We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit after 3 yrs and disappointed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Batam
SG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another visit after 3 yrs and disappointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is our 3rd visit in the past few yrs, the last visit was before the new wing open in 2010. It was a big difference since then. It used to be a nice cosy resort for quiet, relaxing getaway but now it's old and noisy. We came from Harbourfront ferry terminal and alighted at Waterfront terminal. Do note that only Sindo ferry comes here now. The ferries are old and filled with bad smell. Batamfast ferry service is better and more comfortable. Timings were no longer as frequent as before too. Harris should probably highlight about the ferry service and how do we get here. Time was spent searching and I even have to make trunk calls to Harris to ask for directions. $$$ wasted on calls.

Rooms - we stayed before in the old wing and decided to try the new wing this time. Although only 3, 4 yrs old, the maintenance of the new rooms was not upkeep. Cracks and dirt were seen on the walls, balcony and toilets. Spider webs were seen too. Beds were comfy but the towels were slightly worn out and smells. It doesn't have a cosy feel as before too. We feel that the old wing as we remember it were more comfy and cosy. The new wing is just a basic furnished room with a queen bed and small LCD TV. Hair dryers and shampoo were provided but not tooth paste and tooth brushes. Coffee amenities were also provided.

Food- Lunch was nice but not breakfast. Coffee were sour, fruits not fresh. Bee hoon too oily, porridge too thick. Not much variety for buffet breakfast. The H cafe is always filled with groups of companies and ppl, we feel so crowded and noisy. We went for seafood dinner next to the Waterfront terminal and spent SGD 35 for crab, prawns, noodles and veg. Not too nice and was salty. Paid SGD $6 for 2 way taxi by Harris, driver will wait while you have your dinner for 1.5 hrs and chargeable at SGD $10 for extra time.

Spa - we always loved the H spa but the place is old and run down. We opted for the indoor massage room and was disappointed. Dirty, old walls with a smell in the rooms. Cobwebs, dust welcome us when we step in. No more soothing music played and we even have to pay SGD 30 for the aroma burners! We thought the extra paid was for the massage oil but it wasn't! It was for some aroma oil burner which was overwhelming and choke us when they burn it in the room. Jacuzzi was nice but lacked maintenance, there were sand. Massage beds old, towels old with smell. Honestly, even though the package was cheap, I felt that it wasn't worth the price anymore. We paid SG $285 (Harris Rejuvenate) for 2 Day 1 night with lunch, 3 hr spa for two.

Service - staff were nice and friendly...

Overall - if you want to have a getaway with large groups, you will find it cheap and suitable. If you're looking for quiet and relaxing getaway, you might wanna consider other options. This place is filled with companies events, big families. Not a quiet place to relax for couples....

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms but it was rather hard. We did ask and was given sea-facing, no sea view but onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Harris Fan SGLady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and personal opinion
with us and with the other persons of the travel community.

We are sorry to see that this time experience was not up to your expectations and would like
to inform you that your comments have been noted and will be discussed upon in order to improve our facilities and services.
Our Harris Rooms are the standard Harris rooms you will find in Harris with a simple unique and friendly atmosphere.
We thank you for all the constructive feedback about the services and facilities and your nice comments for our staff.

We do hope to be able to have you with us in another visit in the near future and please do not hesitate to drop me an email for further comments.


On behalf of all Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam



Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront
Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    262
    144
    57
    41
See reviews for
195
258
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we actually stayed here last 2010,it was a weekend getaway,to relax ourselves from work,at first we already have a bad expereience since there was no one attending on the recption and 5 groups are waiting to be attended,the room is decent,we were not satisfied with the food we ordered since it tastes like it was cooked 6 hour ago,but we simply ignore it since we want to relax,

we tried almost all the activity they can offer,from wakeboarding to billiards to kayak,shooting,videoke and the shisha at the bar with the live band it was pretty satisfying cause it's very very affordable.they have a huge pool too where you can dip.

dinner buffet was GREAT,at that time it was mongolian barbq night,it was all worth it with the generous variety of food to choose from,what made this hotel extra ordinary was their staff,they are just simply friendly,they will smile and will offer help that they can give,they just have this very warm smile that will make you feel at home,when you have that kind of staff, you won't really notice the flaws of a hotel...this place is remarkable and until now i can't forget the experience i had with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear HARRIS Fan Kaetlyn_Sg,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with many other
travelers and give us also your feedback about your stay with us.
We are glad that your overall experience was up to your expectations and we are sorry for
the minor delays during your check in time.
Thank you once again for mentioning about the many facilities of our Resort and the special mentions for our Friendly Staff that made your stay an unforgettable experience.

On Behalf of all the Smiling HARRIS Players we are looking forward to having you with us
for another stay.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Seems like a great place to take the kids with all the cartoons they have displayed around the lobby, but the customer service is terrible. Upon arrival, even though they had four representatives at the desk, none of them acknowledged us. We didn't feel welcomed, so we asked for the Manager, but they didn't want to see us. So we told the Supervisor Leo that his representatives didn't have good customer service. Once we walked away, Leo joked about our complaints with his subordinates. The place is a mess, service-wise and in cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Kyoki P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us and giving us the
opportunity to improve our services to our customers.

We are sorry to see that your comments concerning our staff has not been up to your expectations as you describe it. We are very well known for the friendly service and staff
friendliness through out our resort if you see all many of the comments and all are proud of
the simple unique and friendly service we offer.

Our Department heads and managers including my self all are available to our guests if any
problems occur and ready to resolve them including a Manager on Duty during night time.

Thank you once again on behalf of all the Harris Players,


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed over the weekend of 15 Jun 12. The hotel looked dated and the tiny stretch of beach is dirty and deserted. The air-con in most of our group's rooms were not working and even after the technician came to repair, the air-con was still not cold. When checking in we requested hotel to confirm our return ferry for the next day but apparently something went wrong. We were told when about to leave for ferry terminal the next day that there was no confirmation for our return ferry and we had to go on the next ferry 2 hours later! To make matters worse, our group was "chased out" of the rooms by the housekeeping ! The front desk manager Mr Ahmad did try his best to help with arrangements for our return ferry and for our group to have late check-out. We appreciate that. He is definitely a credit to the hotel. However, the hotel as a whole need to up its facilities and service level as such lapses do not warrant well for the
hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Cynzx,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal holiday experience with other
members of travel society and your comments have been well noted.
Please allow me to express the following in what concerns your ferry arrangements
that our hotel only acts as intermediate and is only a service provided to facilitate our guests.
In your case and with a large group if reservations were not done well in advance and there were
not sits available on the Ferry at the requested time the hotel is not responsible for that.
As I have seen it was arranged for you with available sits with the following Ferry two hours later than your requested timing.
Due to your visit on a high season and the hotel being full as all over the world the check out time is at 12.00 o clock and yet again as you mention in your comments you were allowed to stay until later in your rooms even the Ferry reservations were not the hotels responsibility.
We do appreciate your constructive criticism in all aspects and we will try to inform groups in the
future when traveling individually the necessity of booking the timings earlier.
We strive for a constant upgrading of all our facilities and services to our guests and I am sure that you have noticed some of the works being carried out during your stay with us.

On behalf of all the Harris Players we would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS hotels for your holidays and relaxation and do hope that we will be able to have you with us again.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Batok New Town, null, Singapore
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was here over the last weekend with my family to celebrate my gal's 18 birthday!!
hotel was booked via booking.com

rule #1 : make sure it is batam harris resort, waterfront!! I made a wrong booking with harris batam water center, so thankfully the very helpful booking.com helpdesk was able to assist with the cancellation at the 11th hour..

Once new booking was done..we then made our ferry booking with sindo ( only one that takes to and fro from batam waterfront, which is only 3 mins drive away from the resort). We decided to go via Batam center so we can shop and eat at the hypermart. Shopping is quite good there, then we had pizza hut and our all-time favouriate, A & W. It was satisfying!! Then, we took a taxi to Harris WAterfront,takes about half an hour and cost Rp100,000. Time and money was well spent i thought, as it would cost S$10 per person for a return bus ride to Nagoya via the hotel shuttle bus at appointed times only.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the busking of happy faces and laughters. It was very lively, and we are all ready for fun! Hotel has new and old wings. Check-in was swift, we were on 4th floor at old wing with factastic sea view. New wing offers good pool view, especially great for ground floor lovers.

We walked across the hotel to the local shops and bought nasi goreng, ayam pengek, beers and drinks for dinner. They were good deals !!

Resorts had a chalet atmosphere this weekend, staff were friendly, so accomodating..
a restaurant staff, Haynes wemtout of his way to have a birthday freshly baked at 5pm and had it served to us at 10pm in the bar with his other colleagues in style.. with all smiles and a birthday song. Staff at the nail spa were very friendly too..

We also enjoyed other basic facilities at the hotel like the swimming pool, bowling and pool tables throughout the stay.

Overall, the motto of the resort says it all : SIMPLY FRIENDLY !!

Come with a "to play" mindset, put in a lot of laughter, be joyful and you are guaranteed nothing but a HAPPY & FUNTIME..

Singapore, 1 June 2013
Constance

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jewelsingapore,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to share your so positive experience of your holiday stay with us and give such an extensive detailed report to all readers.

We are glad that you had such a good time overall and you enjoyed all the facilities of the resort.
Thank you very much for making a special mention to our friendly and smiley staff that greeted you and made your stay more than your expectations with our HARRIS Simple Unique and Friendly way,

We do hope to be able to have you with us in the near future for another relaxing holiday.

On behalf of all the HARRIS players I would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your
leisure time.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is not easy to plan for a corporate event but having Harris Batam Waterfront front as our event partner made our preparation up to execution a lot easier. The sales team in Singapore headed by Georgia has gone out of their way to accommodate a number of our requests. We never expected to have a hotel staff in the person of Liz to be assigned to us. Everyone was surprised to see a welcome banner at the ferry terminal. She made sure that our rooms are readily available for check in and all arrangements for the activity vouchers and our day trippers are well attended to. The management team in the hotel headed by Zoids ensured that all our needs are taken care of and I do see him making the rounds even surprising our colleagues with a birthday cake together with his staff.

They make a simple gesture extra special- simply amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Sijessie,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your so wonderful report and let know
of other travelers individual or corporate about how you had a good time with us.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are glad that all the group had such a great time
and all managed to do all activities and the fun program we had prepared for you.
We will make sure to pass your comments to the players mentioned for their extraordinary work
and praise them for the service from the heart.

We do hope to that out Simple Unique and Friendly approach was well liked by all and count to
see you returning again either as a group or individuals.

On behalf of all the HARRIS players we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your
fun and relaxation and hope to have again with us very soon.

Harrisly yours,



Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam



On Behalf of all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Basically this hotel seems to cater for corporate weekends for companies from Singapore, and workers from local shipyard industries. If you are outside of these 2 groups, then get prepared for noise and inconvenience. Basically local karaoke band plays loud inane music the whole time, but if you try and escape, then you will run into the next band/group. Also lots of activities set aside for them so not many places for peace and quiet.

There are a million workers here and largely they are friendly. But each has only a specific function to do, so no multi-tasking. So getting a bill with 5 waiters around but no clerk means waiting waiting. Along with that, we had a security guard asleep by the kids pool, 2 playing ping pong, cooks smoking next to the dining area, staff on their break in the cafe with their families, and so on. The staff in the Korean/Japanese restaurant were having a quiet night when we were there so bit upset that we wanted to eat.

The rooms are tired. We had a cabana and the blinds were broken so couldn't get any light into the room. No screen or separation from the bathroom area, so water goes everywhere. Bathroom door doesn't shut properly.

A disappointing place overall but we weren't their target market. Look elsewhere if you want a weekend retreat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Taipan49,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all Is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinion and thoughts
about your stay in our resort with other travelers.

We are sorry to see that your stay with us has not been up to your expectations as our Resort
was on the lively and buzzling state during your visit with us.
Please allow me to inform you that you have also misinterpreted the people seen as our staff due maybe to the persons attending the events some in uniform from workplace.
I do believe you are being unfair to the HARRIS players with your description, as our staff
and management are always trying to serve the guest under our Simple Unique and Friendly motto that describes our company.
Further more I would like to thank you for all your constructive comments to be looked upon
in order to rectify our Services to our HARRIS Fans.


On Behalf of all the HARRIS Players thank you once again for choosing our Resort for your
holidays.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.