We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is me and my friend's first time staying in this Mercure Batam for one night due to the promotion given from deals.com.sg and I will say this hotel's service was quite good!

In afternoon time around 4pm we arrived, the surrounding of this hotel are pretty quiet. We tried to spot any cinema area but still did not see it, the pizza hut restaurant was little further away than we thought. The lobby area was quite clean, and there was a self-service water dispenser for guests which I thought it was quite nice of them to do that. The counter staff was very friendly, despite her English-understanding is not so good but she was still very nice and had a great smile on her face. They asked us if we prefer smoking and non-smoking room and bed choice which I think it was a great job for them to ask us that. They had wifi service which we tested and it was quite fast actually.

I asked for hair dryer, extra pillows to delivered to our room and they did in within minutes after we went up to our room. Fast service! The two access cards that we given unfortunately one of them are not working but is fine with us so we didn't ask for a change at all. The room was pretty well-maintained, very clean and there was no stains or smoking smell at all, but the air-con was little colder even when we adjusted a little bit higher but still the same temperature. However, it doesn't really affect us when we sleep. Instead we had a very good sleep that night. The toilet was clean, the only disadvantage was when we shower, there was no door to close and the water was spilled out of the bathtub area and we had to use towel to soak the water in case we may slip and fall.

Later in the evening we went to Nygoya Hill Shopping mall and we call the cab which stationed at the hotel, the cab driver was really good and friendly. He drove us very carefully from hotel and back to hotel at late night, so we give him tips.
The next day when we go for breakfast, be prepared that people do smoke everywhere so is best chose a surrounding that non-smokers eating. We were quite pleased with the breakfast food and clean cutlery set so we had no problem with it at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we go back to the hotel room, we asked for toilet paper and again, they did it very fast service to give us. It was good!

Overall, the hotel was not bad for service and food. I can see the service are really excellent and have improved a lot of better seeing the past comments from various tourists about this hotel in trip advisor. Will come back again here next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback (Front desk staff,and all staff ), as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    79
    79
    26
    22
See reviews for
40
35
28
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spend a night booking thru Accor. Get a good deal and satisfy over the check in.It is so convenient. Nothing change much and I like it for a budget. Wanted it for 3rd coming on Chinese New Year but it already full. Nice breakfast but not much spread for rp85000.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback (Breakfast Price ,Front desk staff,), as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights in Mercure Hotel Batam last weekend. The location was not far from Batam Center which was about 20 minute drive. Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff. Checking-in took about 20 minutes though we were only given one access card so we still had to request for another one. You have to pay extra $50 SGD as deposit for the mini bar. Don't forget your receipt or else it will be hard to refund that when you check out. The place was quiet and luckily not too crowded. The room was just okay for me - the furnitures were not too new though there's an LCD screen so not too bad. The carpet looks dirty though and some corners of the room had dusts so not too clean. I'm glad the beddings and pillowcases were clean though if you inspect the bed and pillows you may feel a little disappointed seeing the stains. There was no hair-dryer inside the room and we had to call three times to get it. The mini bar was also locked despite that we paid the deposit when we checked-in so we called up again to open it.

The buffet breakfast was crowded the next day and I found that the choices were kinda limited. If you're not a smoker, make sure you go to the non-smoking area. I liked the noodles and chicken though the chicken sausage's taste was a little different.

The pool was not that big and not deep enough to enjoy a good swim so we decided to just go to the gym. It was spacious enough and most of the equipments are still in working condition. I tried asking for a towel but surprisingly the staff said that they ran out of towels early in the morning.

We also tried the couple massage and body scrub in the hotel. Too bad it was too late when we knew that it was not good as told by our taxi driver. We scheduled it around 9pm and was advised that it will be done after 2 hours. The two massage therapists tried to explain it but only 1 can speak a little English. They kept talking to each other for the whole session so don't ask me if I had a chance to sleep. The background music was too loud as well so it did not add up to the relaxation. Part of the package was the head massage and I think the therapist forgot that. We asked if that's included so she tried to explain that to the other therapist. She made some gestures that made us feel that she's irritated doing the head massage - another weird experience for us. After the massage, one of the therapist was there waiting when we were paying at the counter asking for a big tip as she thought we had a good time.

Overall, I'm giving this a rate of 2.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning about Gymnasium Facilities we already repair all the facilities and additional equipment at this month ,Massage , and Housekeeping staff. i do apology for convenience cause , but we insist to be more Indicatively for the guest who will stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo -General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure Batam for one night over the weekend. Although I've seen advertisement saying it's 4 star, I'll give it a 3 star. Not saying it is bad, just that the decor seems a little old. The elevators have a weird green wallpaper. The restaurant seemed to lack manpower as there were no receptionist during dinner time. We were only attended to much later. Also perhaps it is a culture thing, but there were smokers in the restaurant. Rooms are functional, with slippers and toothbrush (which was a nice surprise). Thought that the instant coffee could be better, and it would be nice if there was a mini-bar/fridge in the room. The windows were also creaky. If you are travelling with infant, take note that the hotel did not have baby cot. All in all a little disappointing since it is supposed to be in the Mercure brand of hotels, but I would say it's functional.

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the elevator doors. Also try to have rooms on either side so that when you op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning about your comment Management has decide to do makeover and renovation some of room and hotel facilities on going and , on behalf Management i do apology for convenience cause , but we insist to be more Indicatively for the guest who will stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here on Groupon, so we did not expect much out of it. But the hotel was wonderful!! We are a group of Singaporeans and not all of us are noisy, some of us do spare a thought for other guests. We had wanted non-smoking connecting rooms nearer to the lift (yes a lot of requests oops..) but although the receptionist was unable to accommodate to our needs due to full house, he was very polite and apologetic though.
What I am impressed with is how efficient they are. We called the operator twice during different timing and both times, the phone was picked up immediately and the staff came knocking on our door in 3-5 minutes' time with our items. Thank you, really appreciative :)
The room is big, spacious and really decent. There is room for improvements but overall it did not cause any of us any issues. Breakfast was satisfying with local and western style of dishes. There is a sweet corn dessert beside the cereal and a juice bar with their local digestive drink which I find unique and must-try!!
I realized that taxis here are more expensive than in Bali as they charge a standard of 40-50,000 instead of by meter which would cost much lesser. But nevertheless it is still more convenient to get a taxi to the shopping areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Sincerely beloved guest.

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide and maintain a better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.