We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable with its good price and service but poor location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Save Saved
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“acceptable with its good price and service but poor location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

overall is satisfied as we overnighted there only. Quite old hotel with traditional finishing but what we could expect with its price. However, we took dinner there and felt it is good deal. Not able to find local stall or restaurant nearby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Pink Lim
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.and referring your comment traditional stall closed fro while due to Public holiday. than room will be renovated .

From in deep my heart i would like do apology not welcoming you upon arrival , and your comment in social media TripAdvisor always make me wake up .

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    74
    70
    26
    20
See reviews for
37
33
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Room and furniture are very old and the location is far from the shopping area. Managements should consider re-renovation as i though under Accord group the hotel should acceptable but very disappointed.hope will change is the furniture


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Sincerely beloved guest

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

From in deep my heart i would like do apology not welcoming you upon arrival , and your comment in social media TripAdvisor always make me wake up .

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed for one night there before transit to Singapore. Room's stink (mold smells), very dirty carpet, dirty sheet and dark spots in blanket. There's stains (hair oil) in my pillow case. Definitely wont be repeated stay there again next time i visit Batam

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Sincerely beloved guest

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

From in deep my heart i would like do apology not welcoming you upon arrival , and your comment in social media TripAdvisor always make me wake up .

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Nice location, very near to Nagoya Mall. The room was simply huge for the price we paid. Took a groupon 2D package. Breakfast spread was huge and tasty.The hotel is nearby Pizza Hut and malls.

Will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Anuj
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.


We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

My Best Regards

Heru Wibowo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Batok New Town, null, Singapore
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A group of 30 of us were in Batam and stayed at Mercure Batam.

The pool view from our room on the 3rd floor was horrendous, the water was somewhat cloudy..and kids were swimming in it! the hotel should consider closing the pool for good if they choose not to maintain or upkeep it.
the same goes for the kettle in room, it was so old, and it was an exposed metal boiling model, it was already corroded and rusty. Pls do not use it to boil water for any consumption, definitely not for baby food or formulas..

Surely the guests and willing staff deserve a better place to stay and work in.
Looking forward to a better and nicer Batam Mercure soon!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide the best hospitality and service during your stay.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently.

We are deeply concerned and share your disappointment Regarding Jug kettle , pool water , but we insist to be more responsive to make our valuable guest in satisfaction during their stay in our hotel. The issues you encountered clearly identify areas where improvements are needed hence we thank you for bringing these up to our attention so that appropriate steps may be taken to avoid recurrence. Likewise, we will take your feedback as a motivating tool to ensure our service levels and Hotel Facilities are constantly according to Mercure Hotel standards.

At Mercure Batam , we aim to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests thus you can be assured that your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and appropriate action and training will be taken to ensure that our entire team consistently maintains a warm, positive and professional demeanor when dealing with guests.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to show you the improvement and provide you with the real Mercure service on your next trip to Batam.

Best Regards,

HERU WIBOWO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed there on 14 June 2014. Checked in at 6pm, while trying to open the room door with my door card, a man in his towel opened the door! It is obvious that the receptionist did not checked beforehand. I was then given another room. Disappointed again. The room smells and the toilet bowl was not working. Tried calling the recept but no one answers. I have to go down personally to get the plumber to attend to my call. Fridge was locked and have to call to open it. Bathtub was dirty and the carpet was dirty. Even the kettle was not working. Requested to change another room and was told all rooms was taken up! I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide the best hospitality and service during your stay.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently.

We are deeply concerned and share your disappointment Regarding Cleanlines, towel ,Key card and staff attitude , but we insist to be more responsive to make our valuable guest in satisfaction during their stay in our hotel. The issues you encountered clearly identify areas where improvements are needed hence we thank you for bringing these up to our attention so that appropriate steps may be taken to avoid recurrence. Likewise, we will take your feedback as a motivating tool to ensure our service levels and Hotel Facilities are constantly according to Mercure Hotel standards.

At Mercure , we aim to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests thus you can be assured that your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and appropriate action and training will be taken to ensure that our entire team consistently maintains a warm, positive and professional demeanor when dealing with guests.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to show you the improvement and provide you with the real Mercure service on your next trip to Batam.

Heru Wibowo -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.