We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Batam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

The location was excellent and 5 minutes away from Nogoya Mall. Breakfast was great with wide varieties of choice and differnt menu spread daily. Service staff speaks and able to communicate effectively in English. We relax and excercise in the Gym facilities; sanua; stream and Jaccuzi pool and find ourselves refreshed and recharged.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    88
    91
    26
    23
See reviews for
47
38
31
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Positioning as 3 star hotel in Batam actually already firmed. Need to improve the service, because Ibis as an international chain hotel is asked to give extraordinary service that can bring "wOw" impact. Perhaps Ibis can use branded service concept to improve the service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Needs more non smoking rooms as I find very difficult to get the rooms even i was specifically asked for it. Smoking rooms are very smoky odor. Check out time should be 12pm yet I still cant get my rooms up to 5pm.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

1) Room Checkin
- Booked 2 rooms for 4pax..
- Upon arrival, hotel insisted that my booking is not found.
- Insisted that the hotel to check 3,4 times, then the hotel found the booking record.
- However, they now insisted that the booking is only for 1 room and they only have 1 room available and there is nothing they can do.
- After much debating, the hotel asked for proof in order for them to make arrangement.
- Upon proving with confirmation slip, the hotel then made arrangement to squeeze 4 into a suite. The wait continue as the room is not ready.
- We then informed the receipt to prepare the room while we went out to run errands after the hotel confirmed that they will arrange for 2 single n 1 king size bed for 4 of us.
- After we returned to the hotel hours later, the hotel again told us that there is no room available. After much debating again, they found the room for us again but told us there is only a king size bed available for 4 of us. After much negotiation, they finally informed us that they have 2 additional single beds for us.
- At the same time, there are 2 other groups of guests who faced the same problem of no room available to them although booking n payment was done.

2) Breakfast
- During the check in, we have double confirmed with the reception that we will have 4 breakfast provided (paid), although its just 1 room. They had confirmed and wrote on the breakfast that its for 4pax.
- When we went for breakfast for the next morning, we were stopped at the door to the restuarant as they insisted that each room is only entitled for 2 pax. Although we pointed out that it is written '4' on the breakfast slip and explained why 4 of us were put in a room, The waitress refused to believe in us and asked us to stand aside to wait when they verified.

3) Spa
- We went to the spa to check and made a booking for the next morning.
- We triple confirmed the timing and the 4 pax (as we knw how screwed up they are).
- The spa officer assured us its for 4pax at 10pm in the meeting
- However, we received call 15mins to 10pm, that they said 3 of us can go for the massage without explaining why 3 instead of 4.
- After we went to the spa to do a check, they insisted its 3 only, 3 only.
- We were make to wait and wait for 20mins and the officer arrived telling us they only 3 masseurs available although we have booked for 4 pax.


Very frustrating experience....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

good value, good location, u got everything under one roof

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have been staying at Mercure Batam 1-2 nights a week for a few months now. Good points: Reasonable price. Courteous staff who (mostly) speak English. A-Club. Clean. Bad points: Old rooms. Isolated location.

If I had first stayed in Mercure, my review would have been extremely harsh, but since I did my time in Hotel 89 and after that, Swiss-Inn, I can say Mercure Batam is good enough for me.

Yes, the rooms are old. The bathroom ceramics has marks. There has been some renovation but not a complete overhaul. If you forget to ask for a room in the back, facing the pool, you might have trouble sleeping due to the noise. However, I have yet to see a single cockroach and I do not even feel the need to check for bed bugs. Which is more than I can say for the other hotels I have tried.

The swimming pool has an incredibly shallow end but at least there is a pool, and it is large enough to do laps.

The staff is courteous and on the most part, conversant in English.

Location is a minus. There is a Pizza Hut, a KFC, a convenice store, a supermarket and a few coffee shops within walking distance. But no shopping centre. No entertainment complex.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

One night's stay with a friend. Arrived 7pm. Checked in easily although my name was not reflected on their booking system. It pays to print out the confirmation and i booked directly from Accorhotels.com, the owner of the property.

Room was clean. Renovated not too long ago. Lights were a little dim but I brought my own energy saver 24W or 120W equivalent as I read a posting here about the room being dimly lit.

Aircon was comfortable. No world cup on TV. You have to go downstairs to watch it in the hotel lobby. I watched it online via free wifi which both of us could get but the signal was not coming from the hotel. I was informed that wired internet is 50,000Rp for 6 hours which is fairly cheap. 50,000Rp is a 5-10 min taxi ride in Batam.

Room bed was comfortable. Pillows smell of Downy (a top notch Vietnamese fabric softener). Carpet was clean. Furniture was also clean. Nice new curtains. You can hear a little bit of traffic but only if you listened for it.

Breakfast was satisfactory. Coffee/ Tea self service (i think). Fruit juice consist of Orange, Apple and Mango. Fresh cold milk and cereal. Hot and cold dishes. Freshly cooked eggs cooked the way you want it. Service staff hardworking but a little smile wouldn't hurt. Didn't feel welcomed. But, I would be a little grouchy at 8am myself.

I must say that I am not dissapointed by this hotel even though there are stuff written about this hotel that would have made me avoid it completely. But i have faith in Accor group. So, i came.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#18 of 80 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaris Hotel Nagoya Hill - Batam
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#13 of 80 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
0.4 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horison Ultima King's Batam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.