We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff really helped out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Holiday Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Planet Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Planet Holiday Hotel
Jalan Raja Haji | Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff really helped out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

A good hotel for its price and rating with a large and varied breakfast buffet. The real qulaity showed up when we found out that our tour agent had not properly booked a return ferry from Batam to Singapore and there were not any return seats until late at night.

The staff stepped up and not only called the ferry company, they did not take no for an answer and got us a booking on the ferry we had originally scheduled.

The only downside is that this hotel is not as close to the Nagoya shopping complex as advertised and the taxi costs in Batam are extremely high. The hotel car is prohibitively expensive but fortunatly my spouse speaks Basha Indonesia so she was able to neogoatiate a dedicated private taxi for the trip. I would recommend that if staying at this hotel you either rent a car or arranged for a dedicated car and driver at the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
14
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

this hotel is one of the better hotel at batam in term of room size but its a pity the disco on the 1st floor is very noisy all the way to my room on the 7th floor.
breakfast is quite nice and the staff is quite helpful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Planet holiday is a pretty renowned hotel in Batam, and because it's one of the tallest buildings in the city, we could always find our way from around the area back to the hotel on foot. It is within walking distance from Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre.

Rooms were clean and service was very prompt (especially when ESPN was not working well on one night when we were watching a soccer match). The service crew responded within 10 minutes and solved the issues shortly. Front desk staff were extremely helpful with queries on directions.

We topped up our package for a room upgrade to a deluxe room and were given a room on a high floor. The view was great, and if you ask for a city view room, you will be able to map how you would like to walk to the malls or surrounding areas.

Breakfast has good variety, but we were sorely disappointed on the first night with the inclusive buffet dinner. There were a handful of dishes, so we decided to forfeit our inclusive dinner the next night and ate at the street hawker stalls.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

On the 5th of september,i was swimming around 5.00p.m. when i was swimming a glass was stuck on my foot. Then my father inform the pool staff, the pool staff inform the duty manager. The duty manager, ask whether we need to go to the hospital. We went to the hospital without any staff accompany us. Later, we we return to the hotel. The duty manager give us a free porridge and the hotel pay for the hospital bill. We hope in future if anything happen the staff should accompany the guest the the hospital.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I stayed at this Hotel from October 2007 to February 2009 as a long stay guest. Facilities and services is excellent. Staffs are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I really love the stay in this hotel. It was one that was truly relaxing. Very friendly and helpful staff who attended to our needs very promptly. I was very surprised that even though their staff couldnt speak excellent English, they could understand what we want to a certain extent. I am going yet again in Aug 2009 for another short trip to the same hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

A Good Hotel. Nice Pool, Gym and the services was good. My second stay there. Decided to upgrade to a Deluxe Room, high Floor. In my previous stay, Standard room, the music from the Pub can be heard. You rent a Mercedes, with driver, to drive you around Nagoya. Have your dinner at Café de Venus. Value for money. Will stay there again in the Dec 09.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planet Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Holiday Hotel

Address: Jalan Raja Haji | Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Planet Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.