We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naked Calendar Girls” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Naked Calendar Girls”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our 2 families of 4 adults and 4 children stayed at the Harris Waterfront Batam for 3D2N and had a utterly miserable time. We did not have high expectations, but the entire resort's lack of maintenance really sets new standards for level of dilapidation. Firstly, one of our rooms (Room 508) was clearly converted from the living room of a suite. Even that is so, why did the hotel not provide cupboard, in-room safe, or even hairdryer? We asked for a hairdryer but it took forever to arrive. When it did arrive, the technician took seemingly forever to install it. The sofa and other furnishings were haphazardly placed in order to accommodate two twin beds. The bedsheets were grey and dirty to the touch. The writing table is also pushed aside blocking the interconnecting door (which we do use). Funnily, the staff said that if we want to use that door, we can inform them and they will unlock it for us. But we discovered that the door could be open freely and it was not lock! If the next door guests are strangers, we would be able to go in and out of their room freely!

We requested for housekeeping as the floor was sandy and dusty when we checked-in. While casually mopping the floor with big Z strokes, the housekeeping staff was also walking around the room in their dirtied shoes. When I requested for slippers for everyone, they only provide ONE pair of worn and dirty HARRIS UNIQUE SLIPPERS!

The resort's location is also most inconvenient as it is far from Nagoya town. Therefore we thought we could simply bum at the resort and enjoy the water sports activities such as banana boat, jet-ski etc that are advertised on the hotel's website. To our major disappointment, there were NO beach activity at all! In fact the entire beach was covered with a huge piece of black torn fabric which seems to be used to soak up oil spillage? The supposed sea sport activities office was abandoned and piled with lots of dirty junk. By continuing to advertise sea activities on its website, the resort is definitely guilty of gross mis-selling.

In addition, the Dino club was in a sad state and the kids weren’t interested. The ATV was under maintenance (again not stated upfront), and the flying fox looked unsafe. We spotted nice new floats at the pool and were delighted. But our delight was short-lived as the floats cost SGD$5 for an hour's rental. There was a pool-bar but it was no longer in service. The bowling alley was also perpetually booked out by private and corporate event. Given the sorry state of the resort, it was no surprise that mosquitoes here were ferocious and defied any sort of insect repellents.

Since there was NOTHING to do at the resort. We decided to venture to the crowded mall which is about 30mins away. As if misleading guests to stay with them isn't enough, Harris charges an exorbitant rate to bring you to where you can perhaps do something. The staff said that shuttle bus rides cost $10 per adult, and kids below 10 years old ride free. The age limit here is lowered so you have to pay for almost everything. To make things worse, while we are paying for the tickets, the staffs sheepishly spoke to one another and then duly informed us that so long as we are taking up a seat on the bus, we have to pay even if the kids are below 10yo. That means we have to fork out SGD80 for a 30min ride? It is hard to fathom that in Batam it costs so much just for a 30min ride. It is certainly more expensive then taxi rides in Singapore or many SEA countries! At this point we began to feel that all foreigners are treated as milking machines. Btw, the buses reek of sweat stench.

Harris resort had one more nasty surprise in store for us. We decided to swim in the morning before checking out. While playing in the pool, one of our girls brushed her arm against the side of the pool wall and suffered a deep gash from something sharp inside the pool. Blood gushed profusely from her wound as it was a very deep cut. We frantically tried to stop the bleeding while trying to find help. However there was only one attendant by the pool, and his job is to give out towels. When we told him to inform his supervisor, his response was “I am new here, only one week. Many children play here and they are all ok. I will write a report, tell me where in the pool she got hurt.” His defensive response made our hearts sank. This incident alone convinced us that no one should ever choose this place.

When I surveyed the pool afterwards, I saw many construction workers working. One was even sawing wood at the centre platform and there were wheelbarrows everywhere. Around the entire circumference of the pool, there were also rusty nails jutting out from the floor every 15cm. It is irresponsible of Harris to allow construction work to go on while not ensuring that the guests safety are looked after.

It is one thing to build a hotel and another to be able to maintain it. For eg. Cameron Highlands Resort is a very old hotel but beautifully maintained. The management of Harris Resort Waterfront aka general manager, clearly does not know what it takes to run a hotel. There were a lot of staff at the hotel but they are largely not trained to do their job properly. Given the useless and token responses I have seen from him here in TripAdvisor, I would expect a similarly superficial, useless and defensive response from him, if he does response at all. Hence, my advice is: If you want a decent vacation, avoid Harris at all costs.

So, you are wondering where are the naked calendar girls in this post? There's none.. Exactly how I feel about being cheated to stay at Harris!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Ilovetowurtles,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your personal review and opinion about your
stay with us.
We are sorry to see the way you describe things and most of all of the inappropriate tittle to your review.
We have certainly taken note of all you have written and we thank you very much for all the constructive comments you have feedback us in order to improve our services and management
skills.
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam is an established property for more than ten years and certainly we are always striving to improve the services hence the renovations you have seen ongoing at our hotel. We are sorry that if in your opinion in the secluded island in the middle of the pool the ongoing work has been a real issue to the security and safety of our guests despite of all measures that were taken for no accident to happen and the task was successfully carried.

In order not to comment more as you describe with superficial defensive and useless comments i would like to thank you for choosing our resort and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay as you describe.

On Behalf of all HARRIS Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    276
    152
    58
    43
See reviews for
205
265
24
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for the great hospitality that you and your team has provided to us on our Family Retreat from the 5th July 2013 – 7th July 2013. My whole Family had a lot of fun and was actually impressed how everything was very well organized. I must say all the credit goes to you and your team who made life much easier for me.. 

It all started from our pick up at Sekupang (Hari) and Batam Centre (Not sure of the name). Both guys we already there ahead of time and greeted us with a smile the moment we arrived. They even assisted us to book our return tickets without much hassle. When we arrived at the hotel everything was well organized at we all had our own booking numbers and the staff was very fast to get us all the rooms even before 12 noon. I know that is not easy to do especially if you are running a full house the previous day. Credit definitely goes to the Front Office and Housekeeping team. The housekeeping team was also very efficient to ensure all rooms we clean and comfortable for us throughout the stay. To name a few – Linda who had been very helpful even before we came to Batam when we were communicating via email.

Most importantly your team was ever ready to meet our expectation expectations and answer to all our queries. Upon check in I know some of the rooms has very minor issues but the maintenance team was very fast top rectify the problems and solve the issues almost immediately. One room that the problem could not be resolved, the rooms was changed for them immediately.

Throughout our stay we has we had meals and namely the Buffet dinner on the first night. The food was great and I must say we were spoilt with choices. The service in the coffee house staff was also fast and attentive attending too all our needs. They staff did an excellent job locating us in the corner for the dinner which the family has must room to move around and chit chat and enjoy the privacy….

Also to comment is your staff in the Guest Relations Desk. On Saturday Evening and Sunday Morning (can’t recall her name.. sorry!!) She did an excellent job to confirm our ferry booking for us. Some of my guest did not even have a return tickets but she manage to get us the reservations. I can imagine how difficult it was for us as we had different groups leaving at different timings. Even when we did not have a confirmation on the same day, Next morning the staff followed up very well and made sure she got us the reservations. She was always there to give us a smile and ensuring us that everything will be fine even when we needed a bus which was not part of the hotel service. She made sure the service was made available to us.

Finally the man behind the curtain is yourself. I personally think the team are all doing a great job because they have a leader like you, who is always on top of situations, always being so calm in accommodating to our requests. Most importantly you are always there to make sure that everything went well and has always been checking with me if everything is ok and is there anything else you can do for us. This give us guest the personalized service which all the guests are looking forward to when even we check in into a hotel… Not forgetting how you personally sending us to the ferry terminal in Sekupang. That was definitely the cream of your service which proved how sincere and down to earth of a person you are. I am impressed..

Overall it was an amazing experience and I felt that the you and your team did an excellent job. I trust you guys are master of your job and that’s why everything went very well. The only this that we were a little disappointed was that the watersports were not available as most of us wanted to enjoy the beach. Having said that the team and yourself did a good job to explain to us the situation which we fully understand. Sometimes it’s beyond our control when these facilities are outsourced. With all the good things happened to us during this trip it did not matter if we did not do any wartersports… Everyone was too busy being pampered by your staff.

Since me and my wife are only in Singapore we will surely visit you yours again one of the weekends and will be looking forward to the great service again. 


Meanwhile keep up the good word and thank you for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Shuhanth,

Sunny Greetings from the Resorts of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a descriptive report of our services facilities and most of all our friendly staff.

We are so glad that your stay with us has been so relaxing and enjoyable and all of our staff
has been courteous and has stayed in your memory to give their names to us on here.

We are sorry if some minor issues have occurred but I am sure all were resolved on the spot as you well mention it.

We would like to thank you once again for the genuine comments and also for choosing our resort for your holiday.

On Behalf of all the HARRIS players we are looking forward to having you all with us once again in the near future.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel provides free pick-up from the ferry terminal (which is just a few minutes away), although the van seemed a little small considering the number of people headed there. We were welcomed with a very bizarre dance by hotel staff which was just unnecessary and which they did not seem to enjoy. Free cold towels and a drink upon arrival.

Room-wise, we requested for rooms in the new wing so it was great - rooms were spacious, cleaned every day, comfortable beds, towels provided, etc. I was afraid it would be noisy because of the large number of groups that stay there, but it was quiet enough. Our rooms overlooked the pool, and there were plenty of channels to choose from if you want to watch TV. The wi-fi signal was strong in the rooms and in most parts of the hotel.

There is a gym and a pool (although there is some construction going on in the middle) in the hotel - nothing particularly impressive, but it was good enough. Breakfast buffet was pretty good in terms of variety and quantity - there were different dishes on the two days we had breakfast there.

Service was excellent - the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to our requests.

The only drawback was the distance from everything else. The hotel provides taxi services for about 240, 0000 Rp for a two-way trip to Nagoya Hills which is reasonable I guess, considering the city is 20-30 minutes away. You can try flagging taxis from the main road outside, but I'm not sure about the availability there - if you're in a group, the rates offered by the hotel should be pretty acceptable.

Overall a satisfactory stay, and I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jamie L,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for your report on tripadvisor and the praise for our staff and facilities.
we are glad that you have mentioned the quality of the internet reception as we have recently upgraded our services on that area and the feedback has been quiet good and promising like yours.

We do provide the shuttle down town to Nagoya area and the mall for our guests in case they wish to go shopping.

We would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your holidays and look forward to having you with us again.

On Behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just came back from a trip from batam with a group of friends. We went there specifically to enjoy the water sports (banana boat, parasailing, canoeing etc) but all of them were closed down for maintenance. Had to settle for air soft shooting, bowling, pool.... Quite a disappointment because we could have done all this back in singapore. Other than that, the staffs are very friendly and willing to help us! Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Yyyen.

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal oppinion about your stay with us. We have noted all your constructive critism and we are sorry for the inconvinience caused due to the non availability of all Sea Sports due to maintenance in progress.

We are glad that overall you had a good time and we look forward to having you with us again for another holiday.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old wing which maybe the reasob why we had an outdated room
It was spacious and cozy but it can be revamped.
Staff were nice but can be friendlier. Pool was large and we enjoyed it very much dinner and breakfast served was ok. Nothing fancy, has variety.

It's near the ferry terminal.

We got a free round trip transpo from ferry terminal to the hotel and back. They also offer transpo frim hotel to nagoya but you have to book a few hours in advance.

Far from megamall.it cost us 100000 rupiah from megamall and back to the hotel.

We will stay at the hotel again to enjoy the pool

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Mnlmparas,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinion of your stay
with other travelers.

We have very well noted all the constructive comments and rest assured we will bring it to our
next meeting for improving our services to our guests.

We would like to thank you for choosing Harris Resort Waterfront Batam for your holidays and
relaxation and we do look forward to having you with us for another stay.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated quite far fromNagoya but does have a ferry terminal close by.

I stayed here for a few months whilst working on the island.
There is nothing really in the area except a few bars close by.

They do have a large pool which is nice and the food is very standard.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Mark R,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion about your stay with us
and the description of the surrounding areas.

We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and work in Indonesia as being so long with us and
hope to be able to have you with us again to enjoy the giant swimming pool.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A corporate group of 70 + of us came here. As we organized ourselves, a few things went smoothly, , going through immigration on arrival - the hotel did it for us by collecting and keeping all passports, plus the group check in was also smooth as they gave us all keys and we distributed it ourselves to pre-assigned groups.
Otherwise it could have been a nightmare.
Food was mediocre buffets, we were a low maintenance group. No mid morning or afternoon tea breaks.

Large pool is kept reasonably clean.
reflexology seats are covered by grey towels, not very inviting. Staff are generally polite and try hard to be efficient and courteous except at reception counter.
On my own, I'd never go back!

Room Tip: Larger rooms are in older wing. Sea view or pool view? Pool view has hills depending on the angle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Harris Fan EuForia01,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion
about your stay with us.

Travelling in big groups we always try to facilitate the movements and always speeding up the
process especially to the size and groups activity.
We are sorry to see that some of your comments on our services were not up to your expectations and we have well noted all of them to be discussed upon our meetings.

Thank you for your kind mentions about our friendly and efficient staff and do hope to be able
to have you with us again.

On Behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours

Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.