We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Hotel Batam

Save Saved
You added Golden View Hotel Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden View Hotel Batam
Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 hotels in Batam
1 review
“Awesome place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

First time travel overseas and golden view is really an awesome hotel. The view is good, because got seaview. The superior room is so spacious. Big and comfortable. There are safe box in the hotel too! :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your positive review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your first travel in Batam and we are happy that you have a good experience with us and our facilities could met your expectations.

Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    40
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Golden View Hotel recently - bought a deal online so cant choose the hotel. There were 3 of us so the room was huge with ample walking space. It had a 32" flat screen plasma tv with around 20+ channels. Toilet was quite alright - passable. Overall u can tell that the hotel is actually dated - the room carpet has some stains too, the shower curtain had red stains too (!). The walkway to the rooms was dimly lit. So can be quite eerie if u are alone, walking back to your room late at night.

Breakfast was so so. We went down for breakfast at 8am... and the food was icy cold even though there were warmers. Spread was decent with the usual noodles, nasi lemak, toast, eggs, fruits, porridge, baked beans, sauage, bacon, etc. Nothing fancy, enough to fill your stomach.

The hotel is located quite far away from the malls - but there's a shuttle bus to bring you to the nearest mall. Didnt get to try it out as we checked in quite late on day 1 and had to leave by mid the next day. There's a kueh lapis shop nearby so convenient for those who want to buy some back home. The hotel is surrounded by seafood place (not fancy though), go-kart, a small outlet selling some souvenirs, polo ralph lauren.... not much entertainment.

All in all, a decent stay. But I will most likely consider other accommodation elsewhere the next time i visit Batam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank You for your esteemed feedback. It is unfortunate that you have not enjoyed your experience at our hotel as much as you would have liked.

We apologize for the stains on the carpet and the shower curtain, rest assured that we will coordinate with our Housekeeping department regarding this matter. It will be resolved for your future stay.

Further, please allow me to explain with regards to the dim lighting. We are sorry that it caused you discomfort walking back to your room. The reason it was dimly lit at night, is because we wanted to ensure the right lighting for maximum guests’ comfort. At this stage, I believe the lighting along our corridors is adequate.

We also thank you for your comments on our international buffet breakfast. Kindly note that our Head Chef has personally ensured that all food warmers are functioning properly. Besides that, our Chefs also ensured that the food at our buffet line are always maintained at the right temperature for the best taste and freshness. For guests who would prefer Ala- Carte breakfast, our restaurant also offers you that option.

Our hotel is a 15 minutes drive away from the major shopping malls in Batam. For the convenience of all our values guests, we are pleased to offer complimentary shuttle buses which operates on regular schedule to the malls.

Our hotel is also conveniently located near to the sea, hence we have Golden Prawn Seafood Restaurant which is popular with both local and foreign tourists. Fresh and Live seafood are provided in there.
For recreational activities, our hotel offers a recreation area – Golden City (located not far from the hotel main building). Many exciting games and activities are available there. Some activities include – Gokart, Flying Fox, Paintball, etc. We hope you can have more time on your next visit to enjoy the array of facilities Golden View can provide.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your valued feedback with us. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future. .


Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I purchased hotel ticket through agoda, as it was cheaper.
Hotel is good but old.
Since it has facilities like go kartn flying fox, paintball so its ok even if u are away from main city.
We have to take taxi to go to any mall

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments. We are very appreciative for your valuable input. Our hotel has stood since December 2006 and in an effort to make your stay more enjoyable, we strive to make continuous improvements and additions to all our indoor and outdoor facilities.

We also provide free shuttle services to selected malls such as DC mall, BCS, and Nagoya hill. A short 10-15 minutes away from Golden View Hotel.

Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you at our Golden View Hotel soon.


Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed there with Batam package. Room very dim. My friend's room door could not be opened and waited for an hour. Finally upgraded to a deluxe room. The walk way is very dim. The breakfast has quite many choices, but the food is mostly deep fried. Got a ktv room at b1 level. Price is 5 dollars per person. Room quite big.

Room Tip: All superior rooms comes with bath-tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments. The lighting was installed accordance to the requirement for guest convenience to get a supportive atmosphere for a good rest and relaxation. For the variations of buffet breakfast, the type of Asian breakfast is sometimes there kind of fried foods, but we are also serving another type of dishes for guests to enjoy.
Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you at our Golden View Hotel soon.

Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I lost my room key and everyone help me find!!! They,are the solid group of staff..Mario and the supervisorat the breakfast place the security everyone!! A must must come back I m not sure of other hotel in batam but the cleaning staff in the car park found my key,and rejected my small appreciation!! Great place good people and you feel like home. The place might be a bit run down but you are so well cared for u simply must come back and say hi to them!! Great job! Anyone can tell the boss especially my heartfelt thanks to the cleaner at the car park!! I just left the place and really miss the staff!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your excellent experience with us in details; honest helpful great staff, great place, and you feel like home. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We thank you for the praises concerning of our staff, they will be praised accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you again and enjoy the touch of our hospitality in friendly and relax concept.

Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The pricing of the rooms are reasonable, in good condition and spacious. The staff service are commendable. During our short stay, I made a request to propose to my girlfriend and the staff exceeded to all my request from songs, sound system, decorated stage and fireworks. I am a very satisfied customer and I cannot find another reason not to stay in that hotel again.

Room Tip: Excellent hotel in batam
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Foo,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.
Thank you so much for your positive review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are felt honored that you have chosen our Hotel to arrange the proposal too. Best wishes for you and your fiancé future.
Once again thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward welcoming you at our Hotel soon.

Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My boyfriend, family and some of our mutual friends stayed at Golden View Hotel Batam from 18-20 August 2012. The rooms were very clean, spacious and cosy. Service was excellent and prompt too. The hotel staff ensured that we were well-looked after - there was a welcome drink, the beds were in tip top condition (very comfortable beds) and complimentary toothbrushes were provided.

Staying at Golden View Hotel is akin to staying a food paradise too! Not only is there a large variety of sumptuous food at the breakfast buffet; you can walk across the hotel to the famous seafood restaurants-Golden Prawn 555 and Golden Prawn 933 restaurants which serves very delicious live seafood at affordable prices.

What was most memorable about my stay was that my boyfriend gave me a surprise-- he proposed to me by the poolside after making special arrangements with the hotel staff. The hotel staff had arranged for his plan to succeed -- which was to propose to me with dazzling fireworks!

My stay at Golden View Hotel has been amazing; I will definitely stay here again when I come to Batam!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evi z, Executive Assistant Manager at Golden View Hotel Batam, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Ms. Clara,

Warmest Greetings from Golden View Hotel Batam, A Perfect Place for Business and Relaxation.
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your excellent experience with us. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are felt honored that your boyfriend has chosen our Hotel to arrange the proposal too. Best wishes for you and your boyfriend future.
Once again thank you so much for your positive comments and we look forward welcoming you at our beautiful establishments soon.

Regards,
Golden View Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden View Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Hotel Batam

Address: Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
215 Rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Family Room, Suite Room) have been ready to suits your needs and various facilities: Cuppa restaurant, Rajawali terrace cafe, Murai lobby bar, Pipit kids corner, traditional massage, massage centre, full fitness centre, gym, sauna & steam, swimming pool, jogging track, laundry and valet services, 24 hour room service, booking for golfing, business centre, shopping arcade, free shuttle bus to the downtown, karaoke room. Outdoor activities (Go kart, High Rope team building, Flying Fox, ATV - Motor, paintball, volleyball field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Golden View Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Hotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.