We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLUB EVENT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Hotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden View Hotel Batam to your Saves list
Golden View Hotel Batam
Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Batam
simei
1 review
“CLUB EVENT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

I had a 2D1N trip to Bagtam and stayed at this hotel. The service staff at the cafe was helpful but a little slow maybe due to overcrowding during that period. Breakfast was not bad. Shuttle service to shopping mall has a limited timing but would be good if they can improve further by having more services during peak season. Security staff was great and very helpful. They provided good info and advice. The room was spacious and comfortable and can even accomodate 4 persons.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I was here for a business planning trip with my colleagues for 3D2N. When we arrived, I wasn't excited about staying in this hotel.

The room I stayed in was not very clean and lighting in the room was too dim. Don't be tricked by the name of the hotel - Golden View. The view from my room was the swimming pool and houses beyond the pool (refer to the photos posted by other reviewers)...not exactly the golden view I expected. The bathtub was designed poorly, water always flows onto the floor even though the shower curtain is pulled, making the bathroom floor very wet after every shower.

The buffet breakfast served at the hotel's Cuppa Cafe wasn't great. It seems to me that they were trying very hard to serve western style breakfast but failed quite badly. I ended up eating corn flakes and eggs subsequently. We had our lunch at the same cafe and the food was average. We had dinner at a kelong restaurant located beside the hotel. The seafood was again average. We also BBQ dinner prepared by the hotel's kitchen staff which I didn't eat much...I guess you know why.

The next morning quite a handful of my colleagues complained of vomiting, stomachache, diarrhea and food poisoning. A colleague of mine had to be sent to a hospital for treatment. It should be caused by contaminated food from the BBQ dinner the night before. Some had to seek treatment after they arrived back in Singapore.

In short, I won't be coming back to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedok
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I had booked this hotel upon my travel agent's recommendation for a short getaway holiday -2 days 1 night stay. The service rendered was excellent. We booked connecting rooms and when we came in we realised that the rooms were so spacious and comfortable.

I also like to comment on a bellhop who was very helpful when my dad went to enquire on room rates if he need to book room on his own instead of via travel agents. Not only the bellhop explained the rates but even took an extra mile to bring my dad around to show the different types of rooms available. (Forgot to take down his name)

My family and I had a nice enjoyable short stay in the hotel and we would like to thank teh assistance front office manager MR MADE RAJU and all the staff who have been helpful in one way or other. All of us had a pleasant experience and sure will be back again to your hotel and will also recommend to my friends.

Once again a BIG THANK YOU from all of us.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I booked the hotel via an agent for my company trip of 30. The service provided by all the hotel personnel are the TOPS! Some can't really speak English but still will go out all the way to ensure you get served and get what you need. Everyone was very polite and obliging even the hotel was more packed on the weekend. The function room we used was beautifully decorated and setup. Breakfast choice was not super but enough and the services were excellent.

The place was really kept cleaned. In the morning, i see the pool being cleaned daily, the floors are mopped. The rooms are spacious. I wish for a bigger TV though.

It's next to Golden Prawn seafood ( The One & Only huge seafood restaurant that every visitor seems to go. And the Go Kart track which we had tremendous fun!

Value for money and the service is impeecable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We have just organised a 3 day conference for about 70 people. The conference delegates were utterly amazed by the type of personal and attentive service offeref by the staff of the Hotel. The feel was like havng a team of family mambers serving you. From the Bell-captain to the GM, we were also amazed that even the Owner of the hotel himself was at hand to provide service to the guest.

The food spread at meals time had eveyone, practically going for the second and third helping, compliments to the chef. Even though, nothing musch has been written with regards to the hotel, even online, but it is definitely a case of "not judging the book by its cover."

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I booked this hotel upon my travel agent recommendation for 3D2N. Service is good, the staff over there is quite patient, polite & friendly but the spa service is not available at the moment but they say will add it in future. shop are limited and food as well but u can't buy your own food so u have to smuggled in cos the room service also limited.
There is one game you really had to try (refer to picture), is a kind of vehicle but only can travel around the hotel furthest up to the beach only. any enquiries pls email to my hua_456@yahoo.com.sg

  • Liked — Room is big enough, and still got coffee table
  • Disliked — room service cos the food is very limited and already prepared in advance so not fresh
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden View Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Hotel Batam

Address: Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
215 Rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Family Room, Suite Room) have been ready to suits your needs and various facilities: Cuppa restaurant, Rajawali terrace cafe, Murai lobby bar, Pipit kids corner, traditional massage, massage centre, full fitness centre, gym, sauna & steam, swimming pool, jogging track, laundry and valet services, 24 hour room service, booking for golfing, business centre, shopping arcade, free shuttle bus to the downtown, karaoke room. Outdoor activities (Go kart, High Rope team building, Flying Fox, ATV - Motor, paintball, volleyball field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden View Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Hotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.