We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Maintaining on its standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    75
    75
    26
    20
See reviews for
37
34
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not a bad hotel. Nice and efficient staff at reception. Rooms are clean but a bit old especially the toilet. Some mattresses are new but the one I had happened to be a old one so not so comfortable. The hotel is not located within walking distance to major shopping areas. Good variety of food offered at the breakfast buffet. Spa seems quiet and eerie so decided to go somewhere recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

For your information, we provided free shuttle to Nagoya Hill Super Block and BCS Mall depart from hotel at 01.30PM and pick up time at 04.30PM for our in house guest only, 2 hours advance reservation is required.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I cannot believe myself when I stepped into the bathroom and found pee stains on the toilet seat. Mind you it wasn't just a drip or two, it was splashed as if it were a public toilet. The bathroom was dry, with towels folded nicely and the set of toiletries were nicely placed. How on earth does the service cleaners miss that? That was the first thing I saw when I opened the bathroom door. If they cannot even maintain basic hygiene like that, it's hard to imagine whether proper care is actually being placed into maintaining the cleanliness of the other stuff in the room. Are the towels even clean? Are the bedsheets even clean? Have the glasses been washed properly? Makes you wonder. The bath tub is also clogged with the stopper stuck, made 2 calls to the counter, we had to wait 30mins for someone to actually show up, pull up the stopper and it fell back down clogging the tub again 2mins after he left. Frustrated and tired as it was already almost midnight, me and my sister went next door and showered in our parents' room instead. Oh and yes, the toilet flush is faulty, you probably need to flush it for 10 times. This is my first trip to Batam and is undoubtedly the most horrible experience I ever had with hotels overseas. I will return to Batam, but will definitely never ever return to Mercure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you have encountered during your visit in our hotel. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction and please accept our sincere apologize for what you have been through and unfortunate experience, please rest assured that we definitely will follow up your comment.

We noted seriously your comment and we ensure you after thorough investigation and clarification, necessary action will be taken and more attentive training will be given to our Housekeeping and Engineering Departments and proper measures will be taken to address the problems and make sure they will not happen again. Again, please accept our deepest apologize.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Mercure Batam and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again soon in Mercure Batam Hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damansara, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was staying at Mercure hotel during my second visit to Batam. We bought voucher from agent and have day tour and they sent us to hotel around 5pm after massage. Hotel located at road side and there is not much things surrounding. We managed to get our dinner at Pizza hut which around 15 min walking distance. Rooms are big and design are comfortable . We managed to request a big room for triple shared room. 16 person in one room playing games at night were not too crowded for us as well. KTV are operated at night too. I love their breakfast, it is international buffet with variety of choices. Foods are serve hot and taste nice. I really miss their breakfast buffet. Overall experience at this hotel are quite nice

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice location, but still need taxi to go around. Overall service is satisfactory, and off course good value when compared to Spore, but so so when compared to others. Have a 24 h mini mart for your personal emergency add ons

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with our services. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

For your information, we provided free shuttle to Nagoya Hill Super Block and BCS Mall depart from hotel at 01.30PM and pick up time at 04.30PM for our in house guest only, 2 hours advance reservation is required.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The room is not well maintained. I have stayed in other Accor hotels in Indonesia, but this particular one, the room is not well maintained. I think the hotel need to do some refurbishment on their room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We renovated all rooms in 2007 (except 5 junior suites), but we noted your comment and will review if some rooms still need upgrade the conditions, and for your information we've start changing old TV with LED TV.

We are looking forward to welcoming and serving you again soon in the near future.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

the room was clean and excellent, and the location is very near to the city. I'm very pleasant to stay in this hotel, for the services is very polite and professional, also for the food and the facility is good, so keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel, It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.