We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Batam

Save Saved
You added The Hills Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hills Batam
Jalan Teuku Umar No. 02 | Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Choose to stay in this hotel because of locality. Other than friendly front desk staff & location, the rest is a great disappointed!
1st of all, the room & bathroom is not maintained at all. Bath towel is rough texture, yellowish with stains. Bedroom was hot & stuffy all day & night. The coffee house has a `live band' performance in the night and the music was so loud & disturbing till past mid night!
In-house spa & massage place was old & run down. The masseur talked to each other in their own language when they massaged us. Charges for 1 hr foot massage is S$12 but they massaged you till kneel only.
Breakfast is average, the service staff was slow at clearing the plates. I didn't understand why the sausage dish had lots of ants in it.
Overall my stay is an lousy experience. I am glad that it was only a 1 night stay. I will not go back again nor will i recommend this place to my relatives/friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
10
13
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Got here once but in two different room after a short getaway to Singapore and back to batam.

First impression is old. The lobby, and restaurant is not renovated, not a major one. But the hotel location is great just across Nagoya Hills shopping mall.

1st room - the old room:
Yes it was old. The look, the feel, the smell was old. The room size was small, not very clean, and the window view was: NONE

2nd room - renovated:
Furnishing was new, minimalistic design, smells new and for the price differentiation, it better for you to choose the new renovated room instead. The new room was overlooking Hotel front which is the road and shopping mall, it means better view.

Breakfast was quite good, enough food variety, but the restaurant is old, same as the hotel. But I know that this hotel is under a new management, so i expecting that it will be fully renovated soon.

Room Tip: Choose the renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is the first and last time I am going to stay in this hotel.

Some of the lights in the bedroom are not working.

The hotel room door only has a push-button deadbolt and standard hotel door latch that will get swung open.

The unsanitary bedsheets has MULTIPLE STAINS on it.

The bathroom towels are greyish and looks uncleaned.

The BATHTUB HAS HAIR IN IT! The bathroom is so unsanitary!!! It has soap scams and looks like it hasn't been cleaned.

The old tv set and lighting systems makes this feels like a 80s bedroom.

The free buffet breakfast is almost inedible, the fried sausages were sour, the fried noodles and cabbage taste so blend, the harsh browns were soaked in oil!

Room Tip: Not choose this hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very centrally located in Nagoya area, directly opposite the Nagoya Hill Mall. Hotel is very old and in the midst of renovation. However, the room is spacious and clean .The sensor touch switches in room are a nuisance and need to be changed. The lights went off twice by itself during my stay there. It may sound spooky to some but I take it as technical fault. Unfortunately the towels are in a horrible state, I stayed 3 nights and I find their towels not 'white' . I do not mean it has to be pure white but they actually are grey in colour and with stains. I guess they are in the process of change of owners or management, so currently most things are 'half-way' . I must say the most courteous and friendly staff are the receptionists and housekeeping guys. They are great and ever smiling. Buffet breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Choose room that face the main road because the back faces the construction site. However TV recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Booked this hotel because of the location. It is right in front of Nagoya Hills Mall. Rooms are dated already and need refurbishing. There are cockroaches crawling and the towels are yellowish brown in color already. But the worst part of my experience is that the hotel tried to overcharge a car rental I made. Good thing I had asked for the rates before pushing through with it. When I got the bill during check out and it was 25% higher than agreed, I complained and they put back the normal rate. Not very professional...

Definitely NOT returning to this hotel ever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Good clean hotel they have a hot and cold cool which is a plus point they also have sauna do worth the price and also have message in the hotel the rooms are clean to it is safe to bring kids and for family and main shopping area and night life is all around

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

this hotel is just 3 minutes walk from the Batam main shopping mall, Nagoya Hills Mall. it was easily accessible.

Free Wifi available at hotel lobby, two computers available for free access and their staff are friendly and helpful.

Clean room and comfortable. However, do not expect a very good bathroom. Both our room and my friend's room looks old and cracked at the wall. Shower hook was broken hence
unable to hook it properly.

Was there last year December 2011, and it was still under renovation for some of the rooms, however no loud sound or dust around, pretty good job in handling this. Their connecting rooms are without window, hence for customer who do not feel comfortable without window, please do not request for a connecting rooms.

Aside that, everything was great :) and i had a pleasant stay..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hills Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Batam

Address: Jalan Teuku Umar No. 02 | Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HILLS BATAM(SHORT WALKAWAYS TO NAGOYA HILL MALL & MANY ENTERTAINTMENT VENUES)The hills Batam is an oasis of calm and charm amidst the hustle and bustle Of the Nagoya district, Batam’s main commercial area. Located in front of Nagoya Hill Mall, The Hills Hotel Batam is also easily accessible to Duty Free Shopping Center , malls, restaurant, bank, and many entertainment venues. Our rooms are fully air-conditioned and feature modern amenities such as an IDD phone, wireless internet access, LCD TV, refrigenerator and coffee & tea making facilities. Your accommodation is also inclusive of a welcome drink, daily buffet breakfast, and complimentary use of our Health Centre Spa.A venue to conduct modern meeting, our 6 function rooms with capacity until 500 pax as well equipped for business meeting and seminars, as well as product launches. Only 20 minutes from Hang Nadim international Airport, 10 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry, 17 MINUTES FROM Batam center Ferry terminal, 25 minutes to Sekupang International ferry.The Barelang Bridge connect the island of Batam, rempang and Galang. This bridge has grown more into a tourist attraction rather than a transport route. Located in Vietnam village at Galang Island, The Quan Am Tu temple is one of Batam most visited attraction. It was build by Vietnamese that escape the war in Vietnam 1976.Renowned for its many seafood restaurants, The coastline along Harbour Bay will satisfy you with a diverse choise of seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Hills Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.