We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite ok but there's better hotels elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Planet Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Planet Holiday Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raja Haji, Jodoh | Jl. Raja Haji, Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“quite ok but there's better hotels elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

- room is reasonably roomy. but has a musky smell. bit old skool in decor hehe.
- toilet is ok. water from the tap is erm, a lil ok.
- breakfast is. ok not fantastic

- for the rate that we got SG95/nite then from asiatravel, it's really not worth the $ as it is far from nagoya mall and other plc.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    53
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
23
18
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Booked 3 room at planet holiday..My room ended up with a musky smell and the air con temp cant go lower than 25deg..the other 2 rooms were fine so i dun reali made such a fuss about it..The good thing is..its swimming pool is great with sauna and steam room...its near the harbourbay jetty(good idea to go thru this jetty cos its about 10mins taxi ride to the hotel).its also near nagoya shopping centre...

bad thing is..i cant really sleep well at night due to the constant noise from the disco at the hotel lobby..can be quite noisy...its room service is pricey and the hotel spa would definately ask you for tips which they wont accept if u give a small amount...

tips for you guys...if you turn left out of the hotel and walk a mere 5 min you will see a road on your left..a steep road..walk up that road and you would see swiss bel hotel if im not wrong..walk another 5 min and you guys will see 'batam kuring'...i ate there..one word..awesome...

you guys can view my trip photos at
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=47457&id=100000219635160

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Located at the center of the city, it is deal place for a family to spend week end.
Nice lobby followed by lift to guest rooms overviewing the pool on roof top.
rooms are clean and spacious. Not much choice in breakfast on the restaurant on top floor.
Booking should be made through local contacts, it is expensive for foreigners booking directly, not less than 100USD/day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night recently and plan to go back next weekend.The Hotel has something for all ages and International tastes.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The hotel is old and everything inside the room is old. The front desk are friendly people but they don't speak fluent English. There is nothing to see in the neighborhood, but it is the nearest hotel of the company I will be visiting.

Terrible telephone system! Cannot call room to room, all I hear is static, and when there is a dial tone and I got connected, the call is cut after a few seconds. When I informed their front desk, they said there is no problem and did not send any technician to check it out!

The hotel restaurant is serving good food but the staff who took our order cannot speak English. She served the dessert first and the main dish after 20 minutes. Moreover, there is one dish we ordered that was never served.

Now the painful part was when I checked out. After paying and my baggages with me, I told the front desk I am having breakfast in their restaurant. After 1 hour I proceeded to the ferry station, but on the way I noticed I forgot a bag full of giveaways inside my room! I rushed back to the hotel, and when I asked the front desk, she said "Oh yes there is a bag of goodies there." They knew but they did not inform me while I was eating breakfast for one hour in their restaurant, not even attempted to contact me through my celphone.

Sorry, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Bad
1. Booked twin room but got room with double bed.
2. Couldn't check in at 2.30pm cos the rooms were uncleaned
3. Toilet had very strong sewage smell
4. Staff at Front Counter very bad in English. Didn't understand what we said most of the time
5. Room had very bad soundproof. Loud booming music can be heard in room at 7th floor, and the music runs through the night
6. 22nd storey Beer Garden is crap.
7. All hotel's website quoted in SGD. Deposit paid in SGD as well. But was charged in IDR at hotel. After conversion, I had to pay almost SGD $10 per room
8. Rate is exclusive breakfast. Pretty expensive. Can get other hotel with breakfast and wifi for prolly another 10 bucks more.
9. Hotel staff tried to get us vehicle to Ferry Terminal @ exorbitant price

Good
1. Located very near to the Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal
2. 21st floor resto & lounge had very good ambience. Excpet the fact that the live band only could play very old songs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

A good hotel for its price and rating with a large and varied breakfast buffet. The real qulaity showed up when we found out that our tour agent had not properly booked a return ferry from Batam to Singapore and there were not any return seats until late at night.

The staff stepped up and not only called the ferry company, they did not take no for an answer and got us a booking on the ferry we had originally scheduled.

The only downside is that this hotel is not as close to the Nagoya shopping complex as advertised and the taxi costs in Batam are extremely high. The hotel car is prohibitively expensive but fortunatly my spouse speaks Basha Indonesia so she was able to neogoatiate a dedicated private taxi for the trip. I would recommend that if staying at this hotel you either rent a car or arranged for a dedicated car and driver at the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#21 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#13 of 84 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 4 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Palace Hotel
Pacific Palace Hotel
#34 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.6 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
0.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Holiday Hotel

Address: Jl. Raja Haji, Jodoh | Jl. Raja Haji, Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Planet Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.