We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and safe hotel no nonsense” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hills Batam

Save Saved
You added The Hills Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hills Batam
Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good and safe hotel no nonsense”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Good clean hotel they have a hot and cold cool which is a plus point they also have sauna do worth the price and also have message in the hotel the rooms are clean to it is safe to bring kids and for family and main shopping area and night life is all around

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
10
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

this hotel is just 3 minutes walk from the Batam main shopping mall, Nagoya Hills Mall. it was easily accessible.

Free Wifi available at hotel lobby, two computers available for free access and their staff are friendly and helpful.

Clean room and comfortable. However, do not expect a very good bathroom. Both our room and my friend's room looks old and cracked at the wall. Shower hook was broken hence
unable to hook it properly.

Was there last year December 2011, and it was still under renovation for some of the rooms, however no loud sound or dust around, pretty good job in handling this. Their connecting rooms are without window, hence for customer who do not feel comfortable without window, please do not request for a connecting rooms.

Aside that, everything was great :) and i had a pleasant stay..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel with good accommodation and location. Located directly opp Nagoya hill shopping mall. Spacious room with living room attached. We booked for Deluxe king room...Wonderful n friendly hotel staff very..Clean...excellent breakfast. Will go back again for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

It true nothing great about this hotel except that it's located opposite the Nagoya Mall. During check in we were given a twin bed but I've requested a double bed since I'm there with my husband. Without a problem we were given our room key. We went in the room n notice that there is no view the window are cover with wall. So u can imagine how stuffy it get after awhile. We still don't mind cos we intended to stay one night and we were out most of the time shopping and going to the spa. Everything went well even the breakfast is good. But everything change when we were getting ready to check out. My husband in the toilet shaving call out my name cos while he shave, on the toilet mirror there a name written on it. Hmm.. This is not Good. While I was wearing my headscarf, I saw a male shadow on the wall walking toward the window. This time it me calling my husband telling him to hurry up. We pack our bag and zoom out not talking about what we saw until we are at the Mega Mall. But still I'm glad it didn't disturb us at night and only show up when we about to check out.;) Yes!! The water leak badly from the shower and make it difficult for us to have proper shower. This is the thing u get when u stay at an old hotel. No mater what both of us had a great vacation in batam. To come back again to this hotel, the answer is Yes but not in that room. The plus point , it's near Nagoya hill and my favorite The Spa Secret. ;)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Location is good. It is located just opposite the Nagoya Hills Shopping Center and the 888 seafood restaurant is a mere 5-10 mins drive. The hotel do provide to and fro service to the restaurant at a reasonable price. The buffet breakfast was poor to my opinion, The rooms were ok except that there were mosquitoes and the water for showering weren't that hot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel was located less than 5 minutes walk from Nagoya Hills shopping complex.
Room was compact, average and looks to be well used. There were cigarette burns marks visible in the room. Although its supposed to be a non smoking floor, there were people lighting up everywhere indiscrimately. Bathroom is showerhead type and theres no bathtub, just in case if you are wondering.
Service is generally friendly and they try to help. However, I need to advise that one of the male receptionist tried to pull a fast one on us and quoted "double the tourist price" of a taxi to the jetty rather than the normal rate. I queried him further on it and he was pretty insistent that it was the hotel rate. I rated the service terrible as there shouldnt be staff who trys to pulls a fast one on tourists. You are supposed to be there helping if the tourist needs to be helped but to pull a fast one, its pretty low.
You can leave your baggage with the reception. But I advise that you stack the luggage by yourself in the room. I found my soft luggage squashed below my friend's heavier and harder luggage.
There are 2 internet terminals in the hotel lobby for guest. However, the hotel should advise users that the terminals are shared and should be limited to 20 minutes individual use.
Breakfast buffet is ok, there is acceptable variety. However the replenishment proceeds at a sedately pace.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Noting great bout tiz hotel,it plus point is e hotel is just opp nagoya hill n bsde spa secrect. Whn we whn thr half of e room is doing reno,quite noisy, breakfast was so,so nt a spread bt stil edible.they realy live up to their name.3star hotel so cnt expct more.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hills Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills Batam

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar no. 02, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly Puri Garden)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HILLS BATAM(SHORT WALKAWAYS TO NAGOYA HILL MALL & MANY ENTERTAINTMENT VENUES)The hills Batam is an oasis of calm and charm amidst the hustle and bustle Of the Nagoya district, Batam’s main commercial area. Located in front of Nagoya Hill Mall, The Hills Hotel Batam is also easily accessible to Duty Free Shopping Center , malls, restaurant, bank, and many entertainment venues. Our rooms are fully air-conditioned and feature modern amenities such as an IDD phone, wireless internet access, LCD TV, refrigenerator and coffee & tea making facilities. Your accommodation is also inclusive of a welcome drink, daily buffet breakfast, and complimentary use of our Health Centre Spa.A venue to conduct modern meeting, our 6 function rooms with capacity until 500 pax as well equipped for business meeting and seminars, as well as product launches. Only 20 minutes from Hang Nadim international Airport, 10 minutes from Harbour Bay International Ferry, 17 MINUTES FROM Batam center Ferry terminal, 25 minutes to Sekupang International ferry.The Barelang Bridge connect the island of Batam, rempang and Galang. This bridge has grown more into a tourist attraction rather than a transport route. Located in Vietnam village at Galang Island, The Quan Am Tu temple is one of Batam most visited attraction. It was build by Vietnamese that escape the war in Vietnam 1976.Renowned for its many seafood restaurants, The coastline along Harbour Bay will satisfy you with a diverse choise of seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Hills Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hills Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.