We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge nice pool, warm staff but dated rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 71 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Huge nice pool, warm staff but dated rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good - pool was huge, definitely the highlight of the resort. although when i was swimming with my goggles i noticed a lot of moss underneath the pool which meant they havent been cleaning it properly.
- a lot of activities in the hotel
- staff were very friendly and always smiling. this was admirable. they also greeted you when you bump into them.
- buffet breakfast selection was not bad

Bad - we stayed at the old wing thus our rooms were dated. crying for a renovation.
- the exterior of the old wing looks really old and dated and looks misplaced beside the new wing. they should also get rid of that harris resort sign on top of the hotel which is so very outdated.
- naturally as the hotel was old, the hallways and the rooms smelled a bit funky.
- very far from anything. you have to take taxi or the hotel shuttle to nagoya shopping center. this was really an inconvenience although the taxi fare wasnt really that expensive especially if there are 3 or 4 of you taking the cab. from sekupang terminal to harris resort, it's 80,000 rupiah. from harris resort to nagoya, it's 130,000 rupiyah.

We only stayed over the weekend at the hotel so my review above is based on our short stay. on the way back to singapore we took the ferry from batam center instead of sekupang as we went back to nagoya after checking out. the crowd at the departure hall in batam center was ridiculous. so many people probably because a lot of people usually spend the weekend in batam. the terminal couldnt accomodate. there were so many people that the guards turned off the x-ray machine or else it would further delay the queue. so you can imagine how this compromised their safety and inspection procedures.

Room Tip: Request for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Shan_ Abellanida,

Sunny Greetings From the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion for your stay in our hotel
with the so many positive aspects.

We thank you for all the comments and your constructive criticism in order to improve our hotel
services and facilities.
We have taken note of all your comments to be discussed upon our next meeting.
We would like to thank you once again for choosing our Resort for your relaxation and on behalf of all the HARRIS Players we are looking forward to having you with us again.

Harrilsy yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    271
    150
    58
    43
See reviews for
202
263
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Batu Pahat
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stay there 3 days 2 night on 4 - 6 October with family. First when we arrive at Waterfront Ferry Terminal it was rain but they're ready to welcome us at ferry terminal with huge umbrella. The terminal's canopy keep us from rain though, the orange minibus standby there for us. Only takes 3 minutes from ferry terminal to hotel. They welcome us with dance, which is funny and interesting, and everyone seems do effort to cheers us up. We have to queue for check in but it's okay my husband do the registration while i and my kid enjoying the dance, cookies and drink.
We are given a huge room in the first floor, with a doubledeckers bed for kid, and the room has big window facing to big swimming pool.
My husband ordered delicious meat lover pizza, the pizza is great and my kid ask for more.
Then we swam in this huge swimming pool, there is baby pool for my kid also.
They have this shuttle service to nagoya downtown but we didn't take it because we want to spend time just chilling and relax.
The staffs are friendly, smile everywhere, the service is good, I couldn't ask more. And it's great value for money too.
Overall it was a good stay and we definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for family room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Noorashikin,

Sunny Greetings from the Resorts of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your so positive review and experience of
your holidays in our resort.
The word unforgettable does mean a lot to us for the description of services and staff attentiveness in providing the best service and attitude towards the guest.
Our Pizza is the most popular item and our secret lies in our traditional oven that makes it so
delicious.

On behalf of all the Harris Players we would like to thank you once again for choosing HARRIS resort for your holidays and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

the positives, super friendly and polite staff who smiles and greet you everywhere. Was given a cake for our anniversary celebration with my girlfriend.
the negatives, we chose Harris as we wanted to enjoy water sports without the hassle of going out of the resort! But all the water sports facilities are down other than the pool! it should be stated clearly in the website and we would have gotten a hotel near Nagoya Hill! Pool Table and Bowling Lane looks worn. Only Korean Songs in Karaoke. Massage is about the same rate as Singapore. Food in the hotel is definitely overpriced. 125,000 rupiah for a nasi goreng? Thats about SGD$14! Thats even more expensive than having Fried Rice in a good restaurant (eg. Ding Tai Feng or Crystal Jade) in Singapore! I bought nasi goreng at a bar across the street at only 20,000 rupiah.

I will not return again unless the Facilities are up and they give a good discount off their menu. I felt so cheated not able to enjoy the watersports!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fun Ericteng,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for your time taken to share your personal holiday experience in our resort
with many other members of travel industry.

We thank you for the positive comments for the friendliness of our staff and the constructive
comments about the rest of our facilities that we are working on it at the moment.
We are sorry if some aspects of the holiday did not fulfill your expectations but we will do our utmost to bring all up to the standards expected for future guests.


On behalf of all the HARRIS Players


Harrisly yours

Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location of this place makes one less inclined to travel out to the shopping area. So, be prepared to spend most of your time and activities in the resort.

Staff are courteous and more proactively helpful than most other hotels that I have been to. So, I would say that the service is good.

Cleanliness of the hotel, in general, needs to be improved.

Room Tip: For the budget travelers seeking 2D1N/3D2N vacation getaways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jeffrey N,

Sunny Greetings From the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion and review about your holiday experience in our Resort.

We are glad that overall you have found our staff very courteous and proactive as you mention
willing to help and offer a great service.

We are sorry that some aspects such as the location of our property was not up to your expectations but as you mention you can spend most of your times doing all of the activities we are having in the Resort. Additional if you still wish to go for shopping we do provide a shuttle to Nagoya Hill for that purpose.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort for your relaxation.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived as a couple, and stayed in the Japanese Room from 5th to 6th October 2013. Our sole purpose of coming here was just to relax and basically recuperate from the work stress we face back home.

First, we felt that the online booking experience could be made better. The resort could have offered the option of the types of rooms that we want, instead of us having to put it in a "request" and not informing of the extra cost that will be incurred to stay in the Japanese Room. We have set out booking this trip for the stay in the Japanese Room from the initial start and we have already expected an additional payment to be made. However, some tourists may not be open to only knowing of the extra cost after the booking is made.

Second, everything from the ferry ride to arrival at Harris Resort Batam was smooth. This is until we do the check-in. On 5th October 2013, there is an Oktoberfest event that the resort was organising. We made the booking for the "Weekend Escape" which includes not only the free BBQ Dinner, but also the free-flow of beer. However, the check-in counter seem not to know of such an arrangement made by the Management. When the receptionist gave us our dinner ticket, we asked her if it already includes the free-flow beer, but she insisted there wasn't free-flow beer in our booking until she made some clarifications. This made us wait for quite some time at the counter, and it is not good as the subsequent batches of holiday-goers were coming in and queueing behind us to check-in.

Third, during the dinner, the issue on the free-flow beer was still not resolved. When we submitted our dinner tickets to the dinner counter, they only gave us free BBQ dinner. When we once again questioned on the free-flow beer, they insisted again there was no such thing in our booking. After they went to check with the check-in counter at the front lobby, they came back to tell us that we are not entitled to free flow beer. This ended up in us having to go all the way to the check-in counter personally to clarify matters again.

I hope the Management can improve on communication between themselves and the frontline staff. I believe this will strongly improve on holiday-goers' stay in your resort.

Fourth, we went for a 1.5hr massage session at H-Spa. The purpose of going for the massage session was to help us relax from the stress we faced back at work. The massage was done very nicely. However, the masseurs kept talking about how they can only earn more money when customers provide them with tips. We are definitely open to talking with them about how hard they have to work and we definitely appreciate all they have done. But by talking about tips, isn't it counter-productive for us? We want to be de-stressing ourselves, but we end up getting stressed over how much tip we should give them. We are open to giving tips but they do not have to mention so many times that they can earn more when more customers come and give tips.

All is not bad for the stay though. The staff is always very friendly and cheerful. They are pretty fluent in their command of the English language, and are always ready to help us. The free WiFi was a little weak in the room. As I had some work to do on my laptop, and required the Internet, I needed a better connection. I tried looking for the LAN cable in the room, but to no avail. I am so glad that Housekeeping and the two gentlemen who were busy cleaning another room willingly came to my room to help me look for it and got me connected to the Internet quickly. I really appreciate them in doing so. Thank you so much.

The stone bath in the Japanese Room was also great. We enjoyed soaking in the private outdoor stone bath. Bring your own shower gel to add into the stone bath to give it the bubbly effect. All in all, the Japanese Room is definitely a must-try.

Room Tip: Try out the Japanese Room. It is definitely a different experience. But be prepared to fork out an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Smk1984,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for your comments and sharing of your holiday experience with us and other travelers.
We are glad that overall your stay has been a relaxing one and have noted all your constructive comments in order to improve the services offered to our guests.

We thank you for the special mention on the politeness of our staff and the Service offered during your stay with us.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your relaxation and look forward to having you with us again.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was very nice returning back to one of our favourite weekend retreats. The front desk lady, Meli checked us in swiftly and by 12.40 we were in our lovely cabana. Our room was facing the seafront. It was private and very serene. However the biggest let down was the food. Harris Cafe serves low quality cold breakfast. Eggs "sunny-side-up" were placed in a warmer and were left there for hours, instead of cooking them fresh. They had watermelon and honeydew fruit juice but orange juice was only available for long stay guests(?). Food in the warmers were cold. Lunch was just as bad. My husband had nasi goreng spesial S$14 and I had fried garoupa S$15 which was half the size I used to get compared to my 2 visits ago. Not sure if its the food or the water that caused my husband several visits to the loo... The dinner was just as bad. We had a vegetarian pizza and a calzone. The crust was dry and tasteless. The zucchini and aubergine were not grilled and so they tasted raw. Sliced raw onion was also thrown in even though it was not in the description. Conclusion: This bad experience has left us no choice but our decision for the last visit to Harris!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Harris Fan SarahK,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion for your holidays in our resort with other member of the travel industry.

We are sorry to see that your holidays were not up to your expectations and this caused to our
restaurant mainly as the rest of your stay from check in to rooms where up to your expectations.
More over please do drop me an email should you wish to discuss further as we know you have been with us more than one times and definitely would like to use your constructive comments in order not experience similar incidents in the future.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you for staying with us and do hope to be able to have you with us in the near future again.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First of all, i made a wrong move to choose this one without going through the reviews here. This resort is too far away from Nagoya Hill Shopping unless you plan to hide in this resort all day long. Everything was expensive which does not make sense, the management better think twice before every customer runs away. The dinner buffet cost me $36 SGD for 2 people and the variety is a joke, so did the taste of the food. If you do your maths right, paying for a better hotel in the city might actually save you more compare to staying here not mentioning the time wasted on journeys.. The transport here and there is a total rip-off. If you take a taxi it's $16 per trip, even the taxis off the road would rip you off asking for 100k rupiah.

The whole deal is do not ever come here again, this resort has nothing to offer. The smiles of the staff did comfort abit and not forgetting the nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Philip1919,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience at our resort.
We are sorry that the location is a bit out of the center this is why we provide our shuttle and
is only a twenty to thirty minute ride so there is no need to take taxi unless you want to have an independent timing.
We have taken note of all your constructive criticism and your personal opinion about the pricing
which of course we cannot compare hotel pricing with outside restaurants and vendors.
We thank you for mentioning our lovely staff for the courteous service and our swimming pool as it is he biggest one in Batam.

On behalf of all the Harris Players

Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.