We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic & Simple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Save Saved
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic & Simple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The last I been to Batam was about 2.5yrs back. This time round it's company team building even thus everything is being plan and taken care of by the travel agency. Overall room was pretty simple and basic. The hotel only provides bath towel so if you need face/hand towels, pleae BYO and also find that the drainage for the shower is partially blocked coz whenever we bathe, the water will flood onto the bathtub and then drain off very slowly....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning to the very slow drainage issue please rest assured that we will investigate and taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned and we would be more than happy to provide you a hand towel if you didn't find in its place but we insist to be more responsive to make our valuable guest in satisfaction during their stay in our hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

We sincerely hope that your recent experience does not deter your from staying with us again. If you could allow us another opportunity to serve you again in the future, we will ensure that you experience the real Mercure service.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    74
    70
    26
    20
See reviews for
37
33
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are a party of 15 travelled on 6Jul, stayed 6rooms on level 6. Overall nice stay, rooms were big bed were comfy, aircon were working well, staffs were friendly and helpful, breakfast spread were acceptable... 5mins taxi ride to Nagoya mall. The hotel cab charge us at 40k.
pros : no fridge in rooms, the toothbrush kit provided was only 1?? 2 people stayed but only 1 toothbrush, slipper was only 1?? 2 people stayed but only 1pair slipper.

Room Tip: room 609 has no window. If need fridge in room, have to choose deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning to the toothbrush and slipper which is provided only one set instead of two persons, please be advice that it will be provide based on request if you are stay in a couple in the room, but we insist to be more initiatively for the guest who will stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed there for a night on our short vacation to Batam. Its a really good hotel.
Big and clean room with full facilities.
Gym and swimming pool are cool too.
Superb Buffet Breakfast in combination of western style and indonesian cuisine.
You will pay for the price of 2 star hotel and get for 4star standards. It could be the cheapest Mercure in their whole chain around the world.
I loved it and would like to recommend..:)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Best Regards

Heru wibowo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location was off Nagoya as I personally prefer Harmoni due to close proximity to McDonalds, KFC and pubs. Harmoni is 30 bucks more expensive.

Checking in was a breeze and front desk staffs were very polite and helpful with queries. Room service was slow as I waited approx 45 mins for a chicken burger set.

Room allocated was clean and neat. I was able to connect to internet via a cable instead of WIFI. The spa in the hotel was nice and above average. It was clean and well maintained by staffs.

Late check out at 1300 hrs was given when asked for. Checking out was quick as Ive already paid for the room when I booked it.

Overall, its neat and proper but a bit off from the scene I would say. With a dedicated driver throughout, then this hotel is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning Rooms Service to slow deliver your food , please rest assured that we will investigate and taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam

Best Regards

Heru Wibowo- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at mercure hotel for 2 nights. Have a pleasant experience with the counter staff and housekeeping. Counter staff was friendly and helpful. The housekeeper was good as she was making the bed, she placed my daughter's soft toys and pillow nicely on her extra bed. I thought that was a thoughtful gesture. My daughter was thrilled to see her Minnie 'sleeping' on the bed. Room was nice but bed a bit old. The tv went off after a few times, no reception all of a sudden. No wifi in the room was a disappointment and the Internet wireless at the lobby was slow and low reception. :( The food at breakfast was bad and only the cereal and porridge was edible. Will not consider this hotel again if food standards and wifi connection does not improve. Also no hair dryer in the room which is a necessary item in a hotel. However consider that I got this from deal.com.sg and it was real cheap, we can't expect much also right. :p

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort in bringing up the issues you encountered during your stay, as constructive comments like yours enable us to recognize areas where improvements are needed. Kindly accept our apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused.

Please rest assured that the department managers concerned have been briefed to improve on the food quality ,and internet in the guest room (WiFi) , we have tried to make impairments as low as possible but please take our apologies if you still experience any distractions if any disturbance it.

It is a truly pleasure to hear that you found our front office staff and concierge are friendly and your kind words have been passed to them, this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thank you and we hope you could give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Best regards,
Heru Wibowo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Going against reviews I read on this hotel and greedy for good value deals on website, I booked 5 rooms for my family and relatives (from HK and their first visit to Batam). The check in was smooth but no porter came to offer us any luggage help. No welcome drinks and the lobby smelt rusty. Given a choice, I would have left immediately. There rooms were worst, the carpet condition is so bad I had to insist that all of us wear our shoes/slippers in the room. The bath tub condition is awful and the drainage is very slow, almost choking. Although it is 2 persons room, all the necessities was in one set only. The next morning, I woke up to a stench ... and found a dead cockroach on the carpet next to my bed.

The spa services is so bad. My in laws who had the couple room complained so much and I could not blame them. During the massage service, the masseuses were talking to each other louder than the music and I could hear their conversations so clearly from my single massage station!

I will never return to this hotel and was highly disappointed. I am in need of another holiday quickly to get rid of this bad taste.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 720, 722, 724, 727 and 706
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Mercure Batam Hotel.
First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently.
We are deeply concerned and share your disappointment with service you received from some of our team members. The issues you encountered clearly identify areas where improvements are needed hence we thank you for bringing these up to our attention so that appropriate steps may be taken to avoid recurrence. Likewise, we will take your feedback as a motivating tool to ensure our service levels are constantly according to Mercure standards. At Mercure, we aim to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests thus you can be assured that your comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and appropriate action and training will be taken to ensure that our entire team consistently maintains a warm, positive and professional demeanor when dealing with guests.
We are delighted to note your satisfaction with the convenient location of our hotel, size and cleanliness of your room.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and we hope you could give us the opportunity to show you the improvement and provide you with the real Mercure service on your next trip to Batam.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked 7 rooms thru a package deal. As the package only included lunch & breakfast, decided to arrange for dinner in the hotel for my group, as well as to ensure that our rooms were really confirmed. The GM, Mr Wibowo responded quickly to my email & we had a few more exchanges regarding my requests to the hotel. All were quickly taken up by the GM. I was really impressed!

We had no problem checking into our rooms except that we were given keys to 2 rooms with the same number and I had to get it sorted out when we found out when going into our rooms. However I believe this is one of those things that do happen occasionally. The rooms were all spacious, clean & well maintained. It was more than what I would expect & definitely value for what I paid for. However some bath tubs in the rooms were choked & drainage of water were restricted.

I was also happy that my requests were all attended to including providing a vegetarian dinner for someone in my group. Breakfast was nothing fantastic but reasonaly good. The location of the hotel is quite near to the shopping mall in Nogaya Hill, 5 min away by taxi but perhaps too far to walk. However the taxi charges to the Nogaya Hill Shopping Mall at IDR35,000 per way is definite too high. I believe I was quoted IDR 20,000 to 25,000 when I took a walk earlier but when we wanted to take a taxi, we were quoted IDR 35,000. As we were short of time, we dedicde to just pay for the 4 taxis (total IDR280,000) for the 2 way trip. Perhaps the hotel can review the charges.

Overall, this is definitely a very good value hotel, clean & spacious rooms, responsive management & staff. We will definitely be back again & will strongly recommend it anyone intending to stay in Batam.

Room Tip: The normal superior room is big & good enough for a couple. You can request for a room that eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mr.Raymon ,

We thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team here at Mercure Batam, we are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will be passed on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Concerning bathtub and drainage issue please rest assured that we will investigate and taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you mentioned.

We appreciate your valuable feedback, as it is through guest’s constructive comments like yours that we are able to identify areas of improvement to consistently provide the best service experience for all of our guests.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.