We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low standards” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Low standards”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The stay in this resort was below expectations and the standards have reduced in the last 5yrs from my first visit. The massage was offered in the room and not in their spa area. Their spa area is said to be under renovation but when visited it was in a very bad condition with overgrown plants everywhere. Apparently, we heard from one of the staff that the spa has been closed down for about 9 months now. We were suppose to stay for 2 nights but decided to shorten the stay to one night and moved to another hotel in town. The breakfast was below average as they mentioned it was an International breakfast; there were no meat served except for sausages, cold cuts and crab meat soup despite 20 over selections. Our room was at the Trendy(newer) side but the air-con was leaking through out the night. We will not go back to the resort again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Harris Fan JS Raman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal views and opinion about your stay in our property.

We have taken note of your comments and feedback and please allow me to say that our SPA
has not been closed since 9 months ago and you can see also a more recent review in December 2013 mentioning about the excellent treatment guests had during their stay with us and we are wondering where you have received the information from.
Our breakfast buffet spread has a lot of items inclusive of meats and cold cuts and has been enriched with additional bakery items lately.
We apologize if a fault on equipment occurred during the night and for future reference note that
we have 24hrs maintenance service if anything urgent occurs.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players


HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    297
    166
    62
    46
See reviews for
223
277
26
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

It depends, I guess, if you're paying the regular rate, or the groupon rate . Harris probably is suited for big families on a short getaway..Set your expectation right..

The good:
Swimming area is large, and inviting.. Kids will like
Staff were friendly and helpful, and always with a smile.
Food is good for us.. wide selection and taste quite decent... Ala-carte expensive though, the buffet packs more value. We enjoyed both lunch and breakfast.
Shooting gallery fun - the rifle is the hero, and so are the friendly chaps manning it. Hint: the makeshift area does put us off at first
Clean toilets, clean large room.
Taxis are spacious and easily available;- just be prepared to pay 260,000 rp for a return trip to Nagoya Hill mall and back.

The not so good
Private beach covers a really small area - disappointing.
ATVs need a larger area to roam.
Not much activity to do around beach... less than vibrant mood.. unless you got a group playing beach footie.
Shouldn't advertise kayaking when you only have one kayak and lost the paddle.
Musty smell in rooms (its non-smoking room, by the way), but goes away with aircon on.

Should do something about the outdoor activities.... wished they were managed better.

Room Tip: Look for rooms facing pool, rather than carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Harris Fan,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun.

Thank you very much for your comments and personal opinion about your stay with us shared
with many other travelers.

We are glad that overall your positive points are overcoming the negative ones as you put it and we are glad that your constructive comments will give us the opportunity to improve our services and talk with our vendors investigating some of the issues you mentioned.

We must say that your title is rather confusing and misleading to us since we do not understand the point and meaning of it. We do have different packages applying for different services and we do not distinguish anyone in terms of services if there was a misinformation there.

On behalf of all the Harris Players I would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your holidays and wish you a Happy New Year 2014.


HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a night there to celebrate a friend's birthday. For our twin room, we had a nice view of the pool, beds were relatively comfortable but don't expect too much as it is still a simple resort hotel. 4 of our other friends stayed in a connecting room which was actually catered more for a family with a full size fridge, microwave oven and dining table; but their rooms were facing the sea which was kind of blocked by the trees and developed land. Every room comes with a balcony which was nice.
It is about 30mins from town so if you are planning a shopping trip, this may not be the best place to stay in Batam; but nice if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: For family with children, request for a connecting room; you will have the use of a full size fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Harris Fan,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us and many other travelers and we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do cater for a lot of families and our Family rooms as you have described them they are very good for this purpose as being of a bigger size.

What concerns shopping we do provide the shuttle bus to Nagoya one of the biggest shopping malls in Batam for shopping so there is the alternative for that as well.

On Behalf of all the Harris Players I would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your Holidays and relaxation and I take the opportunity to wish a Happy New Year 2014.

HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a family getaway and it was our first time in this hotel. We were looking for a hotel where there will be activities for the family and we found this hotel on Agoda.com. Based on the description and photos, there were many sports activities such as water sports (motorised and non-motorised), fitness centre, squash courts, hot tub, bowling alley. We did further research on Harris Waterfront website, and found that they do have a list of various activities - hence we decided to give it a go.

However when we arrived, the facilities were to a big disappointment. Our rooms were not entirely ready when we checked in at 330pm. So we waited in another room as we had 4 rooms - However, to our disappointment, one room had a air con leakage, one room had a spoilt kettle which almost caused a spark, and a room had a bad hairdryer which leaks electricity. We also realised that the amenities in the 4 rooms were not consistent (Some had a bolster, some didn't). No big deal, we were perfectly fine with it. But we were really happy and pleased that the rooms were clean (although there were some dirty black stains on some of the duvet covers). And that the condition of the rooms were clean. We also would want to praise the hotel for responding to our request to put our rooms together - and even give us an interconnecting room! This really puts us to much convenience. Our one night stay was relatively ok - since it's a family-catered-resort, we expected to hear kids running up down the corridors, talking aloud and slamming doors - all these were already expected.

During our first day, we went down to the swimming pool, and found out that there wasn't any jacuzzi (?) and the water polo only had 1 ball up for rental - when we tried to borrow the ball, the staff says that the ball has been borrowed. But we saw noone playing. So we had nothing to play with, the kids were bored.

We then went for the banana boat as the ONE and ONLY canoe they have was already rented out. The ATV motor bikes - they only had 2 - were also rented out. Before we went for the banana boat, the man-in-charge told us that it will be 25mins ride, $10 per pax, all the way to the next island and they will make several rounds. So, it sounded great. We made sure that it was 25minutes so we asked him in Bahasa and English and showed him 25minutes?. And he said, yes. We had 6 of us who wanted to go on the boat, so the guy says we have to split 3-3. Fine with us.

So we waited for a while because he had to call for the speed boat, pump up the banana boat, clean the banana boat (which was clearly not used for a while) before we could load the first batch of 3. So, off they go, and being the skeptical me, I turned on my timer.

TO MY HORROR, at 6min 02 seconds, the banana boat was back!! HELLO!? From the 25 minutes, it became just a 6 minutes ride!?

So, we decided to ask the guy, why is it only 6 minutes and they are back? Being unimpressed that we actually timed the ride, he asked the boat to make another round - yeah, another round which took another minute. So what's the whole '25minutes banana boat ride' which he told us before we boarded?

Being greatly disappointed, we asked him, how come the whole trip is only 8 minutes (rounded UP for him) when he told us it was 25minutes. TO OUR HORROR, he replied 'because we drove the boat faster, like really fast. if you want 25 minutes, sure, it will be slow.' How fast, I mean how many knots must you go at, in order to cut traveling time from 25 minutes to 8 minutes?

OH MY GOD. Who on earth takes a slow banana boat. Isn't banana boat = fast activity!? And besides, if that's the case, shouldnt he tell us in the first place? And being on the banana boat, and unfortunately, we were really seasoned travelers and we were not new to banana boats - it is not our first time on banana boat - and hence we could feel, the boat wasn't even going at any fast speed - it was even in fact, quite slow compared to the ones we took before.

And we were charged at a normal price - $60 into their pockets. Great job.

I THINK IT'S A HUGE SCAM. I would strongly urge and gladly advise all travelers to not take the banana boat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jwtravelogue,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your personal opinion and share your holiday
stay with us and with other travelers.

We are glad that overall you are pleased with the hotel services and we are sorry for some aspects that did not reach your expectations.
We have certainly taken note about your comments concerning the banana boat activities and we are sorry to see that there was a miscommunication there which we will follow up with our vendor but we do have a pricelist advertised in the sea sport area with the timings and pricing which should be followed and the maximum timing per ride is at 15 minutes.

On behalf of all the Harris Players we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your stay.


HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I would like to thanks HARRIS Waterfront for making my family's christmas eve beautiful and meaningful. It was indeed not just an ordinary dinner but it was a memorable one and will be unforgettable.

HARRIS arrange this special buffet gala dinner with entertainment, so you have lucky draw and live band and everything, but not just that. There are some performance from the staff and managers and also from a bunch of children from orphanage, who sang you a beautiful choir and move our heart.

It is a rare arrangement that a hotel really care about orphans and ask the guests to involve in the charity. They do a fund raising and of course we were pleased to donate. The way they handle the program make you want to give more to charity.

This was beautiful evening that we ever spent with family, and my kids learnt something from it. Thank you HARRIS Waterfront we definitely will come back. Keep up this excellent effort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear HARRIS Fan Jason T,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for your time and sharing your lovely comments for our Christmas Dinner
party themed "We are the World of HARRIS " and your stay with us.

We are glad that the memories of that evening stayed with you and after all that was the purpose of the Christmas Dinner. We are glad to announce that the money collected that evening thank to all of our guests will be transformed into goods and needs for the Orphans of Viran Sejahtera Orphanage in Batam. We will definitely share photos on our Facebook page HARRIS Batam.
Please allow me to additionally say that majority of performance held that night was from our
HARRIS Players and some songs from the Childrens Choir.

On behalf of the HARRIS players I would like to thank you for spending your holidays with us and most of all we are glad that the Christmas spirit of the day was present and thank you for your donations that are going for a special purpose.

Looking forward to having you with us the soonest

HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is my second time staying in the hotel. It didn't meet my requirements this time. Our pickup van did not come so we took a cab down to the resort.

Breakfast spread was a disappointment. Maybe because I went during the school holidays and there's a good mix of the locals and tourists there, thus very crowded.

The resort was also far away from eating places. Need to cab down to reach one.

BUT


The H spa is love! We took the scrub, massage and bath and it was so relaxing. Murti, my masseuse was awesome! Quality service and I was refreshed after the session.

The pool was the highlight of the day. My baby boy loves it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fan Ida78,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for sharing your personal holiday experience with us and with other travelers oft he world, we are glad that overall your holidays had been relaxing and your baby enjoyed the pool.
Thank you for the positive feedback on your SPA experience and we are sorry if the large crowd
of holiday makers during the school time has disturbed the quietness of your holidays, our Resort tends to be very quiet during weekdays and recommended for real peacefulness for your future visits.

On Behalf of all HARRIS Players thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and look forward welcoming you again,


HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a family getaway recently for 20 person, 10 adults, 6 teenagers, 3 kids under 12 and a toddler. Initially, I tried booking with the reservations, unfortunately they didn't respond. Eventually booked with Agoda and made the necessary changes when I arrived. Tony, at Front Office was most helpful and got us sorted within 15 minutes of our arrival. It was a weekday, so I reckon it wasn't busy. In total, we had 2 family rooms and 6 standard rooms. The family rooms and big a spacious with a 2 singles, 1 sofa bed and a bunkbed for 3 kids, and its a crawl away to the pool. The kids had lots of fun at the pool playing with the staffs and other guests.

Breakfast was simple, food choices was not bad and staff was quite helpful despite the crowd and some guests demanding for a 7-star service.

Lots of things to do within the property but don't expect too much as some things looked very run-down or wasn't maintained properly.

Quite a distance to shopping areas but we had our own local driver, so it wasn't an issue.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and value for money. We are already planning for another huge family trip in March.

The staffs are helpful, friendly and polite. There are 2 of them who really stands out, Tony at Front Office, and Ramli (Rooms Division).

Room Tip: Family rooms are limited but their at the ground floor and steps away to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fan Mozaq71,

Sunny Greetings From the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your so pleasant holiday experience with other travelers
and we are glad that your family outing went so well with so much fun.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed and experienced the HARRIS hospitality at its best
and you have pinpointed two of our HARRIS players for outstanding performance during your
stay with us.

For the future planned family outing do let us know when is it and please ask for our direct assistance through our reservations email at res@harris-batam-waterfront.com

We have taken note of your constructive comments and we will do our best to rectify our services and facilities for the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of all the HARRIS players we are looking forward to welcoming you with us again in the near future.


HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.