We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J.Co Donuts & Coffee

J.Co Donuts & Coffee
Jl Imam Bonjol | Nagoya Hill Mall, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 207 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Dessert
Description: franchise
Restaurant details
Description: franchise
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The donuts are freshly baked but a bit too sweet. 6 pcs. of assorted donuts costs 36000 rupiah. Most seats are outdoor. There are not so many seats in the shop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The more I see the more I like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This review is for the Nagoya Hill location. We wound up here quite by happen-chance as we were tourists getting off the ferry from Johor. But It was raining quite heavily even during the ferry crossing making us late upon arrival and then we couldn't be normal tourists so we took a taxi to hang out in the Nagoya Hill Mall, still raining heavily. We first spotted the coffee being served at JCo, which I'd never heard of before. We ordered the Coffee and a Chocolate drink and were surprised when they gave us a free plain donut to go along with it. Then I saw they had some combination meals so I tried the "sausage" (of course halal) in a bun. Was ok but not spectacular. Then I noticed the mugs on sale and it cost 69K Rupiah. But they said if I buy two I would get a box of donuts for free. The box consisted of two dozen mini donut some filled like with coco, mango, banana, berry etc. So I got my two mugs, two dozen donut "holes" as we say back home. and also got a cheese filled sandwich (J.C. Cheezy Rich )which was sweet like cheesecake and had fresh grated cheese on top (and the cheese was our total favorite) We took our two dozen donuts to go and brought them back to Johor on the ferry and when we arrived at customs and immigration there was another guy also carrying a box of donuts back home and we agreed they were pretty good. I should also mention that my server's name was Rio and he was very hospitable going out of his way to help a tourist.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“The best donuts ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an Indonesian chain that makes the best donuts, far better than dunkin donuts' and with much more variety. It is a must!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

No doubt the donuts were great. Who does not like donuts?! But the reason for the average rating was the service.

I was in the queue when a woman jumped in line in front of me and she was served first despite the staff seeing me there first.

Secondly, after I chose the donuts, I had to wait for about 10 minutes to just make the payment. They apparently have a numbering system and have to wait for the staff to call out your number. The irritating part was some of the customers changing their orders while making payment making a backlog of other customers waiting to make payment.

So go ahead and enjoy your donuts unless you have to rush some other place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Arghhh i miss the donuts there. well, of cos they are much more cheaper compared to singapore.. But well, who doesnt fancy cheap yet good food? (:

I also miss the yogurt they have, with so many toppings available to choose from. Will go back batam next week!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.Co Donuts & Coffee also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to J.Co Donuts & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J.Co Donuts & Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.