We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, Quiet Accommodation With A View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Vista Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Komplex Top View Garden, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cosy, Quiet Accommodation With A View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our group of 5 stayed for a night at the Crown Vista, Batam, Indonesia.
We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was located on a hill outside of the busy town area.

One thing that struck us was that the staff spoke comprehensible English.
From the Concierge to the Front Desk to Housekeeping to the driver of the shuttle service.
The training system must be doing something right.

Although the hotel looks a little worn down, the systems still work.
The rooms, beds, toilets were clean.
The WiFi works well.
The air-conditioning works.
The Housekeeping was prompt in bringing the additional bed to the room.
The hotel also had the sense to allot us with adjoining rooms given we were from the same group.

The breakfast next morning was simple but adequate.

Do make use of the complimentary shuttle service to get to town.

I must relate this wonderful experience with their shuttle service.

We had arrived on the evening of 16 Oct.
We had alerted the Front Desk staff to take the shuttle into town.
For that day, the shuttle was scheduled to stop at MegaMall Shopping Centre.
The shuttle stops at different town location throughout the week.

We were the only group which boarded the shuttle at 7pm.
We were also fortunate to have Mr Rocket, the rostered driver, who impressed us with his flexibility.
After speaking to us and finding out our plans, he counter suggested if we would like to go to Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre instead of Megamall.
Reason being that the ferry terminal for our departure the next day was opposite Megamall Shopping Centre, & we would have more than 4 hours to "kill" between hotel checkout and ferry boarding.
This way, we would have had the opportunity to explore 2 shopping centres instead of one.
Mr Rocket could do this because we were the only group in that evening's shuttle trip.

Mr Rocket's sense and grasp of a hotel's guests situation is the stuff that great practitioners of customer service are all about.
Mr Rocket understood our requirements/constraints, turned the simple situation around and helped us make the best of our limited time whilst in Batam.

Although we were only at the hotel from the evening of 16 Oct till 11am the next day, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crown Vista.

Note to Crown Vista Management:
Mr Rocket is clearly an asset to your organisation.
A hotel's shuttle is quite a straightforward service and one that is almost always expected of a hotel by it's guests.
Mr Rocket's customer-oriented mindset had truly delighted us in his simple and creative way.

Room Tip: Make use of the complimentary service to maximise your stay at Crown Vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is situated on the hill with a view of the city. I cannot call it a nice view, but it's a view of an open space, there could be a wall or a building there. It is about 20-30 min taxi ride to Nagoya shopping mall. The hotel does offer complimentary shuttle service, which was very welcome. It's a very average hotel that is stuck somewhere in the 80s-90s era with it's decor and ambiance. It really needs an update, got to freshen up.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was nice and clean, nothing special with a view of the city and a pool. Pool has a view of a parking lot...not very appealing.
There seemed to be an attempt at some renovation in the room, cracks on the walls were plastered and painted over. But paint was a tone lighter than the rest of the room. Bathroom was slightly moldy in the corners with cracked tiles. Breakfast was not very good, choice was very limited and food was not very tasty.
All in all, I suppose it was value for money but very average value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were upgraded to a room with view Located on top of the hills where view is the best part of the hotel. Check in was prompt, the bell hop was great. Awesome pool. Breakfast choice is limited but tue taste is very good. Taxi is always available for you to get around the city costing around RP50,000

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Took 25 minutes from the ferry terminal to the hotel which wasn't too bad. It's perched up on a hill which provided a lovely landscape view. The twin room on level 1 was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty extensive and food was plenty. The pool was clean but it lacks sun lounges. There was only 2.

The front office staff were very pleasant and friendly. They were always available to help with any inquiries and with arranging of ferries or the transport to town.

Being on a Sunday morning, the breakfast restaurant at the lobby was extremely busy and walking around the tables to get to the food station was slightly inconvenient, having to brush against diner's chairs or their backs !

Overall experience was generally good but the hotel is in bad need of an upgrade. Looks like a very old establishment. Like the title says, Cheap and Cheerful. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Booked through street deal for a 2d1n trip. This hotel is located up in the hill so we have a feeling like in the highlands. We are not satisfied with the room. It is very simple and we do not have a good view from the window. We tried to request for a nice view room, they required us to top up for the room.
Other than that, the service and food is very good. I recommended you all do not need waste money to hire taxi to go out town for dinner. The food in hotel is very nice at a reasonable price.
I will definitely go back for the massage in the hotel. We tried foot massage, all of us enjoy very much.Another add point is the pool,there got a jacuzzi with warm water located beside swimming pool. The most enjoyable thing is we can soak in the jacuzzi pool after swimming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel.

The first time experience was awesome. As we have 6 people, we managed to get a 3-bedroom suite which is very spacious and comfortable.

this time round, my friend did booking through agoda.com for 2 rooms. S$72 for 1 room. i think is a superior room, it was smaller and have this musky smell, but we requested for air freshener then it was better.

the service provided by the staff there was still good and friendly. they can speak simple English. They lead us to our rooms, help to book the shuttle service to Nagoya hill, taxi service to ferry terminal. Also when my girlfriends and I were at the indoor jacuzzi and sauna, they smiled and help us to on the jacuzzi.

Love the swimming pool and facilities provided by the hotel.

the food at the scenery was good and affordable as well, but the food did took awhile to come.
the omelette at the breakfast buffet was good too.

Room Tip: Good for basement room that face the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stay there for 2 nights on 6 n 7 nov. warm reception from hotel with orange juice. Room was decent but not really soundproof. Buffet breakfast was great especially the omelette. Overall a great stay as it was affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Vista Hotel

Address: Komplex Top View Garden, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regardless the purpose of guests staying with us, with one and only, breathtaking view in town, fresh, natural air and our exciting staff and activities. We believe Vista is the only hotel in Batam who would make you feel your Stay with View and Thrill of excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.