We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gideon Hotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gideon Hotel Batam to your Saves list
Gideon Hotel Batam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Komp. Penuin Center Blok AA No. 1 - PENUIN, Riau Islands Province 36000, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed over at the hotel from 25 Oct 2013-27 Oct 2013 . I have great reviews to give to this hotel.
I would like to mention 1 person, Miss Susanti Tan aka Santi Tan - for giving us great service. She is such a patient, beautiful and kind person with great customer service and she greeted us every time we see her at the counter. It was my wife’s birthday and Miss Susanti on the behalf of the hotel gave a birthday cake to her.
Overall, the staffs were helpful and friendly. The room is clean, cozy and comfortable and the location is great as it is just a few minutes walk to BCS . We had a wonderful stay in Gideon Hotel,Batam and we would definitely come back again. Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

pros:
stayed here for two nights and the experience was wonderful - the staff were friendly, wifi stable, rooms clean and comfortable.
toiletries and hairdryer were provided, rain shower, bath slippers provided
room service was prompt, hotel bar not too crowded and drinks affordable
location prime - opposite BCS mall and an open-air food court which only opens at night. there are retail shops, a supermarket, bowling alley and a cinema in there so for a short trip it has everything you need.
i stayed on the first floor but no complaints.

cons:
buffet breakfast spread in the morning was fine, but food could be warmer.
cigarettes everywhere -- the stench is unbearable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Book in on 22 October 2013 and were alloted room 104 on level 1. Room were spacious ,Ok for a couple.But the disappointment is that the window is facing directly to the wall of adjacent building.
So we are not able to see any view of the surrounding areas.The sound of the A/C outdoor unit is horrible. I strongly suggest that the management offer higher floors to first timer like us. Remember that " FIRST IMPRESSION LAST"
Breakfast is acceptional.in Batam context. Staff and service was awesome. Cleanliness suits for a new hotel. BCS mall and A2 food court a walking distance..Advisable to stay during weekdays,less crowd.

Room Tip: Pls ask for higher floors cos what we encounter having a room at level 1 Room 104 is horrible with w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed at this new hotel with my mom and friends over the weekend. The rooms were comfy and the location was good (close to a mall and a outdoor food court!). However breakfast at the hotel was a big disappointment. The food ran out fast and there were probably not enough staff to refill the dishes. Queue for the eggs was pretty long as there was only one guy cooking.

I understand that this is a new hotel. Hopefully in time to come, they will solve the breakfast issue.

Other than that, staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

on 12 Oct our group of 11 stayed at this hotel, the location is convenient to go to the BCC mall and JC supermarket but the road to the hotel is too small. Big bus cannot go in but thats all right cos we are not carrying heavy luggage. The shock came only the next day when we went down for breakfast. which is from 6 am to 10 am At 8.30 am there was a huge crowd. The dining area is not very big. The variety is poor. They only have porridge, Cereal (2 types) bee hoon, fried rice, some nuggets, tempeh, hash brown. some fruits.
The queue for omelette or sunny side up was long!! 15 people queueing and it took a long time for each person to finish his order as each one orders at least 3 orders, eg 1 omelette, 2 sunny side up and 1 scrambled Egg. I queued for a good 15 minutes before giving up. I asked for the Manager of the restaurant. - No where to be found. they said he does not work on Sunday! Wow, this is peak period and no one to oversee their operations! . Same for the Hotel counter at check out ! No Manager in attendance. I took the Asst Director's contact and will write to him.
I have never been to a hotel where there is not only insufficient food but also cutlery, cups, plates. and not enough table to sit ! Guests were pouring in and tables were not cleared. They clearly dont have a plan to have the breakfast properly managed. All fighting fire ! The staff are courteous but the breakfast situation was badly managed.
Wont recommend this hotel to anyone to stay here ! We went away feeling hungry. Not value for money! - Better go out of the hotel to eat. and dont pay for the breakfast but we bought from Deal.com. clearly bad deal!!!!

Room Tip: - they canot accommodate request for a queen size bed. - gave 2 singles. and request for extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was a great experience....service was good....the only setback was the heater doesnt work in room 502 and also the walls are thin...that you can hear sounds coming from the next room toliet.....Breakfast was awesome in Batam context....so nothing to complain about....2 mins walk to BCS mall where the supermarket is selling at a cheaper price compare to Megamall....and also they have a food court next to BCS mall.......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed at executive suite (#536) for 2 nights in Oct'13. Hotel is new hence very clean. Large room with ample space to accommodate extra beds. Also come with dining table for 4 all laid out. View of surrounding residential and business premises in Nagoya. Aircond is via single unit but adequately cooled. Breakfast spread was so so. Check-in and check-out were quick. Staff were generally courteous and friendly. Located 2 mins from BCS Mall where there were many restaurants to choose from. Hotel van cost IDR100,000 to/from airport and IDR800,000 for 10-hour booking to take you around Batam island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gideon Hotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Hotel Batam

Address: Komp. Penuin Center Blok AA No. 1 - PENUIN, Riau Islands Province 36000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gideon Hotel Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Gideon Hotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gideon Hotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.