We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Batam
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    88
    87
    26
    22
See reviews for
45
38
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed for one night only, This hotel need a renovation. The lighting in the rooms was dark and old fashion, but amenities such as towel was clean. Breakfast was average nothing special, location was ok

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Mr.Suwanto Somawi

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide the best hospitality and service during your stay.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently.

We are deeply concerned and share your disappointment Regarding The Building in this year 2014 we had planing to renovated our building and start already from Meeting Room and will continue to our guest Room , but we insist to be more responsive to make our valuable guest in satisfaction during their stay in our hotel. The issues you encountered clearly identify areas where improvements are needed hence we thank you for bringing these up to our attention so that appropriate steps may be taken to avoid recurrence. Likewise, we will take your feedback as a motivating tool to ensure our service levels and Hotel Facilities are constantly according to Mercure Hotel standards.

At Mercure , we aim to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests thus you can be assured that your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and appropriate action and training will be taken to ensure that our entire team consistently maintains a warm, positive and professional demeanor when dealing with guests.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to show you the improvement and provide you with the real Mercure service on your next trip to Batam.

Heru Wibowo -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I don't expect luxury from a 3-star hotel, but I do expect a clean, well-maintained property with functioning amenities. I stayed at the Mercure Batam for a 1-night 'staycation' away from Singapore and was disappointed with the general shabbiness of the property, lack of functioning wi/fi, smell of the room and the weak hot water in the bathroom.

The positive was that the room was a good size and reasonably furnished with a large king size bed. The mattress was quite hard, but came with a comfortable duvet and pillows. Beyond this though, the room was quite shabby and showing wear and tear throughout. Disappointingly, the free wifi that was advertised was so weak that it wasn't picked up by any of our mobile devices throughout our stay. The bathroom came with a large tub but the faucet for the bath did not work and the hot water came out luke warm. Further, despite the room being on a non-smoking floor, you could definitely tell that there was a lingering smell of something in the room which was unpleasant.

I had no complaints about the service. The front desk and door staff were always responsive.

The hotel also comes with a good, large gym and a small outdoor pool.

The location is not great relative to some of the other city centre hotels in Batam. The Mercure is about a 20-minute walk from the main Nagoya Hills shopping centre with the hotel taxi charging IDR40,000 (S$4) per one-way trip. If you hail a taxi on the street they'll charge IDR30,000 (S$3).

All in all, I can't help but think that there are other, better maintained 3-star properties closer to the main centre of Batam. These days, it's inexecusable for a hotel, let alone one from a major international brand, not to be able to provide proper hot water, decent wi/fi and a clean/non-smelling room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning about Wifi,Guest Rooms we have Planing to Renovated all the facilities . i do apology for convenience cause , but we insist to be more Indicatively for the guest who will stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

My Best Regards

Heru Wibowo
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here last year through a package with Groupon for Batam. The way these packages are structured (with seafood lunch, temple visits & the shopping mall trips, we were only able to reach the hotel by 5 pm in the evening. It is quite central and not too far from the main market.

The room was comfortable and clean, although very basic. We took the highest floor available so that there is less noise from the traffic outside & the view of the nearby hills is better.

The breakfast buffet next morning was good. There's the usual egg station, Rendang cuisine & the other usual suspects.

The swimming pool was clean & not very crowded.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the highest floor facing the street. Quieter & better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback (Breakfast Menu ,), as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.
My Best Regards
Heru WIBOWO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.