We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! We're happy with our stay :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GGi Hotel

Save Saved
You added GGi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Asiatravel.com
and 1 more site!
GGi Hotel
Jl.Duyung, Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29453, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great! We're happy with our stay :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stay: 2-4 February 2013
Group: A family of 8 adults & 3 kids (aged 3-5 y.o)
Room: 4 deluxe with a balcony
Price: +/- IDR 552,000/room/nite

Location:
[Pros] Very good. Near to Harbourbay Ferry Terminal & stretch of Harbourbay's seafood restaurants e.g Wey Wey Live Seafood. Opposite to Harbourbay Mall. +/- 10mins to Nagoya.
[Cons] Occasional traffic noise at night due to near a main road. However, not an issue.

Hotel:
[Pros] New. Spacious lobby / cafe / swimming pool area. Welcome drink.
[Cons] Has 2 lifts but only 1 was working. Stagnant-dust-covered swimming pool. Mozzies especially in the cafe's restroom. A lot that you could hear them buzzing in your ears!
[Highlight] We informed the front desk about the mozzies in the restroom & they quickly get the cleaner to attend to it.

Room *Deluxe*:
[Pros] Neat, clean and spacious. Comfortable bed. Mini fridge. Bathtub. Cable TV. Free wifi. An extra pillow in the closet. Toileteries provided.
[Cons] Wifi signal "unstable" in certain rooms (but stable in the corridor). No room service / menu. Mozzies..
[Highlight]: (1) managed to get all our rooms on the same floor & nearby to each other. (2) visible presence of mozzies along the floor corridor. As we are in a family with 3 young, hyper kids who like to hop around from one room to another & on the other hand, trying to avoid the mozzies to enter our rooms, we just have to keep closing our doors (using the doorstop) instead of letting them open for the kids. (3) managed to get late check-out for two of our rooms (out of four).

Service / Staff:
[Pros]: Friendly. Always smiling. Speak simple English. Attentive & responsive. Helpful bellhops.
[Cons]: - none -
[Highlight]: (1) We informed the reception counter that one of our rooms' aircon seems not working well. Immediately, she called for their technician. We witnessed & appreciated the effort put in by the latter to rectify the problem. From then on, the aircon worked perfectly. (2) In a hurry, we (carelessly) left some SGD on the desk. When we came back, we noticed that our room had been cleaned by the housekeeping & that's when we realised that we have left the monies behind. None was taken.

Breakfast: consists of (at least 8) local dishes, chicken porridge, soup or hot dessert, bread, some pastries, 2 mixed cereals, pudding or salad, 1 type of juice flavoured drink, coffee, tea, cold & plain water
[Pros]: taste nice / okay! we are happy with the spread. despite its mini size, the bergedil (potato patties) is really up to standard. (well, taste is a subjective matter). different menus on both mornings.
Cons: NO egg station?....
Highlight: (1) Despite not having an egg station, you can actually make a request from the waiter/waitress. Actually, one of the waiters made an effort to ask if we want omelettes or sunshine eggs to go along. Although filled sparsely with spring onion & diced sausage, the omelette was a failure. Nevertheless, we appreciate the attempt.

Others:
(1) Surprisingly, despite its visible presence, our family members got bitten by the mozzies only twice..
(2) While waiting for our family's check-out, we saw a food photographing session was going on at a corner of the lobby. We asked the chef who happened to passed by us about it & he replied that it was for the hotel's cafe menu & room service. We looked at the dishes being photographed.. Well, they looked quite appetizing & generous in portion. We hope that they'll taste nice too.
(3) The management has to really look into the mosquitoes problem before it got out of hand & also, keeping the swimming pool clean.
(4) Well, we do agreed that sometimes its all down to your luck of having a pleasant stay or otherwise. Overall, we were happy with our stay & definitely we'll come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

very nice hotel..Just Opp the ferry terminal and harbourbay mall, but this mall nobody people wanted to go..better just take cab go to nagoya hill more happening
easy go to shopping centre
and all look very new
the bed very comfortable
breakfast was nice..love their potato cake and fried noodle

Room Tip: Better take DELUXE room, coz they have private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel location is very good, near to nagoya and jodoh as business district in batam, lots of eating places.
The room is quiet big, neat, clean and tidy.
The bathroom also quiet big with a bathtub.
Free wifi in the room, just need to get the password from the receptionist.
Hotel location also near Harbour Bay ferry terminal about 3 minutes.
Staff is friendly & helpful.
I definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package. Was particularly impressed that the staff on duty took additional effort to convert a Suite Room so that we can get two connecting rooms for 4 persons (our original request was for 2 connected Deluxe rooms).

Hotel was opened on 11 Oct 2012, so things are still new and clean. Overall, we were happy with our stay. Good value for money if you are looking for 4-star standard (without pool and exercise gym).

Pros:
1. Located directly opposite Harbour Bay Mall (also relatively new, with many shop units still unoccupied). HBM is near many seafood outlets at the seafront, including Wey Wey Seafood. You can find J.Co Donuts and Carrefour in HBM.
2. Clean & new room facilities.
3. Free WIFI in room and lobby.
4. Cable LCD TV
5. Decent Breakfast - local dishes, rice, and bread available.
6. Good price at the moment (40% opening discount till 31 Dec 2012). Price below are promotion rates:
Superior room IDR 450K
Deluxe room IDR 540K
Suite Room IDR 1,300K
President IDR 3,250K
Extra bed IDR 180K
Hotel is fairly big with 160 rooms.
7. Relatively near other Malls in Nagoya Hill and Jalan Duyung.


Cons:
1. Harbour Bay Mall (HBM) still new, and Carrefour is small (probably about 40K sq ft). Many shops not occupied.
2. No pool or exercise room (yet?).
3. Bathroom in Suite Room has glass window view to bedroom (and vice versa). So it may be more suitable for couples than for friends.

Room Tip: Bathroom in Suite Room has glass window view to bedroom (and vice versa). So it may be more suitabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GGi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GGi Hotel

Address: Jl.Duyung, Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29453, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your GGi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GGi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.