We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE customer service and hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 69 hotels in Batam
1 review
“HORRIBLE customer service and hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Seems like a great place to take the kids with all the cartoons they have displayed around the lobby, but the customer service is terrible. Upon arrival, even though they had four representatives at the desk, none of them acknowledged us. We didn't feel welcomed, so we asked for the Manager, but they didn't want to see us. So we told the Supervisor Leo that his representatives didn't have good customer service. Once we walked away, Leo joked about our complaints with his subordinates. The place is a mess, service-wise and in cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Kyoki P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us and giving us the
opportunity to improve our services to our customers.

We are sorry to see that your comments concerning our staff has not been up to your expectations as you describe it. We are very well known for the friendly service and staff
friendliness through out our resort if you see all many of the comments and all are proud of
the simple unique and friendly service we offer.

Our Department heads and managers including my self all are available to our guests if any
problems occur and ready to resolve them including a Manager on Duty during night time.

Thank you once again on behalf of all the Harris Players,


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    268
    147
    58
    43
See reviews for
201
260
23
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed over the weekend of 15 Jun 12. The hotel looked dated and the tiny stretch of beach is dirty and deserted. The air-con in most of our group's rooms were not working and even after the technician came to repair, the air-con was still not cold. When checking in we requested hotel to confirm our return ferry for the next day but apparently something went wrong. We were told when about to leave for ferry terminal the next day that there was no confirmation for our return ferry and we had to go on the next ferry 2 hours later! To make matters worse, our group was "chased out" of the rooms by the housekeeping ! The front desk manager Mr Ahmad did try his best to help with arrangements for our return ferry and for our group to have late check-out. We appreciate that. He is definitely a credit to the hotel. However, the hotel as a whole need to up its facilities and service level as such lapses do not warrant well for the
hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Cynzx,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal holiday experience with other
members of travel society and your comments have been well noted.
Please allow me to express the following in what concerns your ferry arrangements
that our hotel only acts as intermediate and is only a service provided to facilitate our guests.
In your case and with a large group if reservations were not done well in advance and there were
not sits available on the Ferry at the requested time the hotel is not responsible for that.
As I have seen it was arranged for you with available sits with the following Ferry two hours later than your requested timing.
Due to your visit on a high season and the hotel being full as all over the world the check out time is at 12.00 o clock and yet again as you mention in your comments you were allowed to stay until later in your rooms even the Ferry reservations were not the hotels responsibility.
We do appreciate your constructive criticism in all aspects and we will try to inform groups in the
future when traveling individually the necessity of booking the timings earlier.
We strive for a constant upgrading of all our facilities and services to our guests and I am sure that you have noticed some of the works being carried out during your stay with us.

On behalf of all the Harris Players we would like to thank you for choosing HARRIS hotels for your holidays and relaxation and do hope that we will be able to have you with us again.

Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Batok New Town, null, Singapore
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was here over the last weekend with my family to celebrate my gal's 18 birthday!!
hotel was booked via booking.com

rule #1 : make sure it is batam harris resort, waterfront!! I made a wrong booking with harris batam water center, so thankfully the very helpful booking.com helpdesk was able to assist with the cancellation at the 11th hour..

Once new booking was done..we then made our ferry booking with sindo ( only one that takes to and fro from batam waterfront, which is only 3 mins drive away from the resort). We decided to go via Batam center so we can shop and eat at the hypermart. Shopping is quite good there, then we had pizza hut and our all-time favouriate, A & W. It was satisfying!! Then, we took a taxi to Harris WAterfront,takes about half an hour and cost Rp100,000. Time and money was well spent i thought, as it would cost S$10 per person for a return bus ride to Nagoya via the hotel shuttle bus at appointed times only.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the busking of happy faces and laughters. It was very lively, and we are all ready for fun! Hotel has new and old wings. Check-in was swift, we were on 4th floor at old wing with factastic sea view. New wing offers good pool view, especially great for ground floor lovers.

We walked across the hotel to the local shops and bought nasi goreng, ayam pengek, beers and drinks for dinner. They were good deals !!

Resorts had a chalet atmosphere this weekend, staff were friendly, so accomodating..
a restaurant staff, Haynes wemtout of his way to have a birthday freshly baked at 5pm and had it served to us at 10pm in the bar with his other colleagues in style.. with all smiles and a birthday song. Staff at the nail spa were very friendly too..

We also enjoyed other basic facilities at the hotel like the swimming pool, bowling and pool tables throughout the stay.

Overall, the motto of the resort says it all : SIMPLY FRIENDLY !!

Come with a "to play" mindset, put in a lot of laughter, be joyful and you are guaranteed nothing but a HAPPY & FUNTIME..

Singapore, 1 June 2013
Constance

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Jewelsingapore,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to share your so positive experience of your holiday stay with us and give such an extensive detailed report to all readers.

We are glad that you had such a good time overall and you enjoyed all the facilities of the resort.
Thank you very much for making a special mention to our friendly and smiley staff that greeted you and made your stay more than your expectations with our HARRIS Simple Unique and Friendly way,

We do hope to be able to have you with us in the near future for another relaxing holiday.

On behalf of all the HARRIS players I would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your
leisure time.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is not easy to plan for a corporate event but having Harris Batam Waterfront front as our event partner made our preparation up to execution a lot easier. The sales team in Singapore headed by Georgia has gone out of their way to accommodate a number of our requests. We never expected to have a hotel staff in the person of Liz to be assigned to us. Everyone was surprised to see a welcome banner at the ferry terminal. She made sure that our rooms are readily available for check in and all arrangements for the activity vouchers and our day trippers are well attended to. The management team in the hotel headed by Zoids ensured that all our needs are taken care of and I do see him making the rounds even surprising our colleagues with a birthday cake together with his staff.

They make a simple gesture extra special- simply amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Sijessie,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your so wonderful report and let know
of other travelers individual or corporate about how you had a good time with us.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we are glad that all the group had such a great time
and all managed to do all activities and the fun program we had prepared for you.
We will make sure to pass your comments to the players mentioned for their extraordinary work
and praise them for the service from the heart.

We do hope to that out Simple Unique and Friendly approach was well liked by all and count to
see you returning again either as a group or individuals.

On behalf of all the HARRIS players we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your
fun and relaxation and hope to have again with us very soon.

Harrisly yours,



Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam



On Behalf of all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Basically this hotel seems to cater for corporate weekends for companies from Singapore, and workers from local shipyard industries. If you are outside of these 2 groups, then get prepared for noise and inconvenience. Basically local karaoke band plays loud inane music the whole time, but if you try and escape, then you will run into the next band/group. Also lots of activities set aside for them so not many places for peace and quiet.

There are a million workers here and largely they are friendly. But each has only a specific function to do, so no multi-tasking. So getting a bill with 5 waiters around but no clerk means waiting waiting. Along with that, we had a security guard asleep by the kids pool, 2 playing ping pong, cooks smoking next to the dining area, staff on their break in the cafe with their families, and so on. The staff in the Korean/Japanese restaurant were having a quiet night when we were there so bit upset that we wanted to eat.

The rooms are tired. We had a cabana and the blinds were broken so couldn't get any light into the room. No screen or separation from the bathroom area, so water goes everywhere. Bathroom door doesn't shut properly.

A disappointing place overall but we weren't their target market. Look elsewhere if you want a weekend retreat.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Taipan49,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all Is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinion and thoughts
about your stay in our resort with other travelers.

We are sorry to see that your stay with us has not been up to your expectations as our Resort
was on the lively and buzzling state during your visit with us.
Please allow me to inform you that you have also misinterpreted the people seen as our staff due maybe to the persons attending the events some in uniform from workplace.
I do believe you are being unfair to the HARRIS players with your description, as our staff
and management are always trying to serve the guest under our Simple Unique and Friendly motto that describes our company.
Further more I would like to thank you for all your constructive comments to be looked upon
in order to rectify our Services to our HARRIS Fans.


On Behalf of all the HARRIS Players thank you once again for choosing our Resort for your
holidays.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I got a room with a wonderful seaview. The room was clean, spacious and well-furnished. However it could do with a bit more maintenance because we spotted stains that were probably hard to remove after washing (better detergent perhaps or change to a new sheet). The pool was inviting too but I think there were stains on the sides of the pool that could be removed. The pool was clean though. We have not tried the spa yet. Our appointment is for this afternoon. So we would be looking forward to it. The service is commendable. The staffs are really nice. Just spruce up and maintain the existing facilities and maybe you might want to better the amenities provided as well.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Harris Fan SilahRoseHuynJae,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience of your
stay with us with other members of the travel society.

We are glad that overall your stay was a pleasant one and thank you for the special praise on
our friendly staff.
We have well noted the constructive criticism and we will act immediately upon in rectifying our
services to our guests.
We do hope that the Spa and Massage experience has been up to your expectations and beyond to seal with relaxation the final part of your stay with us.

On Behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you once again for choosing our HARRIS Resort for your holidays and hope to have you back with us in the near future.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Harris Waterfron with my Fiance (10th May - 12th). We bought the deal from Groupon and extended one night. We enjoyed our stay. Everything was up to par. From the service, the room (although our room was right across the janitorial room. But we had an awesome sea view so what is there to complain? =p), the food, the massage. All was splendid.
Thanks to Mr Ramli Sinaga too who took the time to brought us to the bar to have a chat with us and treat us cold Ice Lemon Teas while we were waited for the shuttle to the ferry terminal to go back.

I will definitely make another trip to Harris Waterfront soon and recommend all my friends.

Keep up the good work Harris and wishing you all the best in your future endeavors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Harris Fan Tasha_Moriez,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and
with such a positive feedback from your side to all the members of the travel industry.

We are happy that overall your stay was beyond your expectations and that you enjoyed all of the facilities services and restaurants. Please allow me to compliment you on the nice picture of the sunset taken from your room.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your relaxation and we are looking forward to having you with us in the near future.


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam



On behalf of all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#2 Best Value Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.