We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 69 hotels in Batam
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Was rather looking forward to the batam trip. Thinking is gonna be a getawat from work and having a relaxing holiday. Staff there is friendly. And i was glad there's someone there to pick us up at the ferry terminal. Guess there's too many of us so he actually have to make two trip. Check in was alright. They upgraded me to cabana suites. Was a little walk from the reception to room. Once entered the room, the first thing i look at is the bathroom.
there's lots of insects in the bathtub and even spider in it. So fine. we try to get rid of it. Well.. is a resort after all isn't it? Anyway i'm working in a resort as well so i don't really mind about that. The toothbrush and paste was totally.. omg!! maybe we're more used to higher standard? But looking at what they place there really makes me scare of using it. so fine. Me and my girlfriend thought we're just go get our own later.

After the shop at Nagoya Hill and Batam Centre we headed back to the resort. Maybe i'm little tired or not use to the things in batam i kinda down to fever. We went to reception to give them our ferry ticket and to collect our passport.We haven had our dinner so thought of having the pizza that we're entitle in the room as i'm not feeling well. I double check with the reception if it is possible to be order in the room he says YES. And we headed back make the call and room service person say we actually have to dine in. I was pretty upset over it as i'm already having a bad fever all of the sudden. And now i gonna walk all the way back again? But seems like we don't have much Choice. so we headed back.

After dinner i wanted to have a good shower and take my panadol head to sleep. To my surprise.. The showerhead is not working.. i tried to tap the sink it does't seems to work? so i jus gonna use the glass and cover it. Best of all. There isn't HOT WATER which i needed the most.

Heading to bed i found out there's BLOOD STAIN on the blanket!!!
If this is the kind of upgrade they're giving me. i rather stay in the deluxe room!! i was totally disappointed at the point of time.

Following day, we headed for breakfast.. Their breakfast selection is so so so so limited. And most of the food is cold. A young lady approached us asking us to help them with the feedback form. i wrote quite a few points. Till today. i'm still waiting for them to give me a good explaination!!!

  • Liked — The Staff is really very friendly.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admiring, Director of Sales & Marketing at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2008
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us.

We highly appreciate your feedback toward our facilities and the service at our resort, which is crucial for us to improve our standard of service and guest satisfaction.

All the point that you mentioned in the feedback comment has been investigated and actions to improve those feedback has been taken with the department concerned.

We apologize for your negative experience at our resort and we would like to invite you and girlfriend to stay with us again. We aim to improve your opinions of the Harris Resort Batam with a complimentary one night stay including breakfast for two persons and one hour Indonesian massage at our newly renovated H Spa.

Please inform us in advance, in order to reserve your room, we are working to ensure that you will have a pleasant holiday with Harris Resort Batam

In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcome you back at Harris Resort Batam, please feel free to contact us for further assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    271
    150
    58
    43
See reviews for
202
263
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Just got back from a 3day2nites trip to Batam. My family and I stayed at the Harris Resort. Sigh! If you bring kids, you may want to stay a little longer to enjoy the trip. Anyway, we enjoyed ourselves despite certain hits and misses throughout the trip. The ferry to Batam from Harbourfront, Sinapore was packed but luckily the journey was short. Go early to get to pick and choose your seats.We were surprised when we arrived at the Waterfront City at Teluk Senimba, Batam. Instead of waiting at the long queue to clear immigration, someone from Harris Resort came to help us and to bring us to the resort. However, we had to give our passports to them and that made us a little uneasy.Harris Resort was a mere 5 minutes ride from the jetty.I was a little miffed with the 'long' check in until I realised that I forgot to switch my watch to Batam time which was 1hour later than Singapore.The service was good and we were upgraded to cabana from a double room. A little downside was the cabana was a long way off from the main building. Not too good if you were tired from a long day of walking. The room was fantastic except for a malfunctioning fan and a friendly milipede! Despite telling the reception twice,nothing was done. Thankfully, the air conditioning and the weather were fairly cooperative! Currently, Harris resort is being upgraded to a bigger resort which will complete in 2009. So, you can smell the fumes from the machinery from the swimming pool. Then again, this is the first time that I had snacks delivered to me at the poolside by service staff in a rickshaw!! Many shortcomings are compensated by very enthusiastic staff. My daughter was a little intimidated by the friendly staff who tried to talk to her.There aren't many things that we did except shopping at Nagoya Hill. The downside to this was you have to take a 25 minutes taxi ride out(S$15 pertrip)each time. Harris resort is far from town. All in all we had a good time. With just S$400(excluding rooms and ferry rides),our family were able to enjoy shopping and fairly decent meals, not to mention the 2way taxi trips for 2 days. However, food at Harris resort is fairly expensive and is pegged to S$. So, to save $$,we had our lunches in town and packed our dinners back to hotel. I will certainly go to Batam again and Definitely without any kids!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, flexibility in arrangement
  • Disliked — distance from town, expensive food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

i stayed at the harris resort in batam to attend a 4 1/2 day (4 night's stay) seminar.

i was highly impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff were. everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. and indeed we felt very much at home. it felt as if the team was one big family.

i used the foot reflexology three times, each time i was impressed by the knowledge and expertise of the practitioners. i can highly recommend them!

a big thank you to stylianos and his team for making this seminar and our stay at the harris resort a very memorable one.

the harris resort is a three star resort, but the service and friendliness of the staff is more than five stars.

susanna

  • Liked — friendliness of staff & pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

When we talk about friends, we often say, "it's not when times are good that counts but when something goes wrong".

This really applies for Harries. Don't get me wrong, their service is almost flawless at the more than acceptable pricing they offer. It's just that when my girlfriend lost her Sarong (Towel), though it nothing expensive, Harries got almost all their staff to start searching!!! Imagine how touched and shocked we were when we saw so many people searching for something that may cost less than $10USD. Naturally, as the Sarong had some emotional significance to my girlfriend, she was more than happy, though embarrassed, by what happened.

With regards to the resort itself, it has one of the better "full packages" available and the General Manager, Mr. Stylianos A. Koureas, is always walking around making sure everyone is enjoying themselves. The best part is that he offers honest reviews and advice on what guest may find interesting and what to avoid based on individual preferences. It's always good to check with him on latest happenings and he's always more than happy for a chat.

Everything's taken care of from paint-ball fights, flying fox, bowling, massage to the wonderful view of the sea from either your room or from well, relaxing constructed sea-side houses. Can't wait for the new wing to be opened.

Unlike other resorts I have been to, Harries seems to be more concerned about keeping clients happy more than anything else. When people from our group wanted to do activities which Harries do not offer, transportation was made available to us to bring us to the location. The Pasta was really great (Not surprising given the GM's Italian heritage) and ,like the activities in the morning, when another member of our travel group wanted local seafood, Harries gave a recommendation and brought us there.

In travel, it may sometimes be difficult to get what you want and to make sure nothing "screws up" but at Harries, these guys go all out to make sure you have a good time regardless of any good or bad things that may happen along the way.


Cheers to ya
VinX

  • Liked — The great seaview and open-air bath
  • Disliked — The Air-condition wasn't cold enough in day
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Last I went Harris, Batam, was in Nov 07. Just went back over the Vesak Holiday long weekend. Wow! Was surprised at the various new changes over there: a H Grill (Great western food like the tenderloin, Rosemary chicken, mashed potato, desserts like Creme Brulee (must-try), etc), new furnishings @ the restaurant & poolside (see photos), newly equipped gym & spa facilities. The place is getting better with all these exciting changes.

The staff & management are still as friendly & helpful. The Cabanas are very spacious & new. Great vacation place for families, couples, group of friends & company gathering.

  • Liked — Clean, Great food, friendly & helpful staff, great pool
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.