We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair deal but improvements needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hills Batam to your Saves list
The Hills Batam
Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Batam
singapore
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“fair deal but improvements needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

there are many negative reviews of this property by travel advisor mebers and their opinion and experience must be respected.

i had booked a superior room. apparently the stadard and the superior rooms are similar in size. the difference is in the decor and better lighting in the superior rooms.with complimentary breakfast and buka puasa dinner also complimentary the deal for the room was fair.toilet amenities like toothbrushes,soap and shampoo were also provided and neatly presented.

initially i was allocated a standard room and i totally agree with the reviewers that the lighting is very dim, thereby creating that creepy look.the lighting could improve.

i want to congratulate the management on the high staff morale.the reception was responsive to a couple of our requests and the staff at all levels were friendly and helpful.

the breakfast, while having a suitable spread is an area to work.main problem is the flies and i found several snugly settled on several of the dishes - which put me off completely.

flies were also flying around the bread and the danish station.

reno9vation works were also in progress during our stay - inconvenient but necessary i suppose.

onverll a fair experience.

the proximity to nagoya is a myth. try crossing the road leading to the nagoya hypermart. some reviewers have commented that it is a two to five minutes walk. it cabn take you forever to cross the road. the best option is to walk to the traffic lights to the right of the property and try to cross over to the nagoya shopping cenrtre that way ( suggested and highly recommended)

yeah the upmarket spas SPA SECRET and INDOTHAI are at the doorstep.

Room Tip: rooms facing the road are brighter but noisy due to the main road traffice whereas the rooms facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
10
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is considered cheap at Nagoya Hill, as compared to other hotels nearby. It is really convenient, only a 2 mins walk to Nagoya Hill for shopping, movie or massage.
However, that hotel is old and currently under renovation. The room that I stayed in was really old. The toilet has many black and brown marks around, the sofa has been mended at least 5 times, weak air-con and weak wifi.
The concierge has some problem with english and they need a long time to understand what the people there are trying to say.
The food for the breakfast was decent, but there are houseflies flying around, which made me lose my appetite.
If I am going Batam in the future, there are better options nearby and it is only around 30SGD more expensive per night and they offer better rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Island, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The locationwise is good but the room, the shower, the bath tub and the service is suck.....bbreakfast is served from 6 - 10am..we went to the restaurant at 8am and told the staff that we want the food that our next to us is eating and guess what the staff said? """Its too late to refill the food and if you want you can order at additional charges""""..........With over 18 years in the hospitality industry, I`ve never had this kind of experience....not worth of money to spend here...

Room Tip: Never recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is within a short walking distance to the Nagoya Hill Mall. The hotel is run down and the room that we stayed in was dirty, dim and had a lingering smoke smell. The bathtub was filled with black spots and stains, so much so that my daughter had to wear a slipper to shower!!!
The aircon did not seem to work and it got a little stuffy in the middle of the night.
Breakfast was reasonable though not fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Was greeted by friendly staffs.We all being served by cocktail.
We were too shocked when we stepped in.Room was real aging and dim. It gave my children and myself a creepy feel.

The worst part was the shower water.It was yellowish-brown.
I had run it for 5 minutes still yellowish.
After the technicians fixed it for a while. , I turned it on again. This time was reddish brown.

Omg.It really frightened us off.Luckily the technicians able to fix it.

After this incident,me and my 2 children decided to bunk in in my friends room. 5 of us were squeezing in..


This was based on my one n only experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great location. 5 mins walk to Nagoya Shopping Mall.Friendly & smiley Staff. It stated that they were giving us the renovated room(requested),but when we came, the room does not look like it was renovated. Lucky, we were only there for one night. The rooms were just the right size. Bathtub was dirty, black stains which can't be remove. Worst , mattress is too soft, lumpy & bumpy ! Pillow was extra soft and too thin. Itchy feeling comforter, not comfortable at all. Scrumptious breakfast even though i had a bad stomach ache , i still stuff myself as many food as i can because they were amazing . Had a massage at the hotel with 21%Gst. Massage was ok. There's a mart just opposite the hotel,just in case Nagoya Shopping Mall has closed , you can go there to get some stuff like toiletries or snacks or drinks. Just hoping that they could renovate the rooms to a brand new one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Choosing this hotel as request from my wife, as near as possible to the shopping mall (Nagoya Hill Mall).
The hotel outerior looks ok, the check-in counter staff was very helpful and friendly, we also got compliementary drinks while waiting the check-in process. The room we booked was Deluxe Room, located on 2nd floor. Our room just opposite hotel's massage and spa facility.
The room was good overall. Got LCD TV, 2 bottles mineral water and window facing to Mall.
Bathroom abit small, and need light renovation on the interior. No smelly odour at all.
Next day when we woke up, we even didn't realize outside were raining. As the room very good isolated from roodside noises.

Room Tip: You may want to try higher floor room for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hills Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Batam

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HILLS BATAM(SHORT WALKAWAYS TO NAGOYA HILL MALL & MANY ENTERTAINTMENT VENUES)The hills Batam is an oasis of calm and charm amidst the hustle and bustle Of the Nagoya district, Batam’s main commercial area. Located in front of Nagoya Hill Mall, The Hills Hotel Batam is also easily accessible to Duty Free Shopping Center , malls, restaurant, bank, and many entertainment venues. Our rooms are fully air-conditioned and feature modern amenities such as an IDD phone, wireless internet access, LCD TV, refrigenerator and coffee & tea making facilities. Your accommodation is also inclusive of a welcome drink, daily buffet breakfast, and complimentary use of our Health Centre Spa.A venue to conduct modern meeting, our 6 function rooms with capacity until 500 pax as well equipped for business meeting and seminars, as well as product launches. Only 20 minutes from Hang Nadim international Airport, 10 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry, 17 MINUTES FROM Batam center Ferry terminal, 25 minutes to Sekupang International ferry.The Barelang Bridge connect the island of Batam, rempang and Galang. This bridge has grown more into a tourist attraction rather than a transport route. Located in Vietnam village at Galang Island, The Quan Am Tu temple is one of Batam most visited attraction. It was build by Vietnamese that escape the war in Vietnam 1976.Renowned for its many seafood restaurants, The coastline along Harbour Bay will satisfy you with a diverse choise of seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hills Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.