We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious 4-Star Quality in Every Part of the Hotel, Spacious Room at Cheap Prices, Bad Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Batam to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Luxurious 4-Star Quality in Every Part of the Hotel, Spacious Room at Cheap Prices, Bad Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The nearest seaport to Novotel Batam Hotel is Harbour By Ferry Terminal. Many taxi touts attempt to offer their services at the Terminal and all along the road to the Hotel. We took about 10-15 minutes to walk to the Hotel.

Novotel Batam Hotel offers quality furnishings in every part of the hotel and the room. The hotel is huge and opulent, with cozy ambience everywhere. The Hotel seems to have few guests, and is very quiet all the time.

The lift lobby in every floor is huge. It contains 3 sofa sets and a book shelf.

The Executive Double Room has new and modern furnishings and carpet, and has huge spaces for my kid to play. However, the toilet is a bit small, and the writing desk is also small. Insuffiicient table top for us to put our baby stuff on. Our room also faces the sea, and has a huge balcony that extends into an open-air patio. Watched sunset and many fireworks over Hari Raya.

Staff here is very courteous and full of smile. They are fluent in English, too.

The cafe is very nicely decorated and cozy. The Japanese themed garden outside of the cafe offers tranquility and relaxation. It's like being in a cool garden in the midst of bustiling Batam city.

The swimming pool is indoor, but the water is murky and cold. It has a very cozy ambience at night with all the yellow lightings. There are two ways to get to the pool. The proper way is to take the lift to the "G" floor, go into the gym, and take the stairs up at the back of the gym. The other way is to take the lift to the "L" floor, and go into The Square Cafe, and go out through one of the exit doors.

We went to the Pacific Palace Hotel to take a look at her. We discovered that non-guests of the Pacific Palace Hotel may have a poolside meal and use her indoor pool for IDR50,000 per person. The pool here is very nice, especially at night, It also has a warm juccuzi pool.

The Hotel offers free one-way shuttle buses to Nagoya Hill Mall at 10am, 3pm, and 7pm. Guests have to book with the Hotel's Concierge for the free shuttle rides. On our way back from Nagoya Hill Mall to the Hotel, a taxi tout convinced us that the fare is IDR40,000 by saying that it is standard fare. We paid him that amount. We went there again 2 days later, and this time, another taxi tout's first offer was IDR50,000. We counter-offered IDR30,000 and he grumbled to his accomplice and offered IDR40,000. So, we walked towards the yellow taxis (which are not part of the touts). The tout immediated shouted to us that IDR30,000 is ok. We'll try the yellow taxis next time.

There are no major shopping malls around the Hotel. The Harbour Bay Mall is just 5 minutes from the Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal. It's very modern but many shops are not open or leased out yet. The interior is designed like Vivo City in Singapore, but much, much smaller in scale and the goods are not so branded.

The heartland malls nearest to the Hotel are Jodoh Mall, Top 100 Jodoh, and Ramayana Robinsons. They are like the yesteryears Lucky Plaza and Sim Lim Square kind of malls in Singapore. They are about 5-10 minutes walk from the Hotel. Diamond Mall is a further 10 minute walk from Top 100 Jodoh. It's similar to the three malls mentioned earlier, but much bigger.

There is only one food outlet near to the Hotel. The Pacific Food Court is located at Pacific Palace Hotelm which is across the road from Novotel Batam Hotel. It has many stalls selling mainly seafood at reasonable prices. We ordered cereal prawns, hotplate toufu, and white rice from Wey Wey Seafood, and Chicken Satay from Lucky's Ikan Bakar. They cost IDR121,000. The cereal prawns is average, hotplate below average, and satay is above average. We also ordered Chendol from Batam Desserts, which cost IDR10,000. The Chendol is not made with shaved ice, but come with cubed ice. However, the coconut milk is thick.

Overall, Novotel Batam Hotel has very cosy decor with good quality furnishings, huge Executive Rooms, and courteous staff. The rooms are also very cheap for such an opulent 4-Star Hotel. However, the location is bad, with no major shopping malls and food outlets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasTJ, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Dear Actuarial_Math,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for staying with Novotel Batam. We appreciate your business. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our Hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit. If you have any further comments or questions, feel free to contact me eam@novotelbatam.com.

Until next time,

Tri Joko Susanto - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    176
    123
    29
    18
See reviews for
79
67
23
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

went with family.
hotel staffs is good and helpful. room is clean and big.
their swimming pool has strong smell of chloride and musky which i don't think suitable for swimming.

this hotel location is good for business and shopper.
it has free shuttle bus to a shopping mall but it don't have a free shuttle bus back and it cost about 40000rupiah from the mall back to hotel by taxi which is abit expensive.

For leisure or couple will recommend resort stay else where rather than in the city itself.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasTJ, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear Ms. Icly,

Thank you for staying with the Novotel batam. We appreciate that you took the time to review our Hotel on TripAdvisor. As we continue to improve our hotels and services, comments like yours provide us with valuable feedback in identifying areas that concern our guests.

Again, Thank you for your comments, We hope to see you again here in Batam. Have a Great Day!

Sincerely,


Tri Joko Susanto - Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

1) Check in was a breeze
- Only thanks to the fact that we beat the crowd - saw many of the passengers from the same ferry later when we were on our way out, waiting for a long time

2) Room
- Spacious, roomy, modern and clean (overall)
- Looks like it was recently renovated
- Glass panel across the TV console was full of children's wet handprints (prob only cld be seen against strong light coming in from window, which explains why hsekeeping did not see it?)
- Bathtub was a little faulty
- Note left on desk says renovations are being done on level 5, but i guess we're lucky we were out most of the time and never noticed any disruptions from the renovations.
- Don't count on the free wifi, I could only use it for 5 mins max each time before being disconnected and asked to connect via a bband service which can be purchased via frontdesk...(if you're desperate, there is a desktop w reliable connection for free use at the lobby, saw some ppl chking their facebook pics from it lol!)

3) Hotel facilities
- Fitness Ctr is major yawn yawn
- Swimming pool location is very weird, you see wet footprints cutting across the fitness ctr's carpet before you get to the murky pool...ok to give it a miss unless you have no swimming pools where you come from.

4) Getting about
- From Batam Ctr ferry terminal to the hotel, it costs 50,000 rupiahs
- Hotel wasn't as close to Nagoya Hills as we thought it'd be...
- Hotel 'taxi service' costs 40,000 to go to Nagoya Hills, thought it might be cheaper if you flagged from outside?
- Unfortunately, on the way back to hotel from the shopping mall, seeing it was late, normal taxi svc also costed us 40,000.....
- From hotel back to ferry terminal on your way back, simply walk out and flag a cab for 50,000 - hotel will charge you 70,000.

5) Breakfast
- If your stay isn't inclusive of bfast, it costs you 70,000 rupiah per head.
- IMO, not worth it, have seen better bfast spreads even at boutique hotels...nothing impressive :-)
- Prob more shiok to eat the stuff you bought from the shopping mall the night before, and for 70,000 rp, you can get MUCH MUCH MUCH more yummy food outside

6) Check-out
- Same staff who checked me in took quite a while to process my check out.
- She seemed confused, I paid 300,000 rupiah as a security deposit and was expecting a refund, and she asked if i gave her sgd50 ? Suprised my files didn't have a proper record...and she tried to ask me for the cc transaction slip given to me when i checked in -_-
- Upon paying for the phone call i made and bfast, she used the slip and told me she refund my deposit already (these are 2 totally diff transactions)....and even uttered that i have not paid for my room!!!!!
- Told her verbally that i have paid online when i booked the hotel, and then w/o checking she said yes yes you have paid!
- Was a little irritated and appalled by her confusion - please look out when doing checkin and checkout if you are there.

Would have been a very pleasant short stay if not for checkout confusion, hope the info above helps! :-)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasTJ, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Dear Catherine,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I was rather excited to get a good deal at agoda, but after my 2-nights stay, it leaves me little wonder in what's the catch.

Room: Mattress is very worn out, you could feel the spring with your bare hands. sitting on the edge is impossible. Room has a constant musky smell. Renovation is going on, thus contributed to alot of unwanted dust. The air filter is not working at all. You could literally watch the dust particles dancing before you for minutes!

Services: Novotel had indeed trained their staff to smile, but it stops there. They are unable to communicate well in English and are unable to fully understand my request. I called back to the hotel requesting for room makeup, specially stated that they will need to ignore the 'do not disturb' sign as I've forgotten to remove it. My room was left untouched when I returned.
I was shocked to be charged for confirmation (not booking) of my return ferry.
I've stayed at numerous hotels in Batam and I had never experienced this.
I certainly do not expect this from Novotel, which is presumably a 5-star hotel.

Swimming Pool: As a reviewer stated earlier, it's most definitely not worth the effort.
The hassles of having to go via the gym at the ground floor is too much for guests, when it can be accessed via at the side glass door at the restaurant on level 1. Regardless, the water was so murky, you would not even consider dipping your toe in.

Any good points about the hotel?
1.it's 3-min drive from Harbour Bay ferry terminal. Good for transit to other places.
2.Free Wifi.
3.Free shuttle to major shopping centres. If you are a shopper, you would have chosen to stay at Batam Centre or Nagoya Hills, so the 1-way shuttle isnt much of an attraction.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasTJ, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Batam. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We had Novotel for 2 nights, it was a pleasant journey since Day 1, check-in was smooth, room is early although they had given us an early check-in. Appreciate that. Had asked an ironing board deliver and make-up room and it was excellent.It was deliver quite fast. Swimming pool is small and dirty and it was an hassle to go through the gym to go there.Rather do not bring any swimsuit.Check-out was poor badly done!!!no system at all! Manager was requested but do not know how to handle complains and keep insisting either the card and machine got problem. He requested to pay in Cash and asked us to go to the ATM by ourself without showing the way. It was our 1st time there and we had to asked so many people how to get there. Once we check my bank account, it was already been deducted!! and luckily for us, my credit card it was only sufficient money for the rooms if otherwise without knowing it will deducted twice without us knowing!and my boyfriend had to run to the ATM machine all by himself because it was raining! The manager just keeping quiet when we demand an explaination and had asked to check with the bank.Upon reaching Singapore, we quickly call the Singapore Bank as back there,they are not train to dial out an international number. To my surprise, it was deducted once we check-in the hotel and we had paid double for it. Handling of service and system is damn Poor.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasTJ, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Batam. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Address: Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.