We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Mercure Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice to be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Ww check in evening after game of golf, lobby was wifi so I could check mails. We went for a massage next to the gym and gym was well equipped. Hotel Rooms are big and nice. Shampoo sufficient. No complaints on the room. Breakfast is not so great. Could be more variety.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel, It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday and this will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.

For breakfast, we are regularly provide Local Malay Specialty, Indonesian dishes, Asian and Chinese taste and of course choice for Western with salad, bread, pastry, egg station and fresh fruit. And for your information, now we provide warmer machine for cake and pastry display for guest to enjoy for better hygiene and more fresh items.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    84
    83
    26
    22
See reviews for
42
36
30
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

no balcony, no internet access computer terminals, no room privacy display signage, no balcony, no internet access computer terminals, no room privacy display signage, no balcony, no internet access computer terminals, no room privacy display signage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and rating for our hotel on your recent stay at our hotel.

For your information, since we operate high building we are not providing balcony for safety reason. And in all our rooms you may find RJ45 connector in writing table drawer with internet access terminal attached to the wall (wall mounted) just above the writing table.

If you stay in our front building rooms, room's privacy signage are using electronic display manageable by master switch provided on the bed side table. But, we will consider to apply also the hanging privacy card for those rooms.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Contrary to all the negative comments, I think the hotel is value for money. Had booked as an online package with tour, lunch and massage inclusive. Hotel is clean and staffs are friendly and accommodating. Stayed at Room 302 and even though the bathtub and basin is a little run down, at least they are clean with no cockroaches/pests (as what I saw on other Batam hotel's reviews?) Toiletries are also provided for. Hotel is about 5 min's ride away from Nagoya Hill shopping mall and costs about Rp$35k. You can arrange for the same driver for a return pickup for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel, appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff, this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

For your information we are continually doing bath tub and wash basin refurnishing
and additionally we have daily free shuttle service from hotel to Nagoya Hill Mall and BCS Mall everyday at 13.30 and 16.30, minimum 2 hours advance reservation is required. This free service offered to all of our in house guest for them to enjoy hotel's surrounding amenities.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I visited the Hotel Mercure in June 2012, and paid about US$50 a night. I must disagree with "LoveFree" and "StevenBKK" -- I found the Mercure to be clean and convenient, and the staff to be quite helpful. While it does not offer (nor claim) five-star luxury, it is perfectly safe and convenient for the business traveler or the experienced tourist. I have stayed at MANY other hotels in and around Batam, and so far this rates as the best in my price range.

As you can see from the attached photos, my room and that of my associate were large and clean, with just a few burn marks in the carpeting from careless smokers. The furniture is somewhat spartan, but the desk was comfortable and the TV worked fine. The bathroom was clean and included a giant bath tub; not sure who needs a tub as long as the Queen Mary, but it's there if you are a basketball pro.

When we checked in, the lobby was busy. Check in speed was a bit slow, but it was rush-hour, and the manager brought everybody a glass of juice which I thought was a nice touch. The elevators were slow but so is almost everything else in Batam, so no complaints there.

"Lovefree" is right about one thing -- don't try to walk from this hotel; you'll get run over by the wild traffic of Batam. But taxis are plentiful and cheap, and the two big malls are just a few dollars away. We asked one driver to take us to an outdoor dining area, which he did, and ended up joining us for dinner and we had a lovely night chatting away.

The dining room is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It was large, with a decent variety of food styles, and a cook made fresh omlets to order. I also was able to get coffee for free while working on my laptop, so that made me happy -- it drives me nuts when hotels nickel-and-dime you for 25 cents of coffee.

I did not try the wired internet service in the hotel room, but the wireless service in the lobby area worked very welll and was very convenient. I sat there in the evening, sipping Batang beer provided by the charming young lady at the bar, and did emails for hours.

Lastly, for those so inclined, there is a handsome exercise room and a delightful swimming pool on the second floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the even-numbered rooms; they face the street and traffic noise is substantial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel, appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff, this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Also thank you for your comment on our breakfast offer and food service quality and taste. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

For your information we have daily free shuttle service from hotel to Nagoya Hill Mall and BCS Mall everyday at 13.30 and 16.30, minimum 2 hours advance reservation is required. This free service offered to all of our in house guest for them to enjoy hotel's surrounding amenities.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

nothing special with the hotel, the service and others is just like other hotel in its class,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, it is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

We valued your comment and suggestions. Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.