We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & spacious room, reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Batam to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“clean & spacious room, reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. The check-in was fast and front desk was efficient. The room, bed linens, towels were clean. Room was spacious enough for a family of 2 adults and 1 child. Aircon, cable TV, hot and cold shower were working well. Our view from the room was residential area so most of the time our curtains were closed. Breakfast buffet was okay. Free Shuttle going Nagoya mall at designated times. The hotel is complete with gym, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor swimming pool, spa, coffee shop, Japanese restaurant and a main restaurant called The Square.

Needs to improve on service and renovate parts of the hotel:

1. There were no bathrobes in the room so we requested first night and none arrived until we call again the housekeeping in the morning. We were advised that they limit use of bathrobes and we were only given 1 and it was immediately taken away during make-up room, although they were generous in replenishing coffee/sugar/water and other stuff in toilet.

2. Our room was located at the back side of the hotel in 4th floor and it was quite a long walk from the elevator to our room. The hallways were dimly lit, so quiet and it was eerie to walk alone. At least corners of the hallways should have ample lighting and background music continues to play in tolerable hotel standards otherwise the hotel could get creepy and you will scare away clients. By the way, our TV suddenly turned on in the middle of our sleep and there was no sleep/timer mode in the remote control.

3. Seafood Dinner Buffet at The Square was nice. But we noticed that the fish plate we asked for grilling never returned to our table. Another couple complained of the same thing. Also, entrees were not replenished. Once they are out of crayfish, no more.

4. The sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool showed signs of old age and no longer appealing to use. If only these facilities are renovated then it would have been a better stay. Also, towels provided for pool use were torn out and bit yellowish already.

5. Hotel is a short distance to the ferry terminal and they should have offered free pick-up and return for guests esp during low season instead of hired taxis.

Room Tip: There's not much view to choose from anyway so choose lower rooms and near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    202
    150
    41
    23
See reviews for
109
78
32
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2nites in this pass september and its my first time staying here.
Towel were part torn. Its not white which its suppose to be.
Even the bed sheet were yellowish brown instead of white.
But its a huge hotel next to nagoya area. Near to ferry crossing to singapore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel is basically fine and quiet. Service is good. Staff is vey pleasant. Price is reasonable. And they have excellent breakfast and a good Japanese restaurant. But there is not much around in walking distance

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked 8 rooms through Agoda, specifying that we prefer Non-smoking rooms since We will be traveling with 4 toddlers.

Most of my friends got there by 2pm & they have released 7 rooms to them. I & some of my other friends got there an hour late.
Upon arriving at the hotel, the front desk (lady) told me that one of the rooms will be released late (around 4pm) as some of the guest check out late. I told her that the common practice for check- in in all hotels is 2pm & we actually arrived 3pm already. After few minutes of discussion she gave me the key card & told me there is now a free room available.

Upon opening the door in my room (I didn't even step inside), I already smelled the scent of the cigarette. I was furious that i have to go back to the lobby & spoke to the front desk again. I told Him (its a guy this time) that I asked for a non-smoking room. Then he told me there is no room available. I told him we specifically request for it. He told me it upon availability even if we request of it. Then, he offered if he can just put some aroma in the room. I was very pissed with what he said, as if it will make a huge difference. I told him it will not help since the cigarette scent has been absorb by the curtains & carpets. After much discussion he agreed to give us 2 non smoking rooms.

Since my friends with kids got there ahead of us, They didn't know that we (me & another friend) were able to changed our rooms. When one of our friend heard that I was able to change room, he also asked for it as he had a 1 yr old kid with him. It was around (8:30pm) when he spoke to the front desk & Again, same excuses was given to him (no rooms available). My friend asked my help to talk to them & again. I looked for the manager & told her its not our problem if the are full for we have made a specific request. Then again, after few minutes of pissing us off she told us.... there is now a free room. So my friend asked her...."I thought theres no room? how come after much discussion you now have a room available." she told us someone just checked out. (imagine someone just check out 8;30pm? who are you fooling?!!)

They are very inconsistent. Imagine if they can lie with this minor issues how much more on much bigger stuff. I would rather be in a not so well known hotel with honest people, than with this.

Btw. We also have a buffet dinner at the hotel for Rp165,000.00/person. Since some of us arrived half an hour late with the rest..... there is literally no food left on the tray. I even talk to the manager if they will refill the food.

Service is extremely bad, I will never EVER come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

this is my first visit to Novotel Batam. I would like to thank Novotel Batam team for the great hospitality especially duty manager Mr Andre who have made my 3rd anniversary a memorable ones. the room setup was beyond my expectation which made my wife doesn't want to leave the room on our first night. this is something special to share.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 4 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
3.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
0.8 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#14 of 83 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
6.0 mi away
Batam View Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Address: Jl. Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Batam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.