We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & modern. Good food & good service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Novotel Batam to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Batam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean & modern. Good food & good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for one night as part of a weekend package tour. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean, modern decor and the peaceful atmosphere (despite its location within the town).
There was ginger tea on free flow (which we thought was a nice touch). So we chilled out in the comfy lobby before dinner. No need to go outside the hotel for food, as they were holding a Mexican-theme barbecue and buffet that night - complete with live music. The quality of the food was very good and the choice was excellent. It was also quite amusing to see the Indonesian staff dressed in ponchos and sombreros!
The room was very clean and everything was in working order, although the bathroom did tend to flood when using the shower. The beds were also quite hard.
Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    170
    116
    27
    18
See reviews for
71
66
22
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The room and facilities were up to normal Novotel standards but the price was definitely good value. The free shuttle bus to Nagoya Hill Mall was only one way - you have to make your own way back. There is a charge for wifi but there is one complimentary internet computer in the lobby, although it wasn't always reliable. While you're there, you have to look at the hotel across the road - it's built like a very convincing cruise ship but in concrete!

Room Tip: It can be a very long walk from the lifts (elevators) to the rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

decent hotel but given the name Novotel, it's not like the rest. eager to please staff but that does not mean they know how to handle queries.

when checking in, ask them about the spa. we were given free spa voucher for 1hr massage.

Room Tip: get one near the lift for convenience or you may walk one big round
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in Novotel Batam in December 2011.. we were given 3 rooms on the second floor for 3 couples. they were most accomodating to give us rooms that were side by side although at first they say it couldnt be done. =) staff were polite and extremely helpful when we kept asking them stupid questions. (this is the test of a good customer service). haha..

the valets can speak good english.

the rooms were big and spacious and the rooms were all up to our expectations!

we got the standard rooms however breakfast was really nothing much to shout about.. it was the usual fare of eggs, pancakes, noodles, rice, porriage.. etc.. things that you can find in any hotel.

if you go there, make sure to make a trip opposite of the hotel to their mini mart or the nasi padang store beside the mini mart for a good and cheap lunch. try their mee goreng!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The services and room is good. The room is big and with a nice living room. Is like I am back to home. Will recommend to all friends and couple to stay at this novotel hotel. Location is near to harbor bay terminal. Also, novotel have bus services to nagoya hill shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My friends and I had a terrible experience at Novotel Batam. Our travel agent had booked two rooms 3 weeks earlier - 1 superior room and 1 executive room with extra bed. At first, they (Novotel BATAM GROs) said that they need 20 minutes to clean both rooms, but we didn't know that their 20 minutes would mean AN HOUR and 30 MINUTES. And so I decided to make a follow up on the rooms, 2 among their 3 guest relations staff told us to wait. And again we waited. Their customer service sucks, and in the end, they told us that only the executive room is available at the moment, and that they would just deliver us the key for the superior room once they finished cleaning it.

Yeah, it took them almost 2 HOURS to CLEAN AN EXECUTIVE ROOM. We didn't have a choice and so all of us went to the executive room, and in our shock, the extra bed was not there! I called almost 10 times for a freakin' bed and all they said is "okay, okay, okay." And guess what, it took them another 2.5 HOURS to deliver that extra bed (AND THE BED WAS NOT EVEN NICE AT ALL.).

As for me and my boyfriend, WE WAITED A TOTAL OF of 2.5 HOURS FOR A SUPERIOR ROOM. Tell me Novotel Batam, is this how you make your customers wait in a 4 star hotel? Also, our tour package includes a FREE Dinner at the hotel, but they said that it was not included in our package, whereas it was clearly stated in our itinerary that the hotel includes a FREE breakfast and dinner buffet.

Again, poor us, we didn't have a choice but to pay for a DINNER that was supposed to be FREE. The dinner buffet was SUPPOSED TO BE 155,000 Rupiah. They told us that it would include barbeque, free flow of juice, and a lot more. And when we started to pay, 155,000 rupiah BECAME 180,500 per pax. I asked the person in charge why the amount has increased that much, and she just said that 155,000 DOES NOT INCLUDE tax and service charge. I have checked on their Christmas Buffet Ads, and none of them mentioned that this 155,000 rupiah buffet is exclusive of tax and service charge - FALSE ADVERTISEMENT.

Okay, we paid for 180,500 rupiah per pax. And to our surprise, there are no barbeques and free flow of juices (only water). The food is okay, not much variety and not so enticing. The amount that we paid for is not EVEN worth it.

My friends and I would NEVER EVER stay again at Novotel BATAM. For us to wait very long, for us to be fooled with a false advertisement and for us to eat something that was not worth it just made our stay terrible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Dear Joanne Feliciano,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Batam. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

the hotels good and cleans. and the location also near the wedding place.
the service is nice. the room also clean even the bathroom. the bedroom is nice also
and the breakfast also good.
hope i can stay again in this hotel if i go to batam.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel1946, Manager at Hotel Novotel Batam, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Batam. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novotel Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Batam

Address: Jalan Duyung Sei Jodoh, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Batam 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Batam is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Batam, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Only 45 minutes from Singapore by ferry, the hotel is located in a commercial area facing the sea. For our corporate guests, we offer a businesscentre, meeting rooms and WiFi internet access. Also perfect for holidays, guests can take advantage of our pool, health centre, sauna and Kids Club. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant or a relaxing drink in one of our two bars. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novotel Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Batam
Hotel Accor Batam
Batam Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.