We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply padang to simply Aweful!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mak Ateh Rumah Makan

Mak Ateh Rumah Makan
Jln Raja Ali, Komp.Inti Sakti Blok H/2 | Nagoya, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 186 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply padang to simply Aweful!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lunch on 1 Jun 2013
Group: 6 adults & 1 kid
Last visit on 2 Feb 2013 (reviewed), 20 May 2013 (no review)

On both visits to Mak Ateh on 20 May & 1 Jun, we were equally disappointed with the quality of food & service. Need no mentioned abt its ambience & cleanliness. Its seems that Mak Ateh had lost its touch of being well-known for its authentic Padang taste.

As we were told by one of their staff during our earlier visit on 2 Feb that Mak Ateh just went thru a change of management fm the mother to the daughter.

A few month have passed and Mak Ateh had not improved. Yet, it's getting worst. We have agreed to give Mak Ateh a skip on our next visit & explore other Padang restaurants available.

After patronizing Mak Ateh since early 90's, we were sad to see its current state.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best rendang in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Being half padang ethnic myself, I would know how rendang padang should taste. Im a Singaporean married to an Indon and having travelled to Malaysia and Indonesia. I dare to say here you can get the best rendang in the world. Mak Ateh has another smaller branch at Nagoya near pasar buah. Only that branch serve Gazebo Gulai. Another out of this world dish. But most patrons would have reservations to dine there as the place dont look as clean n hygenic as the main big branch. Both branches service are just so so. Rumah makan Sederhana is newer n cleaner n service is the best of all Padang Resto in Batam but taste wise 1) Mak Ateh 2) Salero Basamo (opposite Swiss In Hotel Penuin) 3) Sederhana Jodoh opposite Mosque Kantor Polis. 4) Putih Bungsu near Hill Inn Hotel only because of dishes..Gulai Otak and Ayam Pop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simply Padang :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lunch on 2 Feb 2013
Group: 8 adults & 3 kids

Mak Ateh had been our family's usual haunt for nasi padang for past years. Its all about the Taste. Nothing else.

However, after a year since our last visit to Batam or Mak Ateh, we saw many new faces among the staff and a drop in standard of service. As we found out later, there was a change of management from the older to younger generation. Ambience-wised, its still the same - old and a bit run-down.

Luckily and most importantly, the taste remained the same. Flavourful. The very signature of Mak Ateh dishes.

Our only disappointment was the "ayam pop", our family's favourite. Mak Ateh's 'ayam pop' used to be tender & succulent. Now, though the size was a little bit bigger, the texture & taste was a let down.

In terms of price, we admit that Mak Ateh's quite steep. Our lunch cost us about Rup750,000 (S$97) compared to our next day lunch at Sederhana's only Rup465,000 (S$60).

Having said that, we still prefer Mak Ateh in terms of flavour and taste. In terms of ambience, cleanliness, facilities etc, Sederhana is top spot.

p/s: we agreed that Taste is a subjective matter. :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mak Ateh Rumah Makan also viewed

Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Mak Ateh Rumah Makan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mak Ateh Rumah Makan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.