We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, but not the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, but not the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel provides free pick-up from the ferry terminal (which is just a few minutes away), although the van seemed a little small considering the number of people headed there. We were welcomed with a very bizarre dance by hotel staff which was just unnecessary and which they did not seem to enjoy. Free cold towels and a drink upon arrival.

Room-wise, we requested for rooms in the new wing so it was great - rooms were spacious, cleaned every day, comfortable beds, towels provided, etc. I was afraid it would be noisy because of the large number of groups that stay there, but it was quiet enough. Our rooms overlooked the pool, and there were plenty of channels to choose from if you want to watch TV. The wi-fi signal was strong in the rooms and in most parts of the hotel.

There is a gym and a pool (although there is some construction going on in the middle) in the hotel - nothing particularly impressive, but it was good enough. Breakfast buffet was pretty good in terms of variety and quantity - there were different dishes on the two days we had breakfast there.

Service was excellent - the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating to our requests.

The only drawback was the distance from everything else. The hotel provides taxi services for about 240, 0000 Rp for a two-way trip to Nagoya Hills which is reasonable I guess, considering the city is 20-30 minutes away. You can try flagging taxis from the main road outside, but I'm not sure about the availability there - if you're in a group, the rates offered by the hotel should be pretty acceptable.

Overall a satisfactory stay, and I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jamie L,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for your report on tripadvisor and the praise for our staff and facilities.
we are glad that you have mentioned the quality of the internet reception as we have recently upgraded our services on that area and the feedback has been quiet good and promising like yours.

We do provide the shuttle down town to Nagoya area and the mall for our guests in case they wish to go shopping.

We would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your holidays and look forward to having you with us again.

On Behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    277
    152
    59
    44
See reviews for
205
266
24
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just came back from a trip from batam with a group of friends. We went there specifically to enjoy the water sports (banana boat, parasailing, canoeing etc) but all of them were closed down for maintenance. Had to settle for air soft shooting, bowling, pool.... Quite a disappointment because we could have done all this back in singapore. Other than that, the staffs are very friendly and willing to help us! Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Yyyen.

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal oppinion about your stay with us. We have noted all your constructive critism and we are sorry for the inconvinience caused due to the non availability of all Sea Sports due to maintenance in progress.

We are glad that overall you had a good time and we look forward to having you with us again for another holiday.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the old wing which maybe the reasob why we had an outdated room
It was spacious and cozy but it can be revamped.
Staff were nice but can be friendlier. Pool was large and we enjoyed it very much dinner and breakfast served was ok. Nothing fancy, has variety.

It's near the ferry terminal.

We got a free round trip transpo from ferry terminal to the hotel and back. They also offer transpo frim hotel to nagoya but you have to book a few hours in advance.

Far from megamall.it cost us 100000 rupiah from megamall and back to the hotel.

We will stay at the hotel again to enjoy the pool

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Mnlmparas,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinion of your stay
with other travelers.

We have very well noted all the constructive comments and rest assured we will bring it to our
next meeting for improving our services to our guests.

We would like to thank you for choosing Harris Resort Waterfront Batam for your holidays and
relaxation and we do look forward to having you with us for another stay.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situated quite far fromNagoya but does have a ferry terminal close by.

I stayed here for a few months whilst working on the island.
There is nothing really in the area except a few bars close by.

They do have a large pool which is nice and the food is very standard.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Mark R,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion about your stay with us
and the description of the surrounding areas.

We do hope that you enjoyed your stay and work in Indonesia as being so long with us and
hope to be able to have you with us again to enjoy the giant swimming pool.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A corporate group of 70 + of us came here. As we organized ourselves, a few things went smoothly, , going through immigration on arrival - the hotel did it for us by collecting and keeping all passports, plus the group check in was also smooth as they gave us all keys and we distributed it ourselves to pre-assigned groups.
Otherwise it could have been a nightmare.
Food was mediocre buffets, we were a low maintenance group. No mid morning or afternoon tea breaks.

Large pool is kept reasonably clean.
reflexology seats are covered by grey towels, not very inviting. Staff are generally polite and try hard to be efficient and courteous except at reception counter.
On my own, I'd never go back!

Room Tip: Larger rooms are in older wing. Sea view or pool view? Pool view has hills depending on the angle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Harris Fan EuForia01,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal opinion
about your stay with us.

Travelling in big groups we always try to facilitate the movements and always speeding up the
process especially to the size and groups activity.
We are sorry to see that some of your comments on our services were not up to your expectations and we have well noted all of them to be discussed upon our meetings.

Thank you for your kind mentions about our friendly and efficient staff and do hope to be able
to have you with us again.

On Behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours

Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is our 3rd visit in the past few yrs, the last visit was before the new wing open in 2010. It was a big difference since then. It used to be a nice cosy resort for quiet, relaxing getaway but now it's old and noisy. We came from Harbourfront ferry terminal and alighted at Waterfront terminal. Do note that only Sindo ferry comes here now. The ferries are old and filled with bad smell. Batamfast ferry service is better and more comfortable. Timings were no longer as frequent as before too. Harris should probably highlight about the ferry service and how do we get here. Time was spent searching and I even have to make trunk calls to Harris to ask for directions. $$$ wasted on calls.

Rooms - we stayed before in the old wing and decided to try the new wing this time. Although only 3, 4 yrs old, the maintenance of the new rooms was not upkeep. Cracks and dirt were seen on the walls, balcony and toilets. Spider webs were seen too. Beds were comfy but the towels were slightly worn out and smells. It doesn't have a cosy feel as before too. We feel that the old wing as we remember it were more comfy and cosy. The new wing is just a basic furnished room with a queen bed and small LCD TV. Hair dryers and shampoo were provided but not tooth paste and tooth brushes. Coffee amenities were also provided.

Food- Lunch was nice but not breakfast. Coffee were sour, fruits not fresh. Bee hoon too oily, porridge too thick. Not much variety for buffet breakfast. The H cafe is always filled with groups of companies and ppl, we feel so crowded and noisy. We went for seafood dinner next to the Waterfront terminal and spent SGD 35 for crab, prawns, noodles and veg. Not too nice and was salty. Paid SGD $6 for 2 way taxi by Harris, driver will wait while you have your dinner for 1.5 hrs and chargeable at SGD $10 for extra time.

Spa - we always loved the H spa but the place is old and run down. We opted for the indoor massage room and was disappointed. Dirty, old walls with a smell in the rooms. Cobwebs, dust welcome us when we step in. No more soothing music played and we even have to pay SGD 30 for the aroma burners! We thought the extra paid was for the massage oil but it wasn't! It was for some aroma oil burner which was overwhelming and choke us when they burn it in the room. Jacuzzi was nice but lacked maintenance, there were sand. Massage beds old, towels old with smell. Honestly, even though the package was cheap, I felt that it wasn't worth the price anymore. We paid SG $285 (Harris Rejuvenate) for 2 Day 1 night with lunch, 3 hr spa for two.

Service - staff were nice and friendly...

Overall - if you want to have a getaway with large groups, you will find it cheap and suitable. If you're looking for quiet and relaxing getaway, you might wanna consider other options. This place is filled with companies events, big families. Not a quiet place to relax for couples....

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms but it was rather hard. We did ask and was given sea-facing, no sea view but onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Harris Fan SGLady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and personal opinion
with us and with the other persons of the travel community.

We are sorry to see that this time experience was not up to your expectations and would like
to inform you that your comments have been noted and will be discussed upon in order to improve our facilities and services.
Our Harris Rooms are the standard Harris rooms you will find in Harris with a simple unique and friendly atmosphere.
We thank you for all the constructive feedback about the services and facilities and your nice comments for our staff.

We do hope to be able to have you with us in another visit in the near future and please do not hesitate to drop me an email for further comments.


On behalf of all Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam



Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront
Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we actually stayed here last 2010,it was a weekend getaway,to relax ourselves from work,at first we already have a bad expereience since there was no one attending on the recption and 5 groups are waiting to be attended,the room is decent,we were not satisfied with the food we ordered since it tastes like it was cooked 6 hour ago,but we simply ignore it since we want to relax,

we tried almost all the activity they can offer,from wakeboarding to billiards to kayak,shooting,videoke and the shisha at the bar with the live band it was pretty satisfying cause it's very very affordable.they have a huge pool too where you can dip.

dinner buffet was GREAT,at that time it was mongolian barbq night,it was all worth it with the generous variety of food to choose from,what made this hotel extra ordinary was their staff,they are just simply friendly,they will smile and will offer help that they can give,they just have this very warm smile that will make you feel at home,when you have that kind of staff, you won't really notice the flaws of a hotel...this place is remarkable and until now i can't forget the experience i had with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fan Kaetlyn_Sg,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with many other
travelers and give us also your feedback about your stay with us.
We are glad that your overall experience was up to your expectations and we are sorry for
the minor delays during your check in time.
Thank you once again for mentioning about the many facilities of our Resort and the special mentions for our Friendly Staff that made your stay an unforgettable experience.

On Behalf of all the Smiling HARRIS Players we are looking forward to having you with us
for another stay.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;