We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like a big family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Batam
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“like a big family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

i stayed at the harris resort in batam to attend a 4 1/2 day (4 night's stay) seminar.

i was highly impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff were. everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. and indeed we felt very much at home. it felt as if the team was one big family.

i used the foot reflexology three times, each time i was impressed by the knowledge and expertise of the practitioners. i can highly recommend them!

a big thank you to stylianos and his team for making this seminar and our stay at the harris resort a very memorable one.

the harris resort is a three star resort, but the service and friendliness of the staff is more than five stars.

susanna

  • Liked — friendliness of staff & pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    298
    166
    62
    46
See reviews for
223
277
26
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

When we talk about friends, we often say, "it's not when times are good that counts but when something goes wrong".

This really applies for Harries. Don't get me wrong, their service is almost flawless at the more than acceptable pricing they offer. It's just that when my girlfriend lost her Sarong (Towel), though it nothing expensive, Harries got almost all their staff to start searching!!! Imagine how touched and shocked we were when we saw so many people searching for something that may cost less than $10USD. Naturally, as the Sarong had some emotional significance to my girlfriend, she was more than happy, though embarrassed, by what happened.

With regards to the resort itself, it has one of the better "full packages" available and the General Manager, Mr. Stylianos A. Koureas, is always walking around making sure everyone is enjoying themselves. The best part is that he offers honest reviews and advice on what guest may find interesting and what to avoid based on individual preferences. It's always good to check with him on latest happenings and he's always more than happy for a chat.

Everything's taken care of from paint-ball fights, flying fox, bowling, massage to the wonderful view of the sea from either your room or from well, relaxing constructed sea-side houses. Can't wait for the new wing to be opened.

Unlike other resorts I have been to, Harries seems to be more concerned about keeping clients happy more than anything else. When people from our group wanted to do activities which Harries do not offer, transportation was made available to us to bring us to the location. The Pasta was really great (Not surprising given the GM's Italian heritage) and ,like the activities in the morning, when another member of our travel group wanted local seafood, Harries gave a recommendation and brought us there.

In travel, it may sometimes be difficult to get what you want and to make sure nothing "screws up" but at Harries, these guys go all out to make sure you have a good time regardless of any good or bad things that may happen along the way.


Cheers to ya
VinX

  • Liked — The great seaview and open-air bath
  • Disliked — The Air-condition wasn't cold enough in day
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Last I went Harris, Batam, was in Nov 07. Just went back over the Vesak Holiday long weekend. Wow! Was surprised at the various new changes over there: a H Grill (Great western food like the tenderloin, Rosemary chicken, mashed potato, desserts like Creme Brulee (must-try), etc), new furnishings @ the restaurant & poolside (see photos), newly equipped gym & spa facilities. The place is getting better with all these exciting changes.

The staff & management are still as friendly & helpful. The Cabanas are very spacious & new. Great vacation place for families, couples, group of friends & company gathering.

  • Liked — Clean, Great food, friendly & helpful staff, great pool
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

The resort is currently undergoing some renovations at the moment. As a result, it was absolutely noisy in the day. The hotel's private 'beach' also turned out to be quite a disgusting affair. Instead of sand, the coast was replaced with rather dirty mud and unsuitable for swimming. Their watersport facility was very close to the hotel, which was good, however, it was grossly overpriced. In fact, everything at the resort was priced according to singaporean standards, which totally defeats the purpose of going to another country developed country for a holiday. Also, the hotel experienced a black out the night we were there. Fortunately, it did not last long as the hotel had their own generator. Sadly, the blackout meant that many of their facilities were unavailable at night, leaving us with nohing to do.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

When we arrived at the jetty, we were rather shocked to be picked up by a chinese (we were expecting locals in hotel uniform/ logo). We went with him since he got our names and hotel right, but throughout the journey (we went in through the more faraway jetty instead of the one 5-mins away from hotel) both me and my husband were fulol of doubts. We arrived at the hotel safely, to much relief.
The Check-in time was fair, deposit is S$50. The welcome drink we got was something like a strawberry milk with a strong yoguat flavor.
We got a pool-set by the hill side view room, it was amazing. The room is big, with a king size bed, but has no coffee table. This came to be a problem when we ordered for room service. Bed, sofa, working desk and tiled floor clean. air-con and mini-fridge working. Orange Rubber Slippers available, that seems to be one of their trademark. We were also surprised that there was no bugs AT ALL in the room, having had experiences with seaside resorts before harris.In fact through out three days in the room, i only spotted one mozzie, no ants, flies etc in the room.
Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the public areas of the holiday, i had several meals where i was disturbed by flying insects. A few areas surrounding the huge and almost always empty pool were infested with ants, though you may need to look closely to spot them as they hide under chairs and tables. Don't go to the pool before noon, or you may be swimming with few fallen flowers and leaves and small flies and big mosquitoes. Amazing but True! (ps. i'm extremely scared of insects...) However Harris remains a notch better than most resorts in their pest control and cleanliness. They mop the floor in your room everyday.
The food in the hotel ranges around 8 to 38 SGD. You can get a decent meal with S$12. I don't like the pizza, despite reviews, but two can share the S$13 pizza if you are not very hungry. The grill is decent at H Grill but the asian food in the cafe is platable. The food in the hotel remainds blant despite its cost, the only food that i'll re-order is the applecrumble with ice-cream from the H grill (S$10, crispy on the outside, tender, soft and creamy for the filling and not to mention ice-cream on tart with chocolate syrup). A thing to mention is that almost all the food are oily. At the end of 3 days, we really yearn for some japanese or chinese food, but when we approached the japanese restaurant, we decided otherwise.
Do not go into the bar in the day, because it also serves as the resting place for tired kids and parents who give free rein to their child to not only scream and run around the bar, but also tried to bury their heads into the sofa i was at. At night, when we were there, there is a live band that enjoys asking the customers to pick a song which they'll sing. A jug of Heinken= S$34, cocktails= 11-14 SGD.
Overall, the experience was okay, but not impressive to let us go back. The service is good, but not memorable.

ps. The water heater remains inconsistent. For that, my husband who has a heart condition and cannot bath in cold water can never go back.
The rate is much cheaper if you book through their website. we saw S$ 112 nett per night when we went to check out online, when we paid S$ 190 per pax for 2N.

  • Liked — No insects in room.
  • Disliked — a very reluctant water heater
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.