We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Batam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“second time here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

It was my second time to Harris waterfront, a 2d1n isnt enough to explore the whole harris unless u literally come batam to just stay only at the hotel. Harris staffs were very friendly and welcoming, they speak proper English too. Breakfast buffet was so so, like other usual hotels. Wifi is almost everywhere in the hotel, which is good, not much of a hassle to log in. its near to the waterfront city terminal too. Shuttle bus to nagoya mall got only a few timings, would be better to have more and more to other places, booked the shuttle bus, was late for 10mins, but they were waiting, so nice of them. Massage was to the standard of an Indonesian massage, satisfied with it. Would come back again to explore Harris activities and games.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    332
    187
    67
    47
See reviews for
255
306
26
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The "complimentary shuttle" only goes to the Harbourfront Ferry Terminal, which only has once-a-day ferries from Singapore most days. We had to buy a one-way ticket to Sekupang and then pay for a taxi on arrival. For departure we used the shuttle to the Harbourfront, one-way back to Singapore.

If you can't stand cigarette smoke I recommend not coming. Customs and Immigration employees in Sekupang were smoking a few feet from us, inside the terminal building! This was a shock coming from clean Singapore. Around the pool, at the entrance, and in front of the restaurant there are always smokers.

My wife and I loved the reflexology massage and sort of enjoyed the full-body massage, which had to be given inside our room because of spa renovations.

The resort was a mixed bag.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

http://serenanalogy.blogspot.sg/search/label/%23harrisresortbatam

We stayed 3D2N at the Harris Resort in Batam. My family including 3 young children, 2 grannies, my hubby and I enjoyed the overall experience. We went there during Singapore national day, the place was so crowded with people. Check in took us 20 mins.. I'm happy that my family were entertained by the welcome dance performance (gingham style). It gave a good start to the vacation. With cold towel and drinks offered to them while i managed the check-in with a very kind and patient lady, Uni. She speaks good english and managed to get us an interconnecting room in the old wing. It's a crowd, how else can I asked for.. appreciate it! Another kind gesture by another staff to check us into the room first when he saw that we have young kids. *thumbs up for the attentiveness*

We bought the national day BBQ buffet dinner at $35 per pax. The spread was ok, however the BBQ spread was quite disappointing. For $35 bucks, I would expect better food. The noodles were super saltish. Genuine feedback if better food is served, this resort is sure a-must go.
Furthermore, there was a corporate event at the new wing, which is just a swimming pool apart. Two loud stage performance don't make a pleasant dinner experience. too noisy..

The rooms in the old wing are a little under maintained. The kids loves the bath tub and their comfy beds, so that's a trade off. Housekeeping services were speedy when we reported that there's no bath towels in the room.

The recreation part of the resort is pretty well equipped! My kids enjoyed the ATV ride which they are allowed to be seated in front. The swimming pool was a highlight for the young children by default. We tried the mini-trishaw where my 2 kiddos were in there while I'm riding it. Tiring but fun :)

I brought my little girl for her manicure therapy there. Since it was her birthday celebration. She enjoyed being pampered. The massage which came together with the groupon deal was actually pretty good. all the adults took turn to go and slept well that night. Good thing we reserved early. I think many people were turn away as they are fully booked for the day

For the Dino kids club, i totally agree with the other reviews here. It's time to change those toys.. they are pretty old and dusty. Brought the kids there but ended up creating our own games to play.

Well, there are many activities we have yet to try like pizza making, fun fishing (we were scared by mosquitoes at the Harris-Camp), flying fox, karaoke, tennis court, mini paint ball..
I would say this place is a good place if you just want to spend family bonding time, there are good options of fun to explore and bond.

Room Tip: New wing looks better with newer rooms. Old wings has bath tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenzuela, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed for a night but ai wished I could've stayed longer. The palce is quiet and peaceful. Staffs and helpful, accommodating and friendly. I love the beef rendang and beans. I love swimking in their pool. The view from my hotel window is awesome and breath taking. I super like the place and highly recommended. Baik baik.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed 1 night at Harris Resort Batam Waterfront on the 16Aug'14 with a group of friends last weekend. The free shuttle bus (14 seater) provided came at quite a high frequency. Didn't really have to wait too long to hop on the bus.

Upon arrival, awaiting for you is the welcome dance, drinks, and drinks. Pretty cool. At least we were well-entertained for a while as we wait to be check-in. However, the process was just too long. It took us almost 1 hour over the counter (excluding the queuing time) to check in. It wasn't pleasant since most of us were tired and hungry, and it was especially tough for the children and the pregnant traveller. Lucky there was WIFI, so we could at least keep ourselves entertained with our mobile phones.

When we received our keys, all of us brought our luggages to the old wing only to realise that our rooms is actually at the new wing. It would have been good if the reception has given a gentle reminder on our rooms. So much time was wasted that we had to forgo some planned activities.

If you want to play bowling, try going during the day (before dinner time). That's when it is less crowded. The pools were pretty empty with lots of space to move around.

The rooms was pretty spacious. Lots of space to move around. WIFI connectivity in the room is also pretty strong. Although the air con kept the room cool, the noise coming the compressor can be a bit loud sometimes. A pity that my balcony door can't be opened. If not, we could have let some fresh air in, instead of just relying on the air con.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the beach if you prefer your room to be quite. Room facing the pools can be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very friendly personnel, large clean room (in the old wing and no problem with airconditioning), great pool, friendly relaxed atmosphere (mainly families and young couples from Singapore). Food was also good, but unlike the hotel relatively expensive. The area is fascinating, completely dilapidated waterfront city nearby - I enjoyed a walk to this strange place, but most guests just stay at the hotel and then you don't even get to see it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was the first time my wife and I had stayed at Harris Waterfront. We were picked up at the terminal (Waterfront) by the free shuttle bus provided by Harris. The hotel is less than 5 min drive from the terminal. Upon reaching the entrance of the hotel, we and the rest of the guests were treated to a rousing welcome by the staffs who were dancing to the rhythm of Gangnam style. In addition, we were also given a welcome drink upon our arrival. We’ve booked a Trendy suite over at their new wing and were given a room on the fifth floor (highest floor) overlooking the sea. We love the spaciousness and cleanliness of the room and I especially, love the big bathtub that comes with it. The wifi signal was good but oddly, my wife couldn't connect in to Hayday the entire time we were there. The staff was also very helpful and quick when we requested an exchange for the faulty remote. The swimming pool was particularly big and clean and they also have single and double float for you to lie on it while you float around the pool. We love the rain pool as it was much cooler then the rest. Hotel is located far from town/shopping centers and you could either take the hotel shuttle bus @ S$10 per pax for 2 way to Nagoya (2 timings a day) or take a Taxi (130,000 Rupiah for a 1 way trip to Nagoya / BCS mall) to a location of your liking in Batam during any time of the day.

The breakfast buffet spread does not have much variety but was still satisfactory. I was however pleased with the egg counter section where I do not need to queue too long to wait for my eggs to be prepared and served. Coffee are served freshly through their coffee making machine with a selection of Coffee, Café Latte, Cappuccino for you to select from. We had lunch over at Delima Seafood (took the Hotel feeder bus to the terminal and another 5 min walk to reach the place) as there weren't any other places to dine at in the afternoon and was pleased with the quality of the food.

We ordered room service ( Meat Lover’s Pizza) for dinner on our first night and we were particularly impressed by the tastiness of the pizza. We decided to pay a visit to Harris Café on our second night to try our their Pizza once more and were surprised to find out that their pizza are being cooked via a traditional masonry oven ( brick oven). That probably explained for the extra tastiness in the pizza. We ordered a 3 musketeers pizza this time round and my wife asked for extra cheese toppings, which was gladly catered for by the chef for free. We also ordered a sirloin steak and was quite happy with the portion served.

We paid a visit to their spa but did not try out their services as the prices were pretty high (as compared to those spa parlous located in BCS or Nagoya). Spa staffs however did informed us that part of their spa are undergoing renovation and with effect from September, all guests are entitled to free usage of their jacuzzi and sauna.

Overall, our 3 days 2 nights stay was pretty pleasant and we were greeted by smiling and friendly staffs everywhere we go. We would also like to express our gratitude to Ms Linda who has been most helpful with our accommodation. In addition, when she learned that the stay was meant to be a birthday celebration for me, she had a cake delivered to our room on the second day of our stay. We are very sure that we would make a trip back to Harris Waterfront again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#6 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles . Asia's one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, ATV , Jet Ski, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Two outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.