We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway GO AWAY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Bay Amir

Save Saved
You added Harbour Bay Amir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour Bay Amir
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Duyung - Sei Jodoh | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 68 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Getaway GO AWAY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My partner and I decided to have a weekend get away via groupons and this is the hotel that we got. Everywhere is smoking area which is a terrible idea for non smokers like and most especially the kids who was there as well. Ther room was the worst. No ref to begin with. Cobwebs on the cielings. The restroom has screws on the floor. The vicinity going out is not secured. So dark on since its construction areas. No wifi in the rooms and only in the lobby which is so slow.

Room Tip: Do not choose the hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stay for a night and we opt for business executive.. Trying out as recommend by friends.. We request for non smoking room bt were given smoking room.. Its ok and we didnt really check as we are heading out for spa n shopping and when we return we are shocked to found cigarette buds in the toilet and complimentary coffee was already use bt they didnt replace or clear it! When we lodge a complaint no action was taken. We insist fr explanation but was given a discount for our next visit.. We declined as for sure not gonna return back to this hotel.. Hotel need a revamp!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

These people that complain obviously don't travel much in Indonesia. I havee stayed twice at this hotel and i have no complaints at all, my rooms have always been clean and the staff have alsways been friendly and respectful, but i always treat them with respect as well. get real people this is very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is just next to the Habour Bay Mall which is connected to the ferry terminal for Wavemaster Ferry. So it's just a 5 minutes walk to either destination. Easy & no rush for departure. I stayed 2 nights, the 1st room was 924, it was so noisy that we had to phone for the staff to come up to help us find the source of the noise. Apparently the noise came from the engine pump of the water tank above that room. So we requested to change to a quieter room. Another group of our friends arrived the next day for a 1 night stay, they were on level 8. They took up 3 rooms. One of them complained about cockroaches in her room and toilet. All of us noticed that the rooms had cigaret smell and the towels did not smell nice. But we all agreed tht the beds were firm and comfortable. I noticed the peeling paints from the walls and old looking toilets in the rooms my friends were in on level 8. We saw some of the rooms next to ours on level 9 being refurbished so they may be working their way down.Breakfast was included in the room rates, but the spread was sad. They did not bother to replenish even though breakfast is suppose to be on till 10am. To be fair, the staff at the reception and bell hop service were friendly and even though they do not speak much English, they'd try to help us.

Room Tip: The executive business rooms and the standard rooms are exactly the same size, the only difference i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Hotel is good value for money.

However, it is a smoking hotel, and be prepared to be snuffed with the cigarette smoke.

The air con is very cold for comfort, especially when the weather is typically hot and humid.

So far, the stains highlighted by other reviewers can be seen, it is acceptable as this is not a highly priced hotel.

The breakfast is ok and acceptable, but be prepared to have a smokey meal there.

We ventured out of the enclosed Harbour Bay area and walked towards a bazaar at

http://goo.gl/maps/ORRt

It is a risky walk as there are no pavements, but it is rewarding as one will see the actual life, and feel the sights and sounds, including for the adventurous ones the local food, without the contamination of 'international cuisine' which we can have anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I been staying the hotel on 11 July 2012 for one night. I arrived at about 1045hrs local time and my rooms is ready. Nice set up of the room but a bit dirty at the floor. Overall is nice quite

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Myself & a friend of mine staied this Hotel on 28th & 29th June 2012. We came via Singapore from ferry to Batam. One good thing in this hotel is without waiting for normal checking time or extra charge as in singapore, they allow us to have our rooms. At that time the time was 10.30a.m.
Habour Bay Mall in opposite the Hotel. where you can buy things. All the shops are not occupide yet.
If anyone has limited money and want to stay comfotabley you can stay in this Hotel. The rooms are furnished well but carpets have some stains. Nothing to complain on Bathroom.(Sorry I couldn't get photos)The hotel some walls need a painting. But they
do regular cleaning. The staff is helpfull & friendly but their english understanding is very poor. But you can't expect 5 star facilities from 3 star hotel. Their breakfast (included in room charge)
is not bad. Buffet breakfast had resonable varietties. All in all it is not a bad Hotel. I am satisfied of the money I spent. Even my friend.

Room Tip: I was staying in 7th floor. The room is good. I could see Novatel Hotel & Pacific Hotel from my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour Bay Amir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Bay Amir

Address: Jl. Duyung - Sei Jodoh | Batu Ampar, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Bay Amir 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Harbour Bay Amir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bay Amir Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Bay Amir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.