times to 3 different staff at the reception in the process.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyok Eko S, General Manager at Harbour Bay Amir, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you for your trust to Harbour Bay Amir Hotel as your accommodation choice during your visit to Batam and taking the time to share your comments with us.

Thank you for your comment concerning our room cleanliness and we always do best effort to improve everything continuously for our guest satisfaction.

You are right that our location near Harbour Bay ferry terminal, mall and seafood restaurant, for your information that the seafood restaurant is main destination culinary venue in Batam.

Please accept our sincere apologies about WIFI facility and please rest assured that we have taken note your comment and we will address to our IT to check and follow up this matter and assured the WIFI in every floor working well.

We would like to extend to you our apologies concerning our staff feedback and kindly rest assured that additional training will be given to our staff to avoid this kind of issue in the future to prevent this from happening again.

Thank you once again for your comment that give us great value and we hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Harbour Bay Mair Hotel Batam. In the meantime, We remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.


Thank you and best regards,
Yoyok Eko Srianto - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
6
8
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked this hotel for a quick Easter getaway from Singapore. Given it was a long weekend, most hotels (Including SwisBel where I've previously stayed and enjoyed) were booked out. I booked the "Amir Suite" which is the highest room category in the hotel, although all you get is more space. The rooms are dated, dirty and poorly maintained. Stained carpet, flat batteries in the remotes and shocking bathroom amenities. Worst of all, the hot water is BLACK and absolutely filthy. They even have a note in the room advising guests "For cleaner water, run the tap for 2 minutes". Breakfast is very basic and you'd be better wandering to nearby cafe's. Note, there's no swimming pool. BTW, make sure you have cash as they won't take credit card for a security deposit and you have to pay cash for Room Service orders etc. On the positive, the bed was comfortable enough and the hotel is a short stroll to Harbour Bay for your seafood fix.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoyok Eko S, General Manager at Harbour Bay Amir, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

Thank you for your trust to Harbour Bay Amir Hotel Batam as your accommodation choice during your visit to Batam.

Please introduce my self as new general manager of Harbour Bay Amir Hotel Batam. I have read your comments and addressed it to all department concern. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.

We are very sorry for what you have been through and hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence. Please feel free to contact us directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

quite expensive for a backpackers Like me.
Room was in good condition but poor interm of cleanliness. there was a cocroaches here and there.we need to buy our own pesticides.
However basic facilities are there example hot shower, tv, fridge (if not mistaken) etc...
Breakfast finish before time.few customers was pis-off too including us.
Staff quite helpful.
Location good but nothing much to see around batam down.
Batam center mall nearby but be careful with cab driver . they might pinch hard on the fare.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

1) Aircon broke down and water was leaking from it on the very first day. Gotta get hotel staff to come up to fix it in the evening.
2) Cockroaches everywhere. In the room, In the toilet shower, on the cereal bowls at the breakfast area.
3) Room service was non-existent.
4) Not many channels on TV
5) Corridor had a musty smell like as though the carpets have not been cleaned for years.
6) Nothing nearby except harbourbay mall. (Even Carrefour has pulled out of the mall)
7) Wifi so weak it seemed that it didn't exist.

In all, there was really nothing to commend about for this stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We checked into the business executive room 928. It was cosy. Aircon poorly position away from bed. Not cold even at 18 degrees. Wardrobe was dusty. No safe box nor hair dryer. Poor wifii, couldnt get connected at all. Breakfast buffet is tasty but refill of food & cutleries were slow. Limited spread. Went for traditional massage at the spa. Good service by Miss Ratna. Overall the hotel shd improve on maintenance & cleanliness. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Were greeted with friendly staffs. Check in was not exact but nevertheless our luggage was taken care of while we shopped. Affordable spa services and near to seafood paradise at Habour Bay Terminal. Near to shops and 5 mins drive to DC Mall and Nagoya Hill Mall. We had the highest floor room with great view. Comfortable room with refreshments avail. Breakfast was bad though without much varities.

Room Tip: Normal room with bathtub and shower attached. Refreshments avail with request of top up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The place us old and run down.
Room smells like my hamsters' cage.
Toilet filthy and taps and showers not working properly.
Room phone nor working.... I guess they made it so that you can't call the guest services to complain.
So called free wifi does not work.
Water quality suspicious.... Broke into hives after shower.
AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COST.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Bay Amir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Bay Amir

Address: Jl. Duyung - Sei Jodoh | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Bay Amir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour Bay Amir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bay Amir Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Bay Amir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.