We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reception a big disappointment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Novotel Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 hotels in Batam
singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“reception a big disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

i have rated the property as very good despite the fact that i am completely disappointed with the reception at check in. i was recovering from a surgery and requested an early check in ( having forfeited my inclusive batam tour) to rest but for reasons best known to the reception they insisted that the room will only be ready at 2.00pm. i can understand if it were a weekend when the hotels are generally stretched but on a weekday, i find it difficult to understand the attitude of the RECEPTION STAFF. i have stayed at about 25% of the rated batam hotels and this is my first bad experience and with novotel and me the last as i do not wish to consider this property again.

property deserves very good rating as the rooms are spacious, the staff generally very good, the room amenities very neatly bundled and the overall location is fairly good. albeit a little away from the nagoya area.

Room Tip: get a room facing the courtyard if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    162
    110
    25
    14
See reviews for
67
60
21
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was a good stay but more can be done to let us know the room service price. dont think they have one up on the hotel room and was shocked to know that a Tiger can costs almost S$10!
Unlikely to return unless they have a promo package...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed in Novotel Batam in 2004 with my wife. It has small room, the bed is fairly soft and it is cozy to stay. The service is fair, the breakfast is not very good. It has a swimming pool in the most upper floor. Well i give 3 star.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is located at the fringe of Jodoh section of the town with easy access to the centre of the town. For the rate charged, it is value for money. Only complaint is the temperature setting in the whole hotel (including room) which is rather high and can be uncomfortable at times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have paid for the breakfast online (Accor website) but on actual day, the cafe's staff was not aware of it and I was stopped from taking breakfast. As such, I have to walk to and fro the cafe and reception counter. In the end, the reception had to make a call to the cafe to allow me to have breakfast.

The towels in the room are also quite old as the color of the towels is kind of black.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good Place
Breakfast, Hotel and location was good
Describe the service you experienced
Tell us how you liked the room (Clean)
Talk about the location & amenities (Try Local Food - Nasi Padang)
Say what you liked best & least

Don't Buy Alcohol in Batam (get all what you need from Singapore)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this property back in September 2-3 2012. The place was quite nice but felt abit empty and dull. (maybe is low peak season). There wasn't much happening.Considering I was alone, the room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly, especially the food and beverage supervisor and his staff for making me feel welcome. The buffet breakfast served in the morning was nice.The security guard and the hotel taxi drivers at the hotel was friendly but a bit shady.
A dip in the pool was worthwhile as it cooled me down especially from the hot weather.
Overall I did enjoy this pleasant hotel and will definitely return here. Hopefully I get the room with the ocean view as the only view i got was a squatters area.
.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the lift as rooms facing the back could be abit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Address: Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.