We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of Restoration” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hills Batam to your Saves list
The Hills Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Batam
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“In Need of Restoration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Hills is in decline, and whilst the staff are helpful and polite, the accommodation and associated facilities are showing advanced signs of sharp decline.

The spacious smoke filled lobby is forever occupied by loitering taxi drivers and people who clearly have no business at the hotel. Dodgy. The standard rooms are small, dated, dingy, dank, and overpriced. Bathroom is poorly lit and mouldy. Room view is of the main road, motorcycle shops, and large shopping complex up the hill. There is a 711 across the road for those with sufficient skill to dodge the chaotic traffic.

Breakfast was adequate, traditional, but unimaginative.

Batam is a good place to escape to from claustrophobic Singapore for a few days, but The Hills is not a resort venue.

Room Tip: Away from the lift well. Otherwise all 3 or 4 floors are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    26
    16
    9
See reviews for
12
17
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

THe hills is as what the others mentioned.. super old building, old facade is ok as it has the unique ethnicity there of baliness feel. However the room is not ok! its bad... During my booking process (dad insisted to have there for convenience), i have communicated that i will require both rooms to be in queen size bed and the rooms to be really clean due to my health condition. Upon reaching, they gave me 2 rooms 1 with queen bed and the other twin bed. too lazy to ask to change (since it is 1 night), my parent took that room. However the rooms were not cleaned, full of bugs.. tried making coffee and some bugs came out.. toilet was stained, cracked, filthy and etc..

Bed comforter was old, yellowish and uncomfortable. Worst bed ever and only 1 pillow each. Husband got red spots all over his back after the night sleep so imagine the cleanliness of bed.. Due my health issues, i started to have bad cough n dont feel good.

The only benefit its just walking distance from Nagoya Shopping but thats it.. i can't wait to pack up my bag and check out early..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hills is really an old hotel and not really clean. The sheets were stained and there were bugs. Bathtub were either stained or burned badly by cigarette butts.
Toilet flush didn't really worked. Sink was stucked.
Television was the old kind But functioning alright with cable.

Aside from the superb location - directly opposite Nagoya Hills, there's probably nothing else to shout about.
However if you do stay there, check out the roadside stalls behind the hotel. They have really good local food.

We probably won't return again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Hills (previously known as Puri Garden) has a beautiful facade, with its Balinese decorations style. Compared to other hotels in Batam, one can see that more thoughts are given into its design. Too bad the building is quite old and seems like no recent renovation efforts have been done.

The first things that struck me when I stepped into the hotel, beside its beautiful design, is the comfortable and spacious lobby and the friendliness of the staff. Walking into the room is quite a pleasant surprise too. The room is very clean and spacious (remembering our budget :p) and we got the one with the road view, overlooking the famous Nagoya Hill Mall.

We weren't planning to stay long in the hotel, but nevertheless were curious about the swimming pool. Imagine our shock when the staff guided us to a hidden and dark underground (I watch a lot of horror movies). The swimming pool and the gym seem like they haven't been used, the staff had to turn on the lights and some machines first. It didn't matter for us since we weren't planning to swim. But some guests might have been disappointed.

The Hills is good enough if you plan on being out the whole day and only need a decent place to stay the night. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel where you can stay in and have romantic evenings, I'd recommend you to check other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Bought a deal for 4 adults and my 3yr old and request for a connecting room cum a double/twin room for the family stay. However, at check-in, was only told to be given 2 room side by side at 2nd floor (room 234/235). End up have to get a roll in bed and pay extra $22 a night as my dad and helper cannot be sleeping in 1 room, so much about getting my connecting room. Things are falling apart and 2-3 bugs can be found crawling, temperature is set below 10deg but seems like nowhere near 25deg warm. What is worse is the room next to us is renovating so there's knocking and strong smell of glue for a toddler staying next door! However, the mall is just opposite with the massage spas next to us, how can we compromise?

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2nights. Room is big and spacious. Breakfast not so great. Can just cross the heavy traffic road if we want to go to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. Next to the hotel is a spa boutique call Spa Secret.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel for several times and this is the worst.
1) Stayed in rooms on the 2nd floor and opposite rooms that were under renovation. Can heard knocking while in the room. Requested to change rooms but the staff assured us that the renovation will stop even though can still heard some hammering in the late afternoon.
2) Air-con not cold even at the lowest temp and max fan speed. In fact, during night time, it was stuffy and a bit warm. Called reception and a technician came up but nothing he can do.
3) Water from tap was murky, brownish.
4) WIFI is virtually non - existence in the room..
5) loud roaring engine sound in the middle of the night and we are on 2nd storey facing the road.
The joke is on Agoda website, most of the comments are positive. My review was not published and Agoda replied that the reviews are picked randomly. The hotel must be paying agoda well to keep the bad reviews away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hills Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Batam

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hills Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HILLS BATAM(SHORT WALKAWAYS TO NAGOYA HILL MALL & MANY ENTERTAINTMENT VENUES)The hills Batam is an oasis of calm and charm amidst the hustle and bustle Of the Nagoya district, Batam’s main commercial area. Located in front of Nagoya Hill Mall, The Hills Hotel Batam is also easily accessible to Duty Free Shopping Center , malls, restaurant, bank, and many entertainment venues. Our rooms are fully air-conditioned and feature modern amenities such as an IDD phone, wireless internet access, LCD TV, refrigenerator and coffee & tea making facilities. Your accommodation is also inclusive of a welcome drink, daily buffet breakfast, and complimentary use of our Health Centre Spa.A venue to conduct modern meeting, our 6 function rooms with capacity until 500 pax as well equipped for business meeting and seminars, as well as product launches. Only 20 minutes from Hang Nadim international Airport, 10 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry, 17 MINUTES FROM Batam center Ferry terminal, 25 minutes to Sekupang International ferry.The Barelang Bridge connect the island of Batam, rempang and Galang. This bridge has grown more into a tourist attraction rather than a transport route. Located in Vietnam village at Galang Island, The Quan Am Tu temple is one of Batam most visited attraction. It was build by Vietnamese that escape the war in Vietnam 1976.Renowned for its many seafood restaurants, The coastline along Harbour Bay will satisfy you with a diverse choise of seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Hills Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.