We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Save Saved
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 67 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Mercure hotel together with our family at Mercure Hotel Batam. It was a good experience. Spacious and clean room with very clean bathroom, staff were courteous and always say 'Hi' to our little kid which is a positive point. We recommend the hotel for those who would want a cozy stay at batam since its only a couple of minutes ride via taxi going to Nagoya Hill..

Just hope that on our nexxt visit, internet access will be available on the room since we need to go to the lobby just to gain access to their wifi. but this i major issue since wifi connection at the lobby is very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will pass on to the team which definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

We are now in progress to add Wi-Fi services for rooms beside the existing internet cable connection.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    70
    66
    25
    19
See reviews for
32
31
22
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Mercure Batam is a simple hotel in a place where you're probably not planning to spend a lot of time in a hotel. Everything about this property screams average, but good enough for the price you pay. I had some difficulties during check-in since the hotel didn't have my online reservation on their database, and I thought they didn't handle that very well but at least I could use the lobby internet while I waited.

In general the hotel is a little old, and that includes the room, and there's very little to do in the surrounding area. Service isn't always with a smile either.

If you want to hit the mall or the nightspots you'll have to take a taxi to Nagoya. This is a short 10-15 min drive but taxis are a real ripoff in Batam as they don't seem to use meters. Anyway it was only a short trip and I did have one of the best massages ever at Spa Secret so was happy enough. 3 stars for this average hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment about your recent stay at Mercure Batam Hotel.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for unfortunate experience during your stay with us recently. We noted seriously your comment and we ensure you after thorough investigation and clarification, necessary action will be taken and more attentive training will be given to our Reservation team and definitely will improve our our service, as we strive to provide an excellent services for all of the guests.

We are currently doing repainting exterior building project as part of our commitment to provide better product and services to our guest and our rooms have gone through a renovation in year 2007, we will definitely review if we need to renovate the rooms.

We greatly appreciate the feedback and will be definitely seeking to improve on the all areas you mentioned.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Mercure Batam Hotel and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you and we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a great 2 nights stay at this hotel over the weekend. Really enjoyed ourselves (me and fiancee). The pickup transfer arranged by Mercure (abt 15mins journey) from Batam Center cost rp60,000 (to be paid with hotel bills).

Check-in was smooth, even tho we arrived as late as 9pm. Was greeted by their live band in small pub which was alright. Staff were warm, courteous and very friendly, even the door guys.

The room was spacious, nice and cozy. Love their bed, and they have an extra pillow which is a bonus. A nice Wardrobe to keep our belongings and clothes, a/c was quite cold so i had to switch it off.. Lol. But toilet was good!

Called their room service and we had a plate of Casaluna Fried Rice (rp65,000) which was delicious and nicely portioned.

We could really make do with the 24-Hour convenient store K-MART located right beside the hotel; to resup cigarettes and some drinks.

The breakfast was sumptuous and excellent. It varies from breads, eggs, malay food, noodles, fried rice, laksa, cereal, and fruits.

Travelled to Nagoya Mall and Golden Prawn Seafood by the Hotel's taxi. Fixed fare but negotiable; About rp25000 to Nagoya Mall and rp60,000 to Golden Prawn.

Didnt matter if the taxi fare was abit high cos the driver (Mr Dodi) seemed trustworthy, non sleazy and honest. He was friendly too, no frills. He did suggest places to visit but I had to postpone it, maybe on my next visit to Batam.


The only setback was the very small sized pool, and crampy hot tub jacuzzi. Maybe some reconstruction could be done to have a bigger 24hours swimming pool and a bigger hot tub jacuzzi.

And also, check-out was abit hiccupy cos one of their card machines couldnt accept MasterCard. Was held up for a good 15mins but was finally rectified. I'm okay with that tho.

Other than that, i must say i enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay at Mercure Hotel again!

Total Bill: IDR1,290,000 (2 Nights stay with daily breakfast, 2 Pax. And room service for Casaluna Fried Rice.)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Your positive comment will pass on to the team especially Dodi the taxi driver and definitely will motivate them to provide better services.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not a bad hotel. Nice and efficient staff at reception. Rooms are clean but a bit old especially the toilet. Some mattresses are new but the one I had happened to be a old one so not so comfortable. The hotel is not located within walking distance to major shopping areas. Good variety of food offered at the breakfast buffet. Spa seems quiet and eerie so decided to go somewhere recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

For your information, we provided free shuttle to Nagoya Hill Super Block and BCS Mall depart from hotel at 01.30PM and pick up time at 04.30PM for our in house guest only, 2 hours advance reservation is required.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I cannot believe myself when I stepped into the bathroom and found pee stains on the toilet seat. Mind you it wasn't just a drip or two, it was splashed as if it were a public toilet. The bathroom was dry, with towels folded nicely and the set of toiletries were nicely placed. How on earth does the service cleaners miss that? That was the first thing I saw when I opened the bathroom door. If they cannot even maintain basic hygiene like that, it's hard to imagine whether proper care is actually being placed into maintaining the cleanliness of the other stuff in the room. Are the towels even clean? Are the bedsheets even clean? Have the glasses been washed properly? Makes you wonder. The bath tub is also clogged with the stopper stuck, made 2 calls to the counter, we had to wait 30mins for someone to actually show up, pull up the stopper and it fell back down clogging the tub again 2mins after he left. Frustrated and tired as it was already almost midnight, me and my sister went next door and showered in our parents' room instead. Oh and yes, the toilet flush is faulty, you probably need to flush it for 10 times. This is my first trip to Batam and is undoubtedly the most horrible experience I ever had with hotels overseas. I will return to Batam, but will definitely never ever return to Mercure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you have encountered during your visit in our hotel. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction and please accept our sincere apologize for what you have been through and unfortunate experience, please rest assured that we definitely will follow up your comment.

We noted seriously your comment and we ensure you after thorough investigation and clarification, necessary action will be taken and more attentive training will be given to our Housekeeping and Engineering Departments and proper measures will be taken to address the problems and make sure they will not happen again. Again, please accept our deepest apologize.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Mercure Batam and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again soon in Mercure Batam Hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 67 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.