We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Batam to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The exterior of the hotel may look old but the rooms are really nice,clean and equipped with all necessities. We had breakfast by the pool athough there's nothing fantastic about their indoor swimming pool. Breakfast was so-so, could have more varieties.

I liked the hotel, will go back there again the next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    176
    124
    29
    18
See reviews for
81
67
24
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was average. But average can actually be good considering the city it is in.

It is decent for room in layout and look. One thing that boggled my mind was the bedding and towels. Just seem old and used and not replaced. The towels especially...

The breakfast and restaurant are okay. I didn't venture outside (only there 1 1/2 days) so I don't know how good the location is.

If I was going back I may try a different hotel, but I am not positive I would get a better hotel. The price of this hotel was pretty good so there is value in staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is my second time staying in this Accord property. The last was in Aug 2012.

This time, the arrangement was much better as I have booked total 5 rooms and I managed to get 3 out of five close to one another and out of the three, 2 are connecting rooms. I find it strange though why the hotel cannot arrange to put all the five rooms close to each other especially I have already give my credit card for room confirmation?

This stay, 13Oct12, everything was ok except that the WIFI signal in the room were weak. Hope this can be improved.

The breakfast was ok, but, this time, I was annoyed as I found a cockroach crawling on the coffee cup on the table. The cockroach was about the size of half inch in length. Not sure if bigger can be found. Hope the hotel can step up its hygiene aspect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed in many hotels in Indonesia as well as abroad, and I stayed often in Accor Group hotels (Novotel is one if them), but I've never encountered with such terrible experienced I have in Novotel Batam. I was planned to go a 3 days business trip to Batam, and this was my first trip to Batam. I picked Novotel over other 2 hotels that also well known because of Accor and Novotel's big name. But that impression only last first 3 minutes!

When I arrived, the FO staff was quite good, and she asked me a deposit for mini bar, I said how if I use debit card instead of CC, she reply, if you used debit, we can not refund it sir, with some annoying attitude. and i choose not to open my deposit, I said you can closed my mini bar, she replied again, now with more fierce tone, OK sir, you will be escort by Bell boy and he will CLOSED your mini bar. after that she left me stand in front of FO waiting for no one to come. so I sat in couch trying to get some wifi connection.

This is other problem, when I use my gadget to access wifi, it always request user name and password, so I asked again to FO staff (other woman), and she said, no need sir, we are using no need password wifi access, so I sat again and try to resolve my gadget access problem, but still it said password, so I asked again, and she said (again with uneasy tone), NO NEED Sir.. so I snapped, I said..LOOKED AT THIS GADGET..IT SAID PASSWORD, WHY WOULD I LIED TO YOU.. i said...and still she said...why this is happening sir??? what the [--]? I SHOULD BE THE ONE THAT ASKED YOU..not you asking me some STUPID question...so after minutes she gave me the OLD passw...and it worked....what i want to emphasize here is not the small problems i ENCOUNTERED but the ATTITUDE of your staff...I dont see much smile in their faces, always gloomy and qrouchy kind a look...

Overall, room was OK... bathroom quite dull.. good and nice toiletries.... so-so breakfast with poor placement of food stall.....stAndart tv cable channel with bad connection.. very poor wifi signal in rooms...

In the end... maybe I will chose other hotels than Novotel in my next visit... still i can get more smile with cheaper price in other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Overall a decent hotel with good facilities and friendly staff. Very close to Harbor Bay where good restaurants and sea port could be found.

Check-in was a breeze and room was clean. Sleep quality was good due to quite room and comfy bed.

Meeting room was good with good facilities. Food and drink served at the coffee break had good variety.

Quality and variety of complimentary breakfast was amazingly good.

Now to things to improve: bath tub in the room drained very slowly. Called for repair and staff promised to send somebody to fix it. Left the room before the staff came to fix it only to return to the room finding that it had not been fixed. Pretty disappointing. Used the area around the swimming pool to meet some people, apparently this area was the smoking area of the hotel; unfortunately the floor was full with cigarette butts and ash. If it had not been due to these two things, I'd have rated the hotel as very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Address: Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.