We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crown Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Crown Vista Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Komplex Top View Garden, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Took 25 minutes from the ferry terminal to the hotel which wasn't too bad. It's perched up on a hill which provided a lovely landscape view. The twin room on level 1 was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was pretty extensive and food was plenty. The pool was clean but it lacks sun lounges. There was only 2.

The front office staff were very pleasant and friendly. They were always available to help with any inquiries and with arranging of ferries or the transport to town.

Being on a Sunday morning, the breakfast restaurant at the lobby was extremely busy and walking around the tables to get to the food station was slightly inconvenient, having to brush against diner's chairs or their backs !

Overall experience was generally good but the hotel is in bad need of an upgrade. Looks like a very old establishment. Like the title says, Cheap and Cheerful. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Booked through street deal for a 2d1n trip. This hotel is located up in the hill so we have a feeling like in the highlands. We are not satisfied with the room. It is very simple and we do not have a good view from the window. We tried to request for a nice view room, they required us to top up for the room.
Other than that, the service and food is very good. I recommended you all do not need waste money to hire taxi to go out town for dinner. The food in hotel is very nice at a reasonable price.
I will definitely go back for the massage in the hotel. We tried foot massage, all of us enjoy very much.Another add point is the pool,there got a jacuzzi with warm water located beside swimming pool. The most enjoyable thing is we can soak in the jacuzzi pool after swimming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel.

The first time experience was awesome. As we have 6 people, we managed to get a 3-bedroom suite which is very spacious and comfortable.

this time round, my friend did booking through agoda.com for 2 rooms. S$72 for 1 room. i think is a superior room, it was smaller and have this musky smell, but we requested for air freshener then it was better.

the service provided by the staff there was still good and friendly. they can speak simple English. They lead us to our rooms, help to book the shuttle service to Nagoya hill, taxi service to ferry terminal. Also when my girlfriends and I were at the indoor jacuzzi and sauna, they smiled and help us to on the jacuzzi.

Love the swimming pool and facilities provided by the hotel.

the food at the scenery was good and affordable as well, but the food did took awhile to come.
the omelette at the breakfast buffet was good too.

Room Tip: Good for basement room that face the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stay there for 2 nights on 6 n 7 nov. warm reception from hotel with orange juice. Room was decent but not really soundproof. Buffet breakfast was great especially the omelette. Overall a great stay as it was affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The good points for this hotel is their warmest service and superb location. As stated in their website, check-in time is 2pm. But as we arrived in Batam before that time and we bring many luggage, so we tried to call the hotel and asked for early check-in. Although they said 2pm, we arrive there and yet they already prepare the room in good condition for us to check-in. We got 2 deluxe rooms with balcony at B2 level, 1 with twin-bed, the other queen-size bed and both balcony is connected side-by-side, with great view to city of Batam.
Later on we asked front desk to provide transportation for us, as we eager going to shopping mall for lunch, body-care, and few shopping list before the evening wedding banquet on same hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Do mind to make reservation with front desk if you want to go down to the city centre, shopping mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed in the hotel on 11-12 June with my family. We booked two separate rooms at the second level and checked in at around 12 pm.
When we first entered into the rooms, we can smell something weird, not so pleasant. But the rooms are quite spacious and clean enough.
After spending a day at Nagoya, we went back to the hotel for their massaging at night. My eldest daughter went for full body scrub. My hubby went for foot reflex. My youngest daughter and I went for their facial treatment. Honestly, I find the services average and not so fantastic as mentioned in some of the reviews. Their rooms are dark and stuffy even though the air-con was on. The price ranged from S$25 to S$40. If you have the time, go to Nagoya which has more choices.

We spent our morning in the pool and sauna the following day. Nobody was there so we could occupay the pool for ourselves. Checked out at 12 pm. Since our ferry departure was at 6.40pm, they drove us to the Batam Megal Mall instead of the ferry terminal. From the mall to the ferry terminal is only a 5 minute walk.

Generally, the place is pleasant and safe enough.
The price is reasonable. We paid S$70/ pax for two twin-sharing rooms inclusive of breakfast.
The staff are friendly and polite but not the warm type. Most of them cannot speak English.
The location is a bit far from the city but we like its cos it is quiet and on a hill. They provide transport service to and fro the Nagoya mall at a total of RP100,000.
Their breakfast has a good variety and they replendish the dishes very fast.
If we are going Batam for a short break again, will consider to stay in this hotel again but will not try their massage.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Gr8 with group of friends who wants to chat all nite long with amazing view in the evening at the Peak or in our big balcony with chair and tables.Even though the location of the hotel wasn't convenient but we book a local van to drive us anywhere we want to go at a very cheap rate of S$70 per day for the 14 of us.
We were given two family rooms, each comes with 3rooms and a dinning area and an empty fridge(we load them with ice-cream and drinks)Each room comes with bathroom and bathtubs(but rather small)well...at least we do not share 1 common bathroom.Expect the family room to be small but.... instead it was really big! Many space for the children to run and move about.
English was never a problem as most staff speaks and understand them well.
Breakfast was quite good with mix of local dishes and western. I notice they actually change their local dishes everyday which is good as i dun want to eat same thing in the morning.
Porridge was not kept hot thou out the breakfast..so if u want to have very hot porridge..get up early!!!
Overall, u will not be disappointed with this hotel for the price you pay.... gr8 view,gr8 room and food.

Room Tip: the family room would be good for groups of friends as d other two rooms r big enough to add extra b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Vista Hotel

Address: Komplex Top View Garden, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regardless the purpose of guests staying with us, with one and only, breathtaking view in town, fresh, natural air and our exciting staff and activities. We believe Vista is the only hotel in Batam who would make you feel your Stay with View and Thrill of excitement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.