We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money for room stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Batam to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Value for money for room stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stay from 29 to 31 Dec 12 (2 nights), below my review:
Room (exe superior) - big and clean with good wifi strength. Safe, hair dryer, 3-pin socket, kettle, complimentary 2 bottles of water (daily), toothpaste etc are provided.
B/F - Sunday morn pretty messy, tables not clean up fast enough, not enough glasses for drinks, look understaff, Monday morn ok due to less crowd, better service. Food not bad tough selection pretty limited.
Shuttle service: Only 3 timing available one way trip to shopping malls. Miss it, gotta call taxi via the counter which charge higher fees as from road side.
Restaurant - very limited items on menu list. There is also 1 japanese rest. Can go to nearby behind harbor bay terminal (5min from hotel) to have seafood dinner (open at 5pm) at restaurant Wey Wey (reasonable price) but have to pay RP40,000 taxi fare for 5 min ride. Usual is RP25,000. There are also a few others seafood rest along the coast.
SPA - a great disappointment in term of service n ambience. A far cry from Spa secret (near Nagoya hill mall) standard for the same pricing. Counter lady not that friendly, lack professional image, Room is small, dense, not so clean tower, small massage bed with irritating noise when masseur step on it, bathtub make from pebblestones, not inviting at all. Took 90 min Hotstone massage, was burn twice by the super hot stones, the masseur should at least check before applying on my skin. Massage seem to be in a rush, not relaxing at all. Worst she was coughing from start to end ! Ask for receipt, the counter lady don't even have a pen, endup i offered mine, what a joke. Went to use the toilet at the rooms end, stinky urine smell reach my nose before I even reach the door, worst flies is flying around in the toilet. All mood kill by such sub-standard service. Really hard to accept such low level spa standard from brand name Novotel ! No wonder Spa Secret, Isabella n Eska all fully booked while the rooms are empty at the hotels !
Swimming pool - Pretty limited space (indoor only).
Conclusion: A nice place to stay but definitely NOT the hotel SPA.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    175
    122
    29
    18
See reviews for
77
67
23
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a stress-free, comfortable stay and will definitely recommend the Novotel if cleanliness, space, comfort and quality are important to you.

Our room was spacious and clean. Everything was well-maintained and relatively new. The bed was very big and comfortable with clean soft sheets. The couch was new and tasteful, the curtains blacked out, and we slept very well.

Air con worked well and quietly, shower was consistently warm and had strong pressure, towels were clean, and toiletries of decent quality.

From the moment we arrived till we left, I cannot
find a single fault with the Novotel. Every staff was polite and we were able to relax throughout our stay.

Complimentary transport at specific times was very handy and there are plenty of cabs charging standard market rates waiting near the hotel entrance at all other times.

The buffet breakfast included in our nightly rate was good especially by Batam standards and there was a wide enough variety to please everyone. I especially appreciated that I did not have to pay additional for my child's buffet breakfast as we've had to in several other South East Asian hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It gives a comfy feeling when you stepped into the hotel though everything looks aged

When stepping into the room, one can tell the age by looking at the surrounding. Given a small room with sufficient amenities though towel was not available. They came by about 5 mins into when we are unpacking our stuff. Stayed for 2 nights. Was a comfy experience nothing more. No Excellent not very bad. just an average experience

Breakfast was OK but what a selection they have. Staff were friendly and more active compared to other Batam hotels I've stayed

Location wise, is near to the harbour, walkable distance

nearest mall is dull and there is a shuttle bus service to nagoya mall but it only offers 1 way

need to work on that service to improve the quality

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for a night at novotel batam, Booked 3 Executive room, had eariler requested to be on the same floor. Given 2 room on the same floor with a balcony facing towards the sea but 1 of the room given was at back of the hotel without a balcony & view although the room is larger. Spoken to the reception, he told us that I didnt request a seaview room during reservation. As it was one night only, hence I didn't complain much. But during booking & the reservation email. It reflected as Executive room seaview. It is very missleading & not all room come with the view.

Room is huge. but is way too huge that it become empty. Although the room just renovated not long ago with a new standard novotel design, but you can start to see some random furniture at each room. Some balcony come with a set of chair & time. well some without & also a dining table for some room. Which is kind of strange for a four star hotel & it is under accor. Toilet was clean, come with a bathtub & stand in shower but compare the toilet & the room size. I think the wasted space should be place into the the toilet to make it more grand.

Bed quailty, the king sized bed was comfortable & soft. But the twin bed is too tiny & soft .

The seaview & balcony room is facing the mail road. The windows & door are not double glazed hence they are not really sound prove. Having a hard time to sleep with the vehicle & motobikes by pass every min.

Will suggest to get their normal superior room if you don't mind without a view & a balcony. As the superior room are more quiet & some are facing the internal courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had just stayed at Novotel Batam with my girl friends on the 15-16 December 2012. We checked in late about 10:20pm. Hotel was fully booked. We were confused by the Receptionist after saying no connecting room for us and he promise to locate us in a rooms with 2 single beds. To our surprise when we step into our room, we were given a Connecting room however one room is king size bed and the other is twin bed. We took the room and didn't complain much about this.

After that , we called to room service to request them to send us some ice as my friend would like to drink her coke icy cold. To our horror that staff told us we must pay for ICE !! I mean what 4 star hotel will ask us to pay for ICE?? Even restaurant give Ice for Free..

The condition of the room is okay, still look new, with comfortable bed and nice atmosphere. The location of the hotel is not too convenient, but is alright to get a taxi around Batam as the places are close by.

The Breakfast selections is a lot, but due to lack of staff, the food are all finished and not replenish in time making some guest just staring at the empty bowl.

Overall, the service is bad, but the room is still ok..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

I plan for just 3 nights short vacation and decide to stay in Novotel batam due to the street deals promotion , offer only $69 per pax for 2 day 1 night . I extend another 2 might by my own. $80for ext stay per room.room rates is attractive.surprisingly hotel interior look new and clean even majority of comment not really good in trip advisor.room really clean and offer us king size bed with large window.nice view like sea view.tv channel selection is good with movie channel and Singapore favourite channel 5 & 8. Hotel have a lot facilities like indoor swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym, complimentary shuttle service, wifi.....really is good choice for short stay in batam..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Address: Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.