We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively New Hotel but Deteriorating Fast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay to your Saves list
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Duyung, Sei Jodoh, Batu Ampar | Harbour Bay Complex, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Relatively New Hotel but Deteriorating Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the hotel. Overall the room is spacious enough for 2 adults and child. Bed and pillows are comfy and has clean towels and sheets.

Toilet show bad sign of lacking in housekeeping. For a hotel which is relatively new, ugly stains were found in the shower area as well as next to the toilet bowl wall (which I've no idea what kind of stain is that)

Toiletries were very basic. I had expected something better from a International hotel chain and/or a 4* hotel.

Wall between rooms seems to be very thin as I could sometimes hear my neighbour talking. Otherwise, my neighbour may be a loud mouth.

The hotel also has a spa, which I did not try. But you could get cheaper ones outside. Opp the hotel has massage parlour callled "6 stars". However a local friend who have tried their service do not recommend it.

Hotel breakfast is normal. Quality of food is also below expectation as I have earlier heard good comments on their food. But having compare the food quality and room quality with I Hotel, I think I rather go for I Hotel. The price factor is slightly higher, but the location is much better (5 mins walk to Nagoya Hill Mall). At Nagoya area, you can watch movie, karaoke, massage, arcade and shopping. Whereas at Swiss-belhotel is more of eat and relax. Hence it depends which is your preferences.

So will I go back to the hotel.again? Yes, but not my first choice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    149
    33
    12
    13
See reviews for
51
85
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Clean, comfortable and convenient.

Booked 6 rooms from 13th to 15th December 2013. We had a pleasant stay. Convenient hotel with shopping mall, family karaoke (cheap VVIP room), convenient 24hours mart, massage centre and seafood restaurants surrounding the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

However, shower had to be improved. Water could seep out of the shower area. Breakfast is poor and not much choice. Also lack of entertainment for children .

Overall, it's a nice hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

SWISS BELHOTEL, BATAM>
stayed 28 Dec - 30 Dec 2013 with 4 adults, 3 kids

Travellin from Singapore:
1) Book Ferry to Batam, Habour Bay Ferry Terminal, no taxi needed (2mins walk from Terminal)
2) If u travel to Batam centre taxi to hotel: 70,000 Rp (abt $7)
PS: can book via batam fast or wave master. Can book to Harbour bay is timing is good

Arrived at hotel at 8.45am after takin the first ferry to batam centre. Was greeted by helpful Frontdesk Lady, unable to check in early as it's full occupancy.
First impression of Hotel: very clean.

Wifi: Rem to get wifi password from Front Desk when you arrive @ home.
Wifi was working well in room too!

Breakfast at Swiss Belhotel if not complimentary:
Price: 110,000 Rp for adult & 80,000 Rp for children
- The bf was alrght, just a lot of people due to Sun & Dec's holidays, but Mon's BF crowd was okie.
- Can have more waiters around, we had hard time trying to look for a place to sit.

Suggestion for cheaper foodie:
Walk out to Morning bakery (Cafe) outside the hotel. Hotel main lobby - cross opposite and on the right. Food is pretty good. Ayam goreng, nasi lemak (ranging from 8000 to 12,000 Rp)
They made their own bread too!! They are specialized in makin bread :)
Their tea are pretty good too!
Ordered 3 mains 2 teas & 2 bread - cost us SGD $6.50 (spent ard 60,000 Rp)
Ps: Non-Aircon but place is cooling.

HOTEL:
Very new hotel; even the lobby toilet is great! Clean & looks great!

ROOM:
It's peak period, our room was abt Sgd $75 per night for Deluxe Room with free breakfast!
• Bedding: Super soft king size bed! Awesome pillows!!
The rooms are awesome! Super nice & spacious!
• Aircon: Great!
• Cleanliness: great!!
**Grand Deluxe Room @ S$94 during peak period

SWIMMING POOL:
A small pool, shld be good during off peak. Otherwise, probably Gonna be pretty packed!

OVERALL:
It's a place to chill & things are cheap in Batam! Can't get such service & enjoyment in Singapore.
If willing to spend, can book grand deluxe room (estimate $94 per night during peak season) Comes with bath tub! :p
Beside the hotel, is the Habour bay food area; can eat watch soccer and also got karaoke to sing. With massage jus a stone away!

SHUTTLE SERVICES/ SHOPPING MALL:

KEPRI MALL
Hotel provides free shuttle bus to KEPRI MALL: (see photo for detailed timing) abt 40mins journey
Bus to Kepi Mall: 10am, 12pm; 2pm; 4pm; 6pm; 8pm
Bus back to hotel: 11am; 1pm; 3pm; 5pm; 7pm; 9pm
Taxi to KEPRI will cost 60,000 Rp (Taxi ard 15mins)

PS: Kepri is not really a big mall as what many said, it has Jco, Carrefour, matahari, timezone and many others shops. We like as it was not as crowded like Nagoya!
- Time zone: great deal if u are coming with kids cos it's super cheap!! We spent few hrs chilling w the kids playing games!! @ ard S$0.20-$0.40 per game

- Shoes are also cheap here! Ard 110,000.
Shopping inside matahari, look for deals like 50% or one for one! U will be surprise getting pretty good deal!! Shoes and socks are good deals too!!

- Eating at Godvia was costly! Not worth it at all!!! Expensive
- Must buy: fried Chicken at Carrfour! Nicer than KFC (that we had in Singapore!)
- Children packs of Milo is good deal!! Onli 2100 which is 20cents per pack!

Nagoya Shopping:
Taxi Fare: 30,000Rp (15mins)

Habour Bay Shopping Mall:
Opposite Swiss Belhotel, there is a OG / Supermarket in the shopping mall.
Nothin in the mall, only few shops are open..
Can buy grocergies from OG Supermarket.

MASSAGE:
Opposite hotel, SIX STAR, traditional massage cost 170,000 Rp (less than S$20) for 2hrs.
Closes at 10pm
Great massage at good pricing!

Nagoya hill area has more choices of massage (less than S$10).

DINNER @ HABOUR BAY SEAFOOD CENTRE
- Dine at Wey Wey Seafood
- Spent ardS$15 per pax for 7 dishes including Crabs
- Their OTAH served before dinner was good, 20cents each
Note: Rem to always ask for quote on thei dishes & rem to check ur bill before paying

Will be back when i need a place to chill out.

Room Tip: Room that is facing the garden/ or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay for 4 nights at the end of December. This was actually our second visit to the hotel. Our first visit was back in August 2013. We decided to make a trip back again because of the wonderful experience we had back then. However, our second visit was a bit disappointing.
During our first visit, we stayed in a grand deluxe room where the room was bigger. But considering the same price we paid for our second visit, we didn't get to stay in the same size of room - our room was smaller and didn't have a bathtub available. We were extremely disappointed. We complained to the hotel and requested for a bigger room. The hotel has agreed to change our room for us. But the situation didn't get better as the new room size was exactly the same as the one we first checked-in. The only difference was that the wifi reception seems to be a bit better. I was frustrated as I thought there wasn't much point of changing our room at all if the room size were just the same.
Other than that, we both had a comfortable stay at the hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive. We were impressed that the hotel staff offered to give us a lift to the nearby ferry terminal when we checked out.
Despite our unpleasant experience this time, we still think Swiss Belhotel Harbour Bay is one of the best hotel in Batam. We would like to come back for any special occasions such as birthdays and anniversary.

Room Tip: For any special occasions such as anniversary or birthdays, your room can be nicely decorated upon r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The bed is evil! Haha. It’s the fact! The bed and pillow is soft,it makes me sleep soundly
To be honest, this is the first time I skipped my bfast bcos of the “Evil” bed. Throughout my journey trips to batam, this is the first time we booked 3D 2N to batam and 3D2N is NOT enuf! We truly enjoyed our stay with
swissbel-HB and recommended to all my friends. Its awesome and will return back to SwissBel!
Mr Eric and My Sohni is nice!

My husband left his wedding ring when we checked out!
Called the hotel when we were about to leave Batam.
They were so honest to inform us that the wedding ring has been found.
We left with 5 mins to depart and the doorbell came to HB ferry terminal to
returned us the ring. It was so sweet! It's our wedding ring and it is so precious to us
and we promise before we checked out, we will make sure nothing left behind!

See you guys in March.

Room Tip: Choose Grand Deluxe (;
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went for a weekend getaway with my wife in December. Informed the hotel to arrange for vehicle pickup as well as some special arrangements for our room.

When we arrived, the vehicle did not turn up and we had to take a taxi to the hotel. Check in was slow despite not having many people around and while the lobby was large by Batam standards, it didn't feel warm nor welcoming. Room was decent with a nice view of the sea. Minibar was well stocked and decently priced. Shower was small and not sufficiently stocked but passable for a night's stay.

The hotel is also linked to the Habour Bay ferry terminal (which is an absolute chaos. I'd rather come in from Batam Centre) as well as a mall. The mall is practically deserted and the only value it has is the supermarket.

Breakfast was atrocious. Too little space, too many people and the wait staff and chefs were slow and unorganised. I'd rather order room service and eat it in the comfort of my room than to squeeze with everyone at the warm dining area with poor selection of food.

Around the hotel is a stretch of seafood restaurants which are really reasonable and serve up a good seafood fare. We tried Wey Wey Seafood and were impressed with their pricing and quality of food. A highly recommended place for dinner.

All in all, the hotel was average. Nothing spectacular despite coming from an apparently decent chain. Staff were busy with their own works and nobody really made you feel welcomed. For the price paid, I think it's ok. I probably would try other hotels around the area on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Batam, 28 December 2013


Dear Mr. David,

Warm regards from Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, Batam.

We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team to be shared.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room and minibar. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience experience about the pick-up service and check-in process, we have deeply briefed to the department concerned for immediate follow-up and improvement. As for your feedback on our breakfast, we will do review and will make sure that you have the best experience on your next visit.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay (SBHB) is an ideal hotel for vacationers in Batam. A part of the established Swiss-Belhotel group which has hotels in the Middle East, Australia and Asia, this new hotel is less than one year old at the time of writing.

SBHB is located in Harbour Bay which is easily accessible by ferry from Singapore. There are multiple trips everyday running between Harbour Bay, Batam and Harbourfront, Singapore. Prima Ferries has one ferry departing from Harbourfront, Singapore approximately every hour. Batam Fast has 4 trips departing from Harbourfront, Singapore per day. A return trip ticket, regardless of the ferry operator, is SGD$48 nett, inclusive of all taxes. You can simply show up roughly an hour before departure and buy your ticket. Ensure that you have the necessary visa to enter Indonesia.

SBHB is located right beside the ferry terminal. After you passed through immigration, you will follow the signs through the ferry terminal to reach the hotel. As you walk through the ferry terminal, you will pass by some unair-conditioned food courts. You will also pass by the Batam office for Prima Ferries, where you can exchange your return ferry ticket for your return boarding pass back to Singapore. At the end of the ferry terminal, you will see a big sign for SBHB. You will go up an escalator and carry on walking into Harbour Bay Mall. Inside Harbour Bay Mall, you will see glass doors leading you into SBHB. The walk from immigration to SBHB is only 5 mins, and as it is sheltered, you will be protected regardless it is rain or shine.

For full review and photos, please see http://travelrestauranthotel.com/blog/swiss-belhotel-harbour-bay-batam-indonesia-oct-2013/#comments

Like our Facebook page for latest travel and dining reviews https://www.facebook.com/travelrestauranthotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Batam, 18 December 2013


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, Batam.

Thank you for reviewing Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay in your blog. We do appreciate for your positive comments regarding your experience while staying with us. However, we do apologize for the inconvenience experience on our late follow-up of your request and the quality of room service, we have deeply briefed to the departments concerned for immediate improvement. We will make sure that you have the best experience on your next visit.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay

Address: Jalan Duyung, Sei Jodoh, Batu Ampar | Harbour Bay Complex, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay is a 4-star international hotel which provide a high quality standard of services and facilities. The hotel is ideally located in the central business and commercial district, only 30 minutes from Hang Nadim International Airport and 35 minutes to Singapore by high speed ferry from Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal, which is adjacent to the hotel. As the ultimate combination of hotel, mall and trade centre, Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay allows easy access to a variety of entertainment and leisure activities, and many dining options. For business or leisure travel-lers to Batam, Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay is the ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.