We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from city area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Hotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden View Hotel Batam to your Saves list
Golden View Hotel Batam
Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Away from city area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room on the eighth floor during CNY. The master bedroom is huge with full panel windows but the common room is small. The common room's tv and dressing table should not be placed behind the bedroom door. Once you open the door,it blocked the tv and mirror. It will be nice to have an ironing board in the room. The music from golden prawn restaurant can be heard till the wee morning. That disturbs our sleep and peace. The shuttle service to Nagoya and BCS is great tho. Breakfast spread is quite disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Regards from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you so much your constructive inputs and comment. We are glad to having you as our valuable guest during your stay on the last February 2013.

To full fill guest needs of the ironing board, our help full staff will deliver it to the room upon request. We apologize for the unpleasant experience due to music from Golden Prawn. We have well noted all the inputs and pay attention to improve our service.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to having you again in your next visit.

Regards,

Golden View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
18
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2D1N at this hotel, which "designated" itself a 4 stars joint. But on the overall impression after the stay is that it's a hotel that's pass it's prime.
Sure, all hotels have good and bad points that influence one's enjoyment of the place. The following is my honest objective in easy point forms:

GOOD:
1) Reasonably spacious room
2) Basic and cozy with free WIFI...but somewhat slow upload. Do it at the ground floor level for better connection.
3) Polite and efficient staff - I asked on 3 occasion for extra towels, pillows, shampoo/bath foam..the housekeeping answered promptly and delivered within their promised 5min. 2 thumbs up !
4) Location: Golden Prawn Restaurants within steps (it's the same owner with the hotel, I believe, part of the ambitious Golden City project)
5) Amenities -fair swimming pool, kids play room, karaoke, massage, etc.
6) Sport facilities within minute transport with hotel bus : Flying fox, tag paintball, Go Kart, etc.
This was what got us to stay with the hotel. But there is no connection or special guest privilege,...you pay for what you do. Like an a la carte menu.
7) Reasonably good breakfast spread (in view of the hotel rates)
8) Felt safe and peaceful environment (but if you stay during business family day, convention,...it's another story. That's life)
9) Ready taxi service to town centre (Nagoya Hill Mall, about 20min, each way) with fixed taxi fares (no cheating)
10) Reasonable Hotel room rate

BAD
1) The SMELL ! there's a strange odour in the room that never seems to go away...sort of like a moldy, musky stench,...after aircon were switched on...it's dissipated slightly, but never go away. Perhaps we got used to it already...but those newly arrived will be "hit" by the smell.
Even the towels smelt weird...awful !
2) Moldy ceiling...it's ok for 1 night stay...just can't help feeling it's moldy...compounding the old feeling.
3) The bath tub material is the somewhat thin surface type, be gentle.
4) We switched from a deluxe to superior room, as our kids wanted the pool view (deluxe faces the sea in the distance, but not much of a view) ...and "lost" the use of a in-room safe. This is BAD !!!

So that you see, the hotel has more positives than negatives...it's a reasonably hotel...just tolerate that smell...

Room Tip: The deluxe room (facing the sea) is better. To get rid of strange smell, open the door & window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you for taking time to give us your review and feedback. We are glad that you had an overall enjoyable experience during your stay with us.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of Golden View hotel with regards to your expectations about our room conditions. I would also like to clarify that Golden View is currently going through a complete renovation – in phases, in order to serve you better. We will also take the necessary actions to eradicate the stale air in the rooms.

Finally, thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to a brand new Golden View Hotel Batam.


Regards,
Golden View Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Disappointing is an understatement. There's so much this franchise can offer, but results is well under-par.

The location itself is actually not bad, even though not walking distance to attractions (you mostly travel on a taxi anyway), pretty near to ferry terminals and major malls (Nagoya, Batam Centre, etc).

This little area called Bengkong is interesting - home to the "Golden Town", you'll see the hotel (Golden view), a quite famous seafood joint (Golden Prawn), a go-kart and factory outlet (Golden factory outlet), Golden Cheng Ho cruise... One might suspect all these belong to the same owner.

Staff are relatively friendly, the usual "drinks on arrival" is given to us. No comments with check in/out.


However the hotel itself is poorly maintained; here is the breakdown:

- The room is very mouldy (we are given 2 rooms in level 7 and 1 in level 4), you don't need to be an expert to see the mould growing all over the ceiling and walls!
- Other than the mould on the walls, it's not hard to realise that there's a severe leakage all over the hotel. There're different shades of paint on the walls to show how badly the furnishings are damaged by the water. The fake ceilings on the walkways to the room are extremely deformed.
- The carpet is, of course, very damp as a result. What's more shocking is the wetness of the bed and its covers.
- The bedsheets are stained, though felt a little cleaner than the bed covers(At least I don't itch when I sit on it), it's very uneasy.
- Bath tub cannot be used as it is jammed. As the water slowly trickles down, there's a very strong stinky smell of old drains.
- Walls at the shower area is very dirty - clear visible black stains are seen.
- Towels carries a very bad smell - my partner says it's a smell of urine. We didn't asked for a change as we're convinced that it won't help.
- The air-con is very noisy - serious vibrations are heard throughout the night.
- Showers run out of hot water - most of time the temperature is at most lukewarm.

We tried to ask for a change of rooms but we were told that the hotel is fully booked.

Amenities in the toilet is at the minimal.
The bed is quite hard, but it doesn't matter anymore.

Upon my return from Batam, I'm even more shocked to learn that the hotel is relatively new. Better upkeep is needed surely?

The food in the hotel is below par - I'm not expecting a lot for Batam hotels but the food have to at least be hot.

Understandably, it's hard for me to return to this franchise, it is 4-star in terms of facilities however the management seems to be struggling to even satisfy the very basics of a decent hotel.
It is not the size of the room that matters, it's the cleanliness! If I can give a zero for cleanliness and upkeep, I will!!

Room Tip: Of the 3 rooms, level 4 seems to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you for sharing with us your review and feedback.

We are sorry that you experienced some frustrations during your stay with us, and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered in our property.

I would also like to clarify that Golden View is currently going through a complete renovation – in phases, in order to serve you better. Rest assure that we have communicated this to our entire team to ensure that all facilities are kept in a clean and good condition.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback. We value your time taken which will help us to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back to Golden View, Batam. We hope to serve you better.

Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This time trip to Batam was for attend one of our friends wedding, and they book this hotel for us. We reached there before 12pm but the front desk staff willing to help us with the room. After she check with the housekeeping, our room are ready. While waiting, the other staff offer us complimentary drink of juice.
We actually not quite sure whether our room was Deluxe or Superior, but it quite spacious. Inside got 2 beds, one King-size bed and another single bed.The bed comfort enough. Inside no snacks, only bottled water and sachets of tea & coffee.
The bathroom adequate, got shower and bath-tub with hot water. Include toiletries, but no hair-blower. The only issue was water not hot enough.
Our room window facing to swimming pool so it quite nice.
We ordered few local dishes to room for late lunch. The taste 7 out of 10. We didn't try the Golden Prawn Restaurant within the complex as we attending the banquet at night on the 10th floor of the hotel.
As for the morning breakfast, the choice of meals almost same with other hotels we stayed before, choices of fried rice, bread/roti kaya, cereals, fruits desert.
The lobby quite big, got mini-mart, boutique shops, massage room, pub, breakfast restaurant and staircase to swimming pool. The surrounding not so noisy as the hotel located near the bay and far from downtown of Batam. And you should make appointment with front desk in case you need to travel around the shopping district as it quite far (20 minutes drive).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you for choosing Golden View Hotel Batam as your preferred accomodation, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We apologize for the lukewarm water during your stay; it has been duly noted and followed up by our team. Please also allow me to clarify on our mini-bar offerings. We do not stock our in-room mini bar with snacks as they are provided on request basis – this helps ensure the freshness of the snacks. Kindly refer to the mini-bar listing provided in room for the complete list of items available. You can request for the mini-bar items you desire by dialing extension number 8044 and our friendly staff will deliver it to your room.

Golden View Hotel Batam is ideally located and is suitable for both business and relaxation. It is only a 10-15 minutes’ drive to Nagoya City and we are pleased to inform that Golden View Hotel Batam provides in-house guests with complimentary shuttle bus service. Kindly check with our front desk for the most updated shuttle schedule.

Finally, we look forward to welcoming you in the future, whether for an event or holiday. We would be delighted to extend the warm hospitality in your next visit.

Regards,

Golden View Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in a Family Room, consisting of 2 bedrooms and a hall. We were given complimentary hotel transfers. Check in was smooth and the staffs were very nice. The hall is small and so is the other bedroom but the main room is huge. We love the jaquzzi and the seaview from our room was so relaxing especially at night and early in the morning. The wardrobes were old but still in usable condition. I guess I can't compare a 4 star hotel in Batam to Singapore. The bar at level 1 is simple but its a nice place to chill at night. The facilities around the hotel is not impressive however. There is no REAL animals in the Mini Zoo, much to our disappointment. They provide bicycles for the guests to use which were old. The GoKart Track is not challenging and the famous Golden Prawn is nothing to boast about. It was dark and stuffy. The lights and fans wasn't switch on until we requested. We were not handed a menu while we were there so didn't know what to order . We just chose what the waiter suggest and the bill set us aback. We won't be going there to eat anymore.We will be still be staying there in the future because of the friendly staffs and the big, clean swimming pool that my children really enjoyed splashing around but we will not use any of the facilities outside the hotel except for their free shuttle bus to shopping centres.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will be returning for another stay with us in the future.
We are truly appreciated your valuable feedback on our outdoor facilities and Golden Prawn Seafood Restaurant. Rest assured that we have highlighted your feedback for improvement to relevant departments.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I visited Golden View Hotel in Batam with my friends and had some good time with my friends. The hotel environment is very quite and pleasant. We really liked it. The rooms were also nice and spacy. The reastaurant was also good. We really enjoyed a lot and had very good stay. the staff was also very nice and the service was good.

Room Tip: The Rooms are nice and spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are so delighted to receive such an excellent feedback from yourselves.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you back in the near future.


Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had stayed with this hotel while in our visit in Batam island.The hotel is very quiet and pleasant,Resturant was good.there are so many Reasturants are around which is very Cheap.Hope to come back to hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Golden View Hotel Batam. A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are so delighted to receive such an excellent feedback from yourselves. And It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will be returning for another stay with us in the future.

Once again, Thank you so much for making Golden View your choice hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel soon.


Regards,

Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden View Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Hotel Batam

Address: Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
215 Rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Family Room, Suite Room) have been ready to suits your needs and various facilities: Cuppa restaurant, Rajawali terrace cafe, Murai lobby bar, Pipit kids corner, traditional massage, massage centre, full fitness centre, gym, sauna & steam, swimming pool, jogging track, laundry and valet services, 24 hour room service, booking for golfing, business centre, shopping arcade, free shuttle bus to the downtown, karaoke room. Outdoor activities (Go kart, High Rope team building, Flying Fox, ATV - Motor, paintball, volleyball field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden View Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Hotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.