We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Harris Staff Are like Friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Harris Staff Are like Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

When you live and work in Singapore a weekend visit to the Harris Resort is such a relief! I have stayed there often and the staff have become like friends. The welcome is always warm and as a regular visitor I often get little treats like a fruit bowl or an oil burner in my room. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff and Stylianos, the General Manager, is always there to talk to and full of interesting information.I love the sea facing rooms, which give me a sense of space after Singapore. The rooms are huge and I have always found them to be super clean. The beds are wonderful. I love the bath tub, though sadly the plugs don't work very well so the precious hot water often drains away. One bonus is that this is a very easy place to get to, the trip doesn't require any planning, just a telephone call to the hotel and the journey is only 45minutes. It is not a five star resort but it is a value for money one and you can always get a nice massage!

  • Liked — Wonderful Staff
  • Disliked — Price of Food and Drink
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    262
    144
    57
    41
See reviews for
195
258
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My trip to Batam was indeed a relaxed and enjoyable one. I chose Harris purely on reviews on other website, but when i was there to experience it myself, it was truly an unforgetable experience.

The outlook of the resort is very cosy and although it was in the midst of upgrading, the premise is always kept clean and tidy. The food is cheap and good. I was given a Cabanas room, king sized bed, open concept shower area and a nice balcony area with a sea view.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

went to Harris Batam for a spa getaway with my Mom and Sister as a birthday treat.

The Spa @ Harris is great, but the hotel is not so great. On top of the overated facilites and rooms, the food is expensive, everything is in Singapore Dollars. It defeats a purpose of going somewhere away from SIngapore for a cheaper getaway only to be met with something below average and overpriced. One plate of nasi goreng in the hotel costed more than SGD10 (i think it costs SGD15).

Harris is just an overpriced hotel with budget facilities. I would return to the spa but not to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rHiaNy, Food & Beverage Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, January 21, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you fo your comments. It is a norm where any hotel rated their price in dollars, especially where tourists visits all year round, you can name it, like in Bali, this giving any foreign guest more easy to understand rather than makes them confused and trying to calcullate it with their foreign exchanged. Somehow, we can as well exchanged it to rupiahs when necessary during payment at the cashier. Nasi Goreng cost in a hotel restaurant at SGD 15 nett is basically a normal rate for a 4 stars hotel, I believe it will cost the same in any 4 stars hotel in Singapore. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

My trip with my family to Harris Resort is simply unforgettable,from the service to the entertainment,to the food was really amazing.I would and i am recommending the Harris Resort to all my Friends and family members.There was non stop fun for my girls.Truly a great experience.

  • Liked — Comfort, Space.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Harris Resort provides good customer services, 24 hours on the door services and staff are generally well trained to manage problems and issues on the ground.

It is a good place for family to relax, venue for business meeting and location for team building programs.

The only area for improvement is the breakfast menu, it is the same everyday!!!

Overall, it should be rated as one of the best resort in indonesia. Value for money!

  • Liked — STAFF
  • Disliked — Breakfast Menu!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

The staff and employee were all very friendly, everywhere you go, you are sure be greeted by them. I have been to many resorts and find this the best so far. I almost wanted to go again in Dec as I am still hang over it. Harris, keep up the good job, you will sure be seeing me there again. Cheers!

  • Liked — Facility
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singaore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Planning for a romantic but yet inexpensive getaway is what every couple is hoping for, especially when it comes to surprises. This is what I have in mind when I was planning a surprise birthday for my husband.

Batam became the most appropriate location of my choice. Not only it is cheap, it is one of the most memorable getaway that we've had.

I read the reviews of others who have been to batam before, and most of the good reviews came from travellers who've been to Harris. Impressive, I must say; and there's no doubt about it.

Service rating is 10/10, friendliness is most excellent over there. Though things may be a little expensive (in SGD) in Harris, there are much more to explore in town.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a warm and friendly smile and service by the hotel management. Given a lightly scented wet-towel which was much refreshing and a thirst quenching bandung drink we were impressed by their professionalism. Surprisingly, there were no obligations when we requested for an upgrade to a CABANA!

We got our room shortly after that, and were very delighted that it was extremely made-up with pralines, fresh orchids and hibiscuses were neatly decorated on the well-ironed bed and sparkling bathtub. Magnificent.

Much to our surprise, ALL the staff in Harris knew our names and which room we stayed in. The way they addressed us made us feel noticed and signficant. We were given rather good service throughout our entire stay there, and every staff greeted us with a smile and acknowledged us, without fail.

The spa - HEAVEN. Ambience was excellent and seriously, it was an enjoyable experience. The massueses were professional, and they understood our needs. My husband loved the Indonesian massage and the milk bath that we took for our package.

What impresses us most is the easy accessibility to most of the places that we wanted to get to. For instance, there is a shuttle bus to Nagoya town (will cost us abt $15 SGD for just one way!) and to the go-kart area ( a must-try there!). This really saved us on our transportation costs.

Another thing to praise is their flexibility to arrange for a transport to Nagoya. There was once that we missed the shuttle bus timing as we were go-karting, but the driver who was supposed to send us back to Harris had agreed to take us to Nagoya, despite missing the 11am transport. Lucky thing he brought us there, for we wouldn't have any dinner if we hadnt been to Nagoya.

There are some improvements that can be done, by the way.

The cabanas have no shelter from there to the main building. Rain or shine, we walk under the sun, unsheltered. Good thing is, they provide us with umbrellas just outside the rooms.

Second point, their bowling alleys are in serious need of renovation. Too small and secluded. It has to be widely known to all customers.

Harris - "simple, unique, friendly" - spells it all out. That's their slogan, and we're fully satisfied of the 3 words being spelled out there. We'll definitely come back for more!

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Comfort
  • Disliked — all prices are in SGD
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.