We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but below average massage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Save Saved
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer
Ranked #8 of 68 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff but below average massage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went to Batam for the first time and had stayed at the Harris resort after buying the coupon from deal.com.sg. I requested for the room at Harris Trendy after reading reviews and the room was reasonable and there were no major issues about it. There was free transportation from waterfront ferry terminal and the staff received us with a warm welcome upon arrival. Massage has been offered at the hotel and an hour long treatment was included in the coupon deal. We had expected a reasonable spa service offered by the hotel, especially when they are claimed to be award-winning, but the skills of the masseurs fell short of our expectations. Nevertheless, the stay was value for money and the friendly staff will make it even more worth it for a short getaway.

Room Tip: Request for a newer room. Avoid the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Alerieee,


Sunny Greetings from the REsortof Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you very much for your time to share your holiday experience with many other travellers and we are glad that you had such a great time with us.
We are glad that you had such a good time and the staff has been extremely friendly with you which justifies our Harry Spirit. We have also noted some of your comments concerning our spa
and we are working in improving in that area as well.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay and on behalf of all our Harris Players

Harrisly yours,


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    266
    144
    57
    41
See reviews for
196
258
22
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staffs. Check in and check out was a little bit slow, however, overall stay was good. Nice swimming pool and ample of facilities and outdoor activities.

Food fair average, however, it's commendable for 4 Stars resort. There were some suggestion for the management to consider:

Do not clear minibar for FIT
No welcome drinks offer upon check in
No porter offer baggage assistance

As a frequent traveller. Honestly I would rate the operator service very efficient despite she did not acknowledge by name or reconfirm the requests. She had assisted to get comb, tooth brushes and etc less that 10 minutes. I really did not wait too long. Well done to the Harris team. Despite some minor challenges. Overall impression and stay was good. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Mikeyflee,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our Resort and with so many other travellers
and we are glad that your overall stay was very pleasant.
We would also like to thank you for all the constructive critisism and we already have brought
your points in our meetings to further improve our services offered to all of our clients.
We are glad that you have encountered the most efficient and friendly service from our Harris Players and most of all that you will be returning for another enjoyable stay with us.

Until the next time we are looking forward to having you with us on behalf of all
the Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed for 2 days 1 night in the resort. It is a quiet resort suitable for families with alot of in house activities. I like the place being far from city and having better air quality and surroundings. I had a nice room that faces the sea too. Service was good and staff was friendly too. However,

here are the cons:
1. All the lifts had air fresheners, however the smell was pretty overpowering in a small lift that was supposed to take only 4 people at a time.
2. In the toilet, the sink stopper was stuck as the button at the tap could not pull it up, we had to get a stirrer to lift up the stopper ourselves
3. Towel was dirty with black marks at the edges, there were also black marks on the bed sheets on one little area.
4. Massage at the spa was satisfactory for me. However, i feel that it was pretty pricey. If you do visit the Nagoya town, there are some spas there that offer at only one third of their rates, i have not tried them though but the rates there are so tempting we would have thought of trying if we have enough time. However, if you intend to just chill in the resort, think the massage there should suffice.
5. Food was also more expensive in the resort. I should have takeaway the seafood fried rice that i ate at one of the coffee shops for lunch in Nagoya Hill shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Jadebottle,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience in our resort with so many other
potential travellers.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted all your constructive comments in order to improve our services offered.

We would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your Holidays and hope to be able to have you with us in the near future.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I went there with 3 other friends last weekend, on the 29th-30th September, it's our first time staying at Harris Waterfront.

Overall the place was alright, free wifi, helpful staffs, the pool was big and nice; but the location is just too far from the city.. it's more than 45 minutes away from anywhere by taxi (like the Nagoya Mall, and even the harbor bay seafood restaurants)

We stayed in the main building, it's quite a bit of rundown.. but the room is huge, normal looking I would say, and the bathroom.. could be a little bit cleaner.. the wall in-between the rooms is slightly too thin and no privacy, as we could hear our neighbor keep on coughing and talking all the time quite clearly..

We had our breakfast and our second-day lunch there.. the food was very so-so for such a price.. Quite expensive I'd say…
If only the hotel is not so outcast and we were not waiting for our ferry's schedule, we definitely would rather go to other place for lunch..

the spa was not so bad.. but the rooms has no air-con, and Batam is not such a cooling place, and one major turn-down, closing to the finishing session, the spa girls bluntly told me and my husband, how little they earn, and said if it's not not for the tourists' tips, they won't be able to survive.. they even told me that usually the tourists give them 100K Rupiah (which is about $15 SGD) as the tips.. I mean, I don't mind giving tips.. but to be asked for the certain amount, it's just pretty annoying.. I had another massage session at the Nagoya mall, it only cost me about $15SGD too…

Our group will not be coming back to this hotel anymore, not because of the unpleasant stay here, it's just that the location is not really convenient, especially no free shuttle is provided…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Yana H,


Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us with other travelers
and we thank you for the positive comments as well for the constructive critisism.

We are glad that overall your experience has been positive and you had a great time besides
the distance of our hotel from the center.
We try to provide a variety of things to our customers so they do no need to go out of the hotel
especially sport activities and relaxation also with a wide variety of restaurants.
We are sorry about the incident you mentioned in the Spa and we already have taken measures
and corrective actions in order to train our staff and rectify the situation.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort and hope to see you
maybe in another Harris property.


On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were there early last year. We had a resort representative to pick us up in a mini van. The resort was very big and had a huge pool. Watersports are just a stone throw away from the resort.
We had free upgrade to the Japanese Suite for free! ( all the perks of travelling during low season!) The staff noticed it was my birthday during check-in and so the Resort Manager, Mr Ramli, offered me free upgrade! :D
Shuttle bus service is available for those who wanna go sightseeing in town.
The suite was spacious with a in-room jacuzzi and flower deco and japanese green tea. The staff surprised me with a birthday cake during our dinner by the pool. They all came singing with cute orange bandanas. haha!
The next morning, we did some water activities. Jetski and parasailing. The water is not the bluest but definately worth it as its really value for money.
Our stay was a pleasant one, all thanks to the staff of Harris Resort! We will be going there again in Nov!

Room Tip: Opt for the Japanese Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Weluvthailand,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and with so many other
travellers and have so much positive feedback to share with them.

We are glad that you enjoyed a lot of our facilites and the Japanese Room and also the watersports. As i have seen you are going to visit us again this November and we will be more than happy to have you with us again please drop me an email when you are next coming and if you have already reserved with us?

We would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort and we are looking forward to having you here with us once again.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We organised a weekend retreat for couples at the Resort. The service was excellent and the food was good. It was good value for money. The banquet staff went the extra mile and decorated the meeting hall for our theme night in accordance with our colour theme. The housekeeping staff helped us to not only put in a gift in each room but also arrange a little floral surprise (their initiative) for the couples. These little extra shows the staff really goes the extra mile to delight their guests!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the Funky Wing although older are bigger while the rooms in the Trendy Wing are newer b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Shalom Shalom,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are so delighted
to have received such an excellent feedback from your goodselve and all the group.

We are pleased that our staff had gone the extra mile to assist with all your groups requests and
that all had such a great time in all levels of organization of the meeting and event.

We would like to thank you once again for choosing our HARRIS Resort and hope to be able to have you with us in the near future.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

my partner wanted to try Harris hotel Batam Center, but they were fully booked. Decided to try the resort at the other end, which was a mistake. We stayed here for 2 nights.

the resort is not really far from the ferry terminal, they have free shuttle bus but we were too tired to wait and hopped onto a taxi when the the cab driver approached us. cost less than S$5..

check in was quick, they offered us welcome drink and there were cookies on the counter, nice gesture. the cookies were nice btw, and u can get them at their cafe, but it cost more than Famous Amos, haha.

the resort was quiet. It's true, there was a musky smell along the corridor where the rooms on the first storey were located but ours was on the 5th level if i remember correctly, so it's fine.

The room was clean, cosy size, bed was comfy but but the air con was lousy. It was installed in a sunken corner of the room at the bed's end and it was not working! the engineers came to take a look, did some cleaning, not much difference. So, we moved the bed towards the table so we would be able to feel the cool air. The shower head was not working well also, the water only flow when the showerhead was tilted..

breakfast not fantastic, reheating of some leftovers but still ok. if you are into outdoor activites, you would be happy staying here. they have a very deep pool and 2 others, plus banana boats and other water activities.

Sadly, it was not near to anything. We were prepared, but never thought it would be this inconvenient, the room service was not exactly cheap as usual, and we took the shuttle bus to Nagoya shopping mall at $15 each, i think. the journey felt rather long as the bus was not particularly comfortable and was stuffy.

The cost of the room was cheap, but if u were to take the shuttle bus out to town for 2 days and order room service like us coz we did not want to waste time, the cost is equivalent to staying in a nice hotel within walking distance to a shopping mall (think i hotel).

i dont have anything against the resort, i think it's cute, the staff obliging and nice but i would not stay here anymore as there are better choices ard, not as cheap, but located at a more convenient location.

Room Tip: certainly not the first storey as u will hear people walking in and out new building maybe and make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan LLJay1612,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, with other travelers
and we thank you for the positive comments as well for the constructive critisism.

We are sorry to see that besides your positive comments about our hotel service and staff you have given us a very bad rating with only major complaint the hotels location and indirectly promotinga hotel which is our direct competitor and this makes us wonder!!!

Nevertheless we would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort and maybe next time you can try our sister hotel right in the center.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: K.H. Ahmad Dahlan Street | Marina Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batam
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles over 18 years old of age. Asia’s one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The over 18, adults-only atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, Go kart, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Five outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.