We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and great jacuzzi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Hotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden View Hotel Batam to your Saves list
Golden View Hotel Batam
Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly service and great jacuzzi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were greeted by the bellboy and he offered to carry our bags. The people downstairs are always prepared to answer any queries and also bring us to golden city for some activities. Sadly when we reached the atv is not working. We book this hotel so it's near for us to do lots of activities especially atv. Came back the next day atv still spoilt. Jet ski was fun. Enjoyed the ride while battling with the waves and sometimes on air lol. Worth the $20 experience. Taxi uncle also very friendly. Love the taxi. They're using Toyota avanza and it was so comfy. There's aircon at the back seat too on top of us. It was rainy season and luckily Toyota avanza car is quite 'tall' and rugged to drive through the rain, floods and roads with stones. We're only 2 people but we took the family room just because of the jacuzzi. Jacuzzi was great. Very nice. Room was big for the two of us. Breakfast was lousy. Don't put high expectation for the breakfast. The only thing I eat is the scrambled eggs, freshly made from the omelette station. Porridge and cereal. The rest was...not that tasty or just nothing to eat it with like the white rice. I don't know what's the white rice for since there's nothing suitable to eat with eat. Swimming pool was nice. Need to fix the ladder in the pool. Tried to climb up the ladder to go back to land but the steps and the handle was too loose. And the steps keep turning so in the end we just use our arm strength to go back up. Water is blue but it's not clear. Wore my goggle and I can only see my partner's face up to 30cm bcs the water is quite foggy although it seems blue and pretty from outside haha. We've read others review saying that there's a deposit of $50, but for my case we don't need to pay additional money. Maybe we'll come back just for the service and jacuzzi :) Btw from harbor bay ferry terminal to this hotel is rp60,000. If you wanna go to Nagoya hill for shopping is rp60,000. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Family Room ( comes with Jacuzzi )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Our Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valued comments. We very much appreciate your feedback and insights. We have also noted your comments regarding breakfast and swimming pool. Please be assured that we learn from your feedback to promptly address and improve on overall service.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We purchased the promotion in deal.com.sg for a 3d2n inclusive of one day tour, breakfast, one dinner and fare.. (taxes not included)
Actually the hotel is quite ok.. its a bit old, but then its tolerable.. as of now their ceiling is under renovation, so maybe thats why the ambience is a bit gloomy.. the deluxe room is very spacious.. it has a safety deposit box,fridge,lavatory, a lot of cabinets and drawers.. got tv as well but mostly local channels.. they have complimentary drinks(coffee,tea and water). Basic toiletries and slippers.. they provide 2 towels also and facial tissue.
The room is clean.. i like their woody floors..
The toilet is a bit clean also.. but got all rusty stain. It has a bath tub, but we never use.. i feel like its not too clean to use.. and they don't have a door mop.
The swimming pool area is ok. relaxing.. but the towels are already old.so if you are fussy then better use ur towel.
They provide room service for food, but then we chose to ate at beer garden.. not so much choices,But its fine. there are some restaurants outside like golden prawn.
Buffet Breakfast.. 1st day is good, quite a lot but unlike other hotel they really offer a lot of choices from eastern to western. All types of food.. 2nd day.. just ordinary buffet.
Service is ok, but there's always a communication gap.

Well.all in all.. for me.. if your not fussy, you just want a short getaway, relaxation and a big room.. you can consider this hotel..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation!

Thank you for your valuable time writing favorable feedback on your trip and stayed recently at Golden View Hotel.

We apologise for the towels. Please ensure that your comment has been taken seriously by our housekeeping department will take the necessary actions to ensure professional cleanliness standards.
We are glad that overall you had a good time and we look forward to having you with us again.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We choose cos of the family room and pool. Both are ok condition. Breakfast are terrible. People smokes everywhere and even in the children activity room!

Nearby mall - harbourbay mall.. please do not go! We went and there's like 2 eateries and 3 shops open. Its difficult to get a cab back and you have to walk all the way to ferry taxi stand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Our Value Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valued comments. We very much appreciate your feedback and insights. We have also noted your comments regarding the breakfast. Please be assured that we learn from your feedback to promptly address and improve on overall service.

Concerning about the destination for shops, we also provide free shuttle services to 3 (three) optional famous shopping malls such as DC mall, BCS, and Nagoya hill. A short 10-15 minutes away from Golden View Hotel.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Extra bed only had a bed cover and a sheet underneath. Bed cover also had blood stain on it. Breakfast menu limited and cold. Fish and chips at Cuppa Cafe not fresh and hard and cold. When checked into room, toliet roll almost run out., no spare new toilet roll, the housekeeping staff did not replace a new toilet roll when cleaning room! The hotel lobby was stuffy and warm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Our Value Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and we had takes all your notes seriously to our housekeeping manager and also Chef in order to prevent such incidents to happen in the future. We will certainly look into it and improve our services.

Once again on behalf of our team we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and we look forward to having you with us again.


Regards,


Golden View Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed one night on a family trip. Rooms are spacious and clean, though the place looks old and needs updating. Hotel staff were generally friendly, though command of English were below average. Not much to do in the vicinity; rather, the activities around the hotel are rather boring.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Our Value Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback during your stay with us. Regarding the rooms in nowadays we continually doing a refurbish to make it more up to date and modern.Our outdoor activities also are very varieties to choose.

Once again, thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Regards,


Golden View Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed in 5 different hotels in Batam but this hotel has the best breakfast among the rest. I am not comparing with the resort, just hotels located in the city center. Room is not bad, it is spacious and has an extra single bed for double room with queen-size bed. But the room has no wifi unless you are taking the higher floor which is a higher class room. Those taking superior or deluxe then you can forget about having wifi in your room, unless you dont mind hanging at the lobby for free wifi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Our Value Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

We are so delighted that you had such an exciting experience during stay with us and thank you so much for your excellent comments. As our facilities for guest comfort ,wifi service coverage is provided in each room and floors.
We feel honored that you have chosen Golden View Hotel to spent your holiday.

Once again, thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Regards,

Golden View Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teluk Intan, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is my first time staying in a Batam Hotel, the operator there was friendly and they answered my call real fast. They speak good English as tourist like me would understand. And I am really happy with their wifi. The wifi there had a really good connection compared to other hotel which has a wifi that could not be connected and I am staying on the third floor. They had free karaoke room for us too. We spend our night singing and we were entitled with a free drink each. Overall, i give a 5 star rating for this hotel and I am really satisfied with my stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Elena Ong,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thanks for choosing Golden View Hotel during your visit in Batam.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are so delighted to receive such an excellent review from yourselves.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.


Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden View Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Hotel Batam

Address: Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
215 Rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Family Room, Suite Room) have been ready to suits your needs and various facilities: Cuppa restaurant, Rajawali terrace cafe, Murai lobby bar, Pipit kids corner, traditional massage, massage centre, full fitness centre, gym, sauna & steam, swimming pool, jogging track, laundry and valet services, 24 hour room service, booking for golfing, business centre, shopping arcade, free shuttle bus to the downtown, karaoke room. Outdoor activities (Go kart, High Rope team building, Flying Fox, ATV - Motor, paintball, volleyball field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden View Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Hotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.