We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hills Batam to your Saves list
The Hills Batam
Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Executive Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2nights. Room is big and spacious. Breakfast not so great. Can just cross the heavy traffic road if we want to go to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. Next to the hotel is a spa boutique call Spa Secret.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
10
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel for several times and this is the worst.
1) Stayed in rooms on the 2nd floor and opposite rooms that were under renovation. Can heard knocking while in the room. Requested to change rooms but the staff assured us that the renovation will stop even though can still heard some hammering in the late afternoon.
2) Air-con not cold even at the lowest temp and max fan speed. In fact, during night time, it was stuffy and a bit warm. Called reception and a technician came up but nothing he can do.
3) Water from tap was murky, brownish.
4) WIFI is virtually non - existence in the room..
5) loud roaring engine sound in the middle of the night and we are on 2nd storey facing the road.
The joke is on Agoda website, most of the comments are positive. My review was not published and Agoda replied that the reviews are picked randomly. The hotel must be paying agoda well to keep the bad reviews away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

small hotel 2good a place 4 the price
and very very close 2 a shopping mall. good n cheap for Singaporeans.
the password for the hotel wifi is 'terrahotels'
The Grill Factory nearby is a nice place as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I with my family choose this hotel intending to stay for 2day to relax. But I am very disappointed because it very noisy during my first day and also for the second day.The noise level really made my 2yrs old girl restless and disturb her sleep. We did forward our complaint but no follow up action taken. We waited for feedback but in vain. Furthermore on our first day of stay we were shocked when we on the tap to fill up the bathtub.The water is very dirty and murky.Again no explanation neither feedback were given until my wife air her annoyment to one of the hotel staff. To make thing worse the room is infested with cockroaches. We are very disturb this happen at a hotel of such reputation. As this hotel is recommended by friend I will discontinue it to any of my friends. I and family then choose not to prolong our stay and left the second day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

the location is very good since this is just 5 minutes away from Harbourbay ferry terminal and just opposite to Nagoya Hills mall and near spa. We stayed overnight in one of the twin room on the 4th floor. Hotel is old but still undergoing renovation.
Recep are friendly and helpful even though they are not good in speaking English. Cleanliness of bedroom is ok, bedsheets are fresh but bathroom is smelly (smells moldy... seems like they haven't sanitize it for a long time), tub and floor is dirty and shower curtain's smell is terrible.
Restaurant at the hotel serves their food very slow even though the place is really not busy (only 4 tables are filled including us). Their food is also not nice. Chicken is dry, satay is burnt and cold, steak is overcooked while the side veg are not even cooked.
Overall if you are looking for a cheap and a short stay you can choose to stay here. It still serves its value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are a budget traveller and does not mind the hotel quality, this is a good choice to stay if you are visiting Nagoya Hills for shopping and spa.
The hotel is currently under refurbishment as the hotel rooms are old and smelly. There are stains in the bathtub, sinks and bedsheets. Amenties such as shower caps, shampoo, bath gel, toothbrush.
Breakfast is horrible as the quality of food is so poor and we saw a small cockroach crawling on the buffet table. Coffee & tea are cold.
However, the hotel is located opposite Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall and you have to cross a busy road to get there. The traffic is non stop and it can dangerous for children or elderly people to cross the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Yes the hotel is cheap but event at this price it is too expensive...Rooms are very dark, very outdated and not cleaned. The bed has no sheet, only a dirty cover. The bathroom was awful with mould everywhere. The bedroom are also very noisy as the hotel is located close to a busy street. Lastly, it seems that the food for breakfast was prepared a long time ago, not fresh at all. So overall, a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hills Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Batam

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HILLS BATAM(SHORT WALKAWAYS TO NAGOYA HILL MALL & MANY ENTERTAINTMENT VENUES)The hills Batam is an oasis of calm and charm amidst the hustle and bustle Of the Nagoya district, Batam’s main commercial area. Located in front of Nagoya Hill Mall, The Hills Hotel Batam is also easily accessible to Duty Free Shopping Center , malls, restaurant, bank, and many entertainment venues. Our rooms are fully air-conditioned and feature modern amenities such as an IDD phone, wireless internet access, LCD TV, refrigenerator and coffee & tea making facilities. Your accommodation is also inclusive of a welcome drink, daily buffet breakfast, and complimentary use of our Health Centre Spa.A venue to conduct modern meeting, our 6 function rooms with capacity until 500 pax as well equipped for business meeting and seminars, as well as product launches. Only 20 minutes from Hang Nadim international Airport, 10 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry, 17 MINUTES FROM Batam center Ferry terminal, 25 minutes to Sekupang International ferry.The Barelang Bridge connect the island of Batam, rempang and Galang. This bridge has grown more into a tourist attraction rather than a transport route. Located in Vietnam village at Galang Island, The Quan Am Tu temple is one of Batam most visited attraction. It was build by Vietnamese that escape the war in Vietnam 1976.Renowned for its many seafood restaurants, The coastline along Harbour Bay will satisfy you with a diverse choise of seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hills Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.