We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, But the Best I Have Yet Found in Batam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Batam

Save Saved
You added Mercure Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 hotels in Batam
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Not Great, But the Best I Have Yet Found in Batam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I visited the Hotel Mercure in June 2012, and paid about US$50 a night. I must disagree with "LoveFree" and "StevenBKK" -- I found the Mercure to be clean and convenient, and the staff to be quite helpful. While it does not offer (nor claim) five-star luxury, it is perfectly safe and convenient for the business traveler or the experienced tourist. I have stayed at MANY other hotels in and around Batam, and so far this rates as the best in my price range.

As you can see from the attached photos, my room and that of my associate were large and clean, with just a few burn marks in the carpeting from careless smokers. The furniture is somewhat spartan, but the desk was comfortable and the TV worked fine. The bathroom was clean and included a giant bath tub; not sure who needs a tub as long as the Queen Mary, but it's there if you are a basketball pro.

When we checked in, the lobby was busy. Check in speed was a bit slow, but it was rush-hour, and the manager brought everybody a glass of juice which I thought was a nice touch. The elevators were slow but so is almost everything else in Batam, so no complaints there.

"Lovefree" is right about one thing -- don't try to walk from this hotel; you'll get run over by the wild traffic of Batam. But taxis are plentiful and cheap, and the two big malls are just a few dollars away. We asked one driver to take us to an outdoor dining area, which he did, and ended up joining us for dinner and we had a lovely night chatting away.

The dining room is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and I particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It was large, with a decent variety of food styles, and a cook made fresh omlets to order. I also was able to get coffee for free while working on my laptop, so that made me happy -- it drives me nuts when hotels nickel-and-dime you for 25 cents of coffee.

I did not try the wired internet service in the hotel room, but the wireless service in the lobby area worked very welll and was very convenient. I sat there in the evening, sipping Batang beer provided by the charming young lady at the bar, and did emails for hours.

Lastly, for those so inclined, there is a handsome exercise room and a delightful swimming pool on the second floor.

Room Tip: Avoid the even-numbered rooms; they face the street and traffic noise is substantial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel, appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff, this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Also thank you for your comment on our breakfast offer and food service quality and taste. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

For your information we have daily free shuttle service from hotel to Nagoya Hill Mall and BCS Mall everyday at 13.30 and 16.30, minimum 2 hours advance reservation is required. This free service offered to all of our in house guest for them to enjoy hotel's surrounding amenities.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    69
    65
    22
    15
See reviews for
29
31
21
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

nothing special with the hotel, the service and others is just like other hotel in its class,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, it is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

We valued your comment and suggestions. Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

For the price of 1 room(40USD), it was still quite good for me. I was very happy that there was a clean bathtub. The beds were quite comfortable. Well, mercure is under the Accor group, so the standard is still there. The bad thing is the location. To go anywhere, you have to take a taxi. Though the hotel will arrange safe taxis for its guests. The breakfast was fine, continental spread. Not fantastic though.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the service and food quality and taste. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room cleanliness and comfort, this will certainly motivate the team and to keep up the good work.

For your information we have daily free shuttle service from hotel to Nagoya Hill Mall and BCS Mall everyday at 13.30 and 16.30, minimum 2 hours advance reservation is required. This service offered to all our in house guest only for them to enjoy hotel's surrounding amenities.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

One of my coworkers called while I was there and asked how the hotel is... Like a wet ash tray was the only thing that popper out of my mind. The rooms feel like somebody soaked them with steam. There is just a wet feeling about the whole place. The hotels also smells like smoke...too much. Bed was ok to sleep and breakfast was edible but not really enjoyable. Batam is not really known for great hotels and the great place I normally stay could not accommodate our group needs so we got stuck in Mercure. I guess it is ok if you get stuck but dont expect much. We had many complaints from the group we were with.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear traveler,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the problem you have encountered during your visit in our hotel. It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction and unfortunate experience, please rest assured that we definitely will follow up your comment.

We are pleased to read that you have a good night sleep and will improve on our breakfast.

We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again soon in Mercure Batam. Please feel free to contact me directly should you plan to visit Batam in the near future and I will personally arrange your stay with us.

Thank you and best regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hotel is not really a posh hotel, but it was cosy for a one night stay. The staff are professional and pleasant. Got a superior room; clean and comfortable to say the least. Dined in the restaurant at the lobby; good tasty food. They do not have much selection for wine, we chose a napa chadonnay, which was nicely stored and served. The barman made my wife a blue cocktail, which went nicely with the food.
The only flip side, and this was my first time in Batam, they do not provide net access in the rooms, it's only available in the lobby. The speed was better than what I get in Singapore.

Room Tip: There's no view available .. choose whatever you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6178, General Manager at Mercure Batam, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Sincerely our beloved guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment for your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you are enjoy your stay and happy with the service and food quality and taste. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff, this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

For your information we provide internet connection in the room using RJ 45 cabling to ensure connection stability, and free in the lobby, lounge and restaurant using Wi-Fi connection.

Thanks again to recommend us to other traveler and we all look forward to welcoming and serving you again soon on your next visit to Batam.

Kind regards,
Abdul Malik Azhary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Batam

Also Known As:
Mercure Batam Hotel
Mercure Batam Hotel Batam
Address: Jalan Raden Patah 12, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Batam City…feels the vibrant of real modern new urban city,Meet the Mercures…a hotel with local color and distinctive style,The real modern new urban city experience - Batam Island known for its free trade zone area as part of the Sijori Growth Triangle (Singapore Johor Riau) is located 20 km (12.5 miles) off Singapore's south coast and 45 km from Johor, Malaysia. Shipbuilding and electronics manufacturing are major industries at the beginning, now tourism, hotels and resorts start to grow and the biggest community on the island is Nagoya. Mercure Batam, a hotel with local color and distinctive style, located at the central business district of Batam Island, Nagoya; with easy access to Airport, International Ferry Terminals, Shopping Malls and Tourist Attractions.The perfect blend for business and leisure - Mercure Batam with 8 storeys building offer 159 fully refurbished spacious, modern and comfortable rooms with wooden interior and modern facilities. All hotel rooms feature key card lock, electronic safety box and CCTV covering almost in all public spaces for security, centralized air conditioning, high speed internet and Wi-Fi access, satellite channels TV, bathtub/shower with hot and cold water, IDD telephone line, mini bar, coffee making facilities and 24 hours in room dining service. We offer 5 meeting rooms and 1 ballroom, business center, health club/gymnasium, spa/massage, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and outdoor swimming pool.Flavors and cozy - Famous in tastes and warm ambience, our Casaluna Restaurant offers a wide range of a la carte dishes from East to West and original local cuisine with authentic recipes. Or just simply relax in our Pillars bar and lounge with Cups and Tastes enjoying live music in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mercure Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.