We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harris Mangrove Resorts.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Harris Mangrove Resorts.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The bus that picked us up at the ferry terminal has a very low roof and the seats were not properly bolted down.Upon arrival at the front desk,there were some of the resort's employees doing as what they called a welcome dance.Let me tell you that it was really noisy not to mention some of them were out of step.With all that shouting and music in the background it was very difficult to converse with the front office staff during check in.I had to literally shout because the front office staff cannot hear me and i could not hear them.I checked into a Cabana(sea facing).When i opened my window to look at the sea i got a rude shock.They(Harris Resorts) calls it Sea facing,i call it MANGROVE SWAMP FACING.There is nothing but mangrove swamps and to add insult to injury in the fore ground it has endless Shipyards.The rooms in the Cabana are really run down.The toilet overflows and the air-con does not work.The taxi ride to town cost $17 Singapore dollars one way.I had buffet lunch in the hotel for $25,They had very little spread for lunch.The most ridicules price is for a young coconut which is $5.They(Harris Resorts) seem to love Singapore dollars.I was served buffet breakfast which was included in my room bill.The restaurant was divided into two parts,so i went into the place where they have Bacons.I asked a waiter there if i could bring the Bacon out and eat in the other half of the restaurant. His answer was No,because Halal food was served there.Then came a waitress and spoke very loudly,she said that the Non Halal place is only for Long Staying Guests and if i want she will charge me $ 10.All this she was saying within everybody in the restaurant hearing distance.She made me look like a total idiot.The resort should inform their Guest in advance about the Halal and Non Halal sections to avoid any misunderstanding.There is no sea sports whatsoever.In a way that is correct because it is difficult to have sea sports in Mangrove Swamps.The only activity is the Flying Fox.The Spa is located at the end of the resort.It is at almost the Fifth Floor level with no elevators.The only way to get there is by the long and winding stairs from the ground floor.My parting words to Harris is please change your name to "HARRIS MANGROVE RESORTS"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    268
    147
    58
    43
See reviews for
201
260
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Harris Waterfront over the national day long weekend. Took a ferry to batam sekupang.. took amost 45mins to clear customs.. trust me the immigration department is really slow.. be it arrival or departure.. anyway my family and i was picked up by a friendly driver who had to wait for us also.. help us load our luggage up and we set off.. took us about 15mins to reach n we were checked in swiftly.

Had their famous pizza n its to the bowling alley and there was also a M16 shooting range which was fun.

We had dinner buffet and performance followed by fireworks right in our face which the children loved it..

Things to take note.
Service standard is excellent. Be early for breakfast as it can be very busy and u have to wait for food..

There are games for adults n kids. Ask for the timings.

Downside- Souvenior shop does not have stuff for kids.. =(

Overall its worth to go n have fun, relax n sleep.. the bed is nice to sleep. Shiok sia..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Gab_Rulez21,


Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and any future
traveler wishing to visit our resort.
We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stayed and make special mentions on the quality of our services and our friendly staff and atmosphere throughout our Resort.
We are glad to see that you did not waste any time to enjoy our famous Pizzas and the Sport facilities offered around in our property.

We have certainly taken note of your constructive comments as well and we will do our utmost to rectify the services and improve them to offer a better service to our clients.

Looking forward to having you with us again on behalf of all the Harris Players.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Services quite okay.
Facilities quite bad though, swimming pool water quite turbid, shower area is staff's locker room, and it is not working.
No signboard to point out the changing room,toilet, shower area. No lighting at swimming pool, and their hotel signboard too.

No nice beach, or maybe i expect too much.

Can't find the water sports as described.

Room is okay, quite spacious too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Harris Fun Stacey_wn,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion with other travelers
about your stay in our Resort and your general feedback to us about your stay.

Thank you for your comments on our spacious rooms and we are sorry to see that some areas in
your stay were not up to your expectations.
We thank you for your constructive feedback and we will do our utmost to rectify any areas
we can to upgrade our services to the guests.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


HARRIsly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Check in was slow due to the amt of ppl checking in at same time. Had to wait abt 30 mins before its my Turn. Was upgraded to the cabana suites as this was my first trip to the hotel. Room looks ok but upon closer look, u can see how run down the place is. Toilet ceiling is dropping black particles due to the rust. Water needs to run for a while before becoming clear. I wondered if the bed sheets were changed before the next guest came in as I feel itchy thru the night. The outdoor balcony is dusty so didn't make use of it. Rm service was good but a but pricey. Mart in the hotel charges exorbitant rates. Do not buy anything from there unless necessary. U can travel to Nagoya city for s$25 2 way but we gave it a missed. Had dinner instead at a near by seafood restuarant -delima. Was charged 40+ sing for a seafood dinner with crab, prawn, gong gong and vege. Reasonable I guess. Nothing much to do here except chill out. Pool is very crowded as lots of company events. As my subject goes only good for staying 2 d 1 n.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jl 1515,

Sunny greetings from the resort of smiles where all is pleasure and fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinion about your holidays and stay with us and we have noted all comments that you mentioned and those are to be discussed upon our next meeting.

We are sorry to see that you had some doubts and suspicions in the provision of our services
that were offered and I believe that this is a totally personal view.

We would like to thank you for brining up all the points seen from your behalf and we are going
to look into your constructive criticism.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay for my Company's outing.

The staff are all very nice and friendly. The hotel management made sure that all our needs are attended to immediately. Outside the hotel, they also arranged for our return trip ferry boarding passes, and customised city tour.
We were also served with a very good buffet dinner + steamboat. The best part of our stay was the free bowling which we used at night. Our rooms are standard rooms in the new building. The rooms are clean and of decent size. Other than the above, the swimming pool is big with a lot of available water games. We just had a problem with some of the electronic locks of the rooms are not working, but the hotel staff extended immediate assistance to fix them.

Overall, we had a nice experience and I would recommend this hotel to large groups.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jpaguntalan,

Sunny Greetings from the resort of smiles where all is pleasure and fun.

Thank you very much for your nice comments and for sharing your holiday experience through
your company's outing to our resort.

We are glad that everyone had a great time and that you enjoyed your stay along with all the other services provided the meals and activities.

We would like to thank you once more for your special mention on our staff friendliness and courtesy extended during your stay with us.

On behalf of all the HARRIS players we are looking forward to having you with us again.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Riau, Indonesia
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Harris Resort Batam has a giant pool.. and I found myself enjoying explore every corner of the pool, despite it's a shapeless round pool. The sunset was beautiful, there's a beach with pines everywhere. I'm a local but when in Harris Resort it feel that I'm in some beautiful island. The staff were friendly and cheerful. The food was great, and enjoyed bowling game with my friends.
Definitely one of best experience that I ever had. And value for money too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Harris Fan ApriliaFerdia,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and also other
members of the travel community.

Thank you very much for all your comments and indeed our swimming pool is the largest in Batam once in it you tend to forget all the worries of daily life.

We thank you also for your comments on the relaxed and friendly atmosphere in our resort and
even though as you put it as being local we do have many fans that are Indonesians and do come and relax in our Resort for also fun and dining.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we do look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort WAterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was there last week .

The resort shuttle van (in bright orange) was already there while we were clearing the immigration. It took about 5min drive to the resort. As it was a weekday, the resort was quiet. Check-in took about 10mins.Was given a ground floor connecting rooms (4adults & 2kids) at Trendy wing. Rooms were big & clean (comfortable King size bed/twin bed with a crouch ) but the shower curtains in the bathroom with bath tub had a moist smell. The other room was with standing-type shower area.

The kiddie pool (just outside our rooms) is clean but the tiles were rough. Both my girls had a few abrasions on their delicate toes. Adults' skin are more 'tough' so no abrasions. Overall, the other pools are considered clean & tiles are not rough.

There are a cafe (local & international )& a korean/japanese in the resort. Food in their cafe is expensive, ie (S$10) for a plate of fried rice. Howver, the thin crust pizza is nice (ie. S$14 pizza (with meat).

Their spa, bowling alley, Kids' club are housed in another building. Our package included a 60min indonesian massage, it was quite relaxing but their massager would hint for tips when the session was almost done.

We went to Ngoya shopping mall with their scheduled shuttle service (30mins a way). Food are relatively cheap.

The day we checked out was a Saturday, quite a no of people came to check-in.

We took the shuttle back to Waterfront City Ferry Terminal. (Our return booking was done by the resort).



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Harris Fan GiantBaby,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments about your stay with us and we will certainly
look into the points mentioned for rectifying our services to our guests.

Our Pizza is our Signature Dish and it is a must when you are in Harris to taste this delicious
item.

On behalf of all the Harris Players we look forward to having you with us again.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#2 Best Value Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.