We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad stay but pretty out of way - Not near to city ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden View Hotel Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden View Hotel Batam to your Saves list
Golden View Hotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay but pretty out of way - Not near to city ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Beside the hotel, there were 2 famous seafood resturants ... The foods served there were just slightly above avg.. Prices wise still ok..

As for the hotal, pretty big room and clean... Poolside not too big but the surroundings were gd... Quite windy at night...

But still preferred harris hotal at batam...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    45
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
20
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was on a weekend trip with friends, a group of 6. Reception told us they didn't have enough 2 rooms for 3s or 3 rooms of 2s thus they put 4 of us into a Suite and 2 persons in another room with 2 single beds.

Rooms we took were 721 and 723.
+ Rooms were very spacious - that's the only plus point I can think of.

- The TV channels were bad.
- Wifi available in room but signal keeps dropping.
- Room smells musky and toilets smell fishy.
- Carpets look dirty.
- Blanket in Suite had 2 obvious stains. Pillows smell musky like the room.
- There was one jacuzzi in the Suite but it looks dirty. Yellowish water dispensed from the shower head at the jacuzzi tub.
- Complimentary toiletries look as if they were randomly supplied - one toilet had shower gel that looks aqua blue in colour that smells like hand-soap, the other toilet had transparent shower gel.
- The next morning, Staff was not able to keep up with the crowd at buffet breakfast. There were mostly empty trays or trays with food debris. Don't know if the food was good I didn't manage to get much for tasting.
- Also, when I woke up the next day my skin on the lower back, calves, underthighs were increasingly painful and itchy. Started out feeling like slight irritation but got worse through the day. I got a shock when I checked myself in the mirror the following Monday because I blotches of bed bug bites! It's been a week now and it still itches! Not to mention the scars that remain..

To play safe I also checked my luggage which I brought on the trip - and horror of horrors I found a live bed bug hidden amongst my things as I emptied the contents of the bag. Of course I smashed it immediately.
- I was bitten on the bed in the Suite, but also learnt one friend in the room of 2 single beds also was badly attacked by bed bugs.

If hygiene is your concern - don't bother with this place. It BITES!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

One night free stay to Golden View via lucky draw wedding event. The hotel room is spacious, friendly staff with good English spoken. The location is a bit out of town, but I find it is a good place to relax.

Hotel provided shuttle bus service to Nagoya Shopping and other location.
Breakfast buffet is quite good.

Room Tip: Spacious Room, nice swimming pool and Hotel Shuttle bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My friend and I just returned from a 1N2D stay. I purchased a coupon l via Deal.com.sg so this stay was part of the entire package (which, at $68 incld seafood lunch, transfers to-fro, half day tour and a 1,5 hrs massage). At that price, I wasn't expecting very much. Hence I was pleasantly surprised at certain stuff at the hotel :

So here's the Good :
1. Breakfast was good - spot on fragrant asian style. Service can be slow,but hey, we're on a holiday, this is Batam, so we chill. Kudos to the chef.
2. Swimming pool - This was a nice size (not olympic) and decent with a kiddy slide one area and plenty of deck chairs & hammocks around. Both mornings there I saw cleaners cleaning up the pool and surrounding areas.
3. Hotel Staff were friendly and speaks english so no worries abt lack of Bahasa Indonesia.
4. Within the hotel compound are a few areas of 'entertainment' and food places : Golden Prawn 933 served fresh & tasty seafood. There was a Go -kart circuit, a kueh Lapis cake shop and a miniature garden of sorts, showcasing the various ethnic houses in the Indonesian archipelago. This was enjoyable for me - a cultural education of sorts.
5. Free shuttle buses - to a handful of malls and Golden City, which is an outdoor activities park where one can do glying fox, fish etc.
6. Free Internet access via 3 PCs located at the lobby.
7. Bed was firm, extra pillows sent up to room within 10 mins of request. Sheets were clean, bedroom slippers in room, safe provided in wardrobe. Tea/Coffee making facilities and 2 bots of complimentary water in room.


Now the bad/ugly :
1. Bedroom - was visibly clean until we inspected closer. I developed an allergic reaction once the air con was turned on . Clearly something needed servicing. Bathroom had strong smell of mildew which went away once air condition turned on.

2. Only Bath towels provided, none of the other smaller hand and face towels. All other toiletries were provided for.

I'd not recommend this place for very fussy folks or folks with sensitive skin/noses. But if you are there bunking in for one night, or this is part of a nice/cheap package deal, then 1 night stay isn't bad, if you know what you are coming in for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I am at this hotel when I am writing this review. The location of the hotel is far away from shopping centers and even though Shuttle Bus is provided, it ends at 3Pm. That's also the timing for check in. The pillows are very soft and does not provide good neck and back support. Carpets are not clean and stains could be seen. I have not eaten the breakfast yet but I will write back later to let you guys know how it went until my checkout timing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hotel location is very bad as it's far away from shopping centre and they served really bad breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

had been to the hotel with friends, Nice hotel, spacious room as well
good to have a jacuzzi tub in the room itself and a nice view as well
good food, though could have been better
had good time playing pool and the spa treatment was great too in the hotel, also have a disco in the hotel itself, adding to some more activities to do

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Golden View Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden View Hotel Batam

Address: Jl. Bengkong Laut | Batam Island, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden View Hotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
215 Rooms (Superior, Deluxe, Family Room, Suite Room) have been ready to suits your needs and various facilities: Cuppa restaurant, Rajawali terrace cafe, Murai lobby bar, Pipit kids corner, traditional massage, massage centre, full fitness centre, gym, sauna & steam, swimming pool, jogging track, laundry and valet services, 24 hour room service, booking for golfing, business centre, shopping arcade, free shuttle bus to the downtown, karaoke room. Outdoor activities (Go kart, High Rope team building, Flying Fox, ATV - Motor, paintball, volleyball field). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden View Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden View Hotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.