We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nagoya Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nagoya Plaza Hotel
Jl. Imam Bonjol, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Firstly, the location is a blast. Its right next to the Naogya Plaza shopping centre. Rooms are a bit dated but in my opinion its modest andt not too lousy, relatively decent though not fantastic.

As with all Indonesian hotels, their lobbies are air conditioned but there are smokers galore so refrain from long stays in the lobby if you can't take smoky areas.

Breakfast is normal, nothing fantastic. Sleep quality is compromised as i stayed in a low floor with my partner and loud music was blaring late into the night from the club downstairs.

Average hotel with location as its only plus point.

Room Tip: Do take note that the walls in my opinion are a bit thin so you might want to ask for higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stay here during Christmas 2012. Our room was at fifth level room 511. The air-con is not cold enough and it felt stuffy. The carpet was dirty. The bed is too soft as we did not sleep comfortably. Overall it was a bad choice of hotel. Otherwise, location was good. Nearby was Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Me and my husband checked into this hotel on 21st January for the CNY break. The moment i reached the hotel,
I did not get a good impression because it looked old. We were checked into room 329 and after settling in i noticed
That the carpets were old and not clean. Toilets were also not so clean as some of the wall were cracked. The room was
Not spacious as the table with the TV was right in front of the bed and we have to squeeze through to go to the other part
Of the room. OK and then the rain came and to our horror, the rain water was coming in through the window. My husband
Quickly asked for another room as the technicians couldn’t do anything about the window. Although we were given room
320, it was still not the standard we expected like other hotels. For this kind of old hotel, the price is also too high.

Room Tip: Pls do not book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had checked in on 12 December 2011 with 3 additional 2 adults. Staff need to trained on more communciation skills as they can't really converse well in english. I had pre-booked the hotel prior two weeks ago and was told the room rate was Rp 480,000 per night per room.

Upon checked in, I was booked charged for Rp 750,000 per night per room. Anyway, I just paid to stay on as is only one night.

Next thing I found out that the electrical kettle was not well cleaned as I found used tissues were stuff inside by the previous guests. It was very unhygenic.

On the good note, the staff at receptions were very friendly as well as the housekeepers. The hotel room is quite spacious as compared to my previous stay. Not much changes has done to any renovations to the hotel.

Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall is just a 5 minutes walking distance behind the hotel. Nightly there are lots of street hawkers stalls selling seafood, satay and nice BBQ seafoods here.

In general, I would rate the hotel average in terms of its designs & layouts. Staff need more training on communication skills. There tends to have some miscommunications with their guests.

Happy staying dudes.

Room Tip: Take a higher level as it is quite noisy on the lower level, it is near to main road.Choose a room n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed a night at this local hotel. waited till 3.00pm before I could checked. Got an orange juice served during the wait at the lobby. Room was ready exactly at 3.00pm and was given the top floor with a suite. Opened the door and it is a living room with strong cigarette smell - there is a no-smoking sign.
First thing is wanting to get a hot shower but hot water does not seems to be ready, so I thought it is afternoon therefore no power was generated for the heater. Close to the Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall which is excellent, returned back to hotel at night and still no hot water.
Internet works good, Tv is working, It is the bed that turned me off, little dirty with brown stain on the blankets - would recommend the hotel to invest in changing the bedsheets.
Air-conditioning set at full blast but it seems like it's about 26 Deg C.

Morning breakfast is pretty okay although limited selection. Cannot complain for a hotel just to stay alone or for short 1-day business.

Room Tip: Ask for a real non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Hotel exterior was quite dated especially since we stopped by the newer I Hotel first. Check-in was smooth and we got our requests fulfilled by the reception without any fuss (e.g. all 4 rooms on the same floor, some rooms with twin beds and some with double beds). Rooms were spacious although it is quite dated. Mattresses and pillows are not too comfy but still acceptable. Staff are pretty friendly. Breakfast was quite disappointing though, but overall experience still quite good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

There is a lane linked to the back of the hotel which you can take if you are walking to Nagoya Hill shopping Mall. Be sure to visit the Massage place called : Isabella. Superb service and resonable package!! Nagoya Hill shopping Mall almost have everything you need there, including hypermart, food street (be sure to try the local food, nice an cheap) and a great shopping mall with a varities of items and merchandise. The setback is, smoking is allow in almost all parts of the shopping mall so it's kinda health hazard. Overall, we are happy to be staying here but the bed kinda sink in the middle when you sleep on it. If you are not fussy bussy, it's still alright for a one night stay though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nagoya Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Nagoya Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.