We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Batam
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Relaxed Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort for a quick vacation and were generally satisfied. Hotel provides free shuttle from Sepukang (20min) and Waterfront (5min) ferry terminals, which is a plus for family with kids and elderly. It is a large compound with around 6 blocks of buildings (some as high as 10-11 stories, some 5-7), so it is sometimes easy to get lost. The pool is in the middle and there are special areas for kids to play. There is also a small playground. Our room is very spacious with a kitchenette, a dining area, and a living area with sofas. We were upgraded to the 10th floor and the view was quite nice. Breakfast buffet at the Terrace Cafe was OK with enough selections. We ordered room service for dinner and it came quite fast (20min). The back massage at the Tea Tree Spa I had was very relaxing, although it was only 15 min (complimentary from hotel). Staff was all courteous and helpful. A lot of families were staying when we visited. We will definitely consider this hotel again when we visit Batam next time.

Room Tip: If you are with small kids it might be easier to stay at the lower level of the the block close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Especially we are glad that you kids have enjoyed all our children facilities. It might be interesting for you that we are currently working on several children programs to entertain the young ones whilst the parents are relaxing in our resort. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Stay Relaxed and Happy New Year!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    186
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
87
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The resort is very near to the Waterfront ferry terminal. It's good that there is free shuttle service to and back from the ferry terminal and shopping centres. Do note that you'll need to reserve seats for the free shuttle to the shopping centres as the seats are limited. Same experience with late check-in. We arrived at around 12+pm but our room is not ready. We had lunch at the dragon inn restaurant and went back to check, again it wasn't ready but the free shuttle leaves at 2pm, therefore we ended up checking in only after our return from town, which is around 7+pm. It'll be great if the shuttle bus service time slots can be adjusted so that the 2pm slot doesn't clash with the check in time, then guests could wash up before they continue their trip to town.

Totally agree with previous reviews that the hotel should provide free wifi in the rooms as the hotel is far from town, if you are back early, there's nothing much to do at night. The smaller kids maybe bored. The rooms are also pretty dated but clean. Only unpleasant experience is with the choked toilet in our room.

The staff are very friendly. Overall, a great place to just chill and relax. Avoid weekends if you can as it can be very crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room, good to face the pool too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared already with the team. Although we can not change the location of our hotel the majority of our guests love the resort and oasis feeling when staying with us. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Stay Relaxed and Happy New Year!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgp
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

check in was late....did not get my room till after 3.....
an hour later, the key card did not work....
n as i was writing this, the room had a blackout
not to mentioned afew things missing here n there...i must hv called them quie afew times....
seems like a wasted first day.....
i still hope for joy in the next 3 days....
but one thing good, the wheelchair accesible room is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for posting your concerns while you are staying with us. So we had a great opportunity to rectify everything and to provide you with a relaxed stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with a group of friends and loved it! Below are the pros and cons.

2 bedroom suite

Pros:
- Extermely good customer service. I was unable to book the room through their website because it was fully booked. I had to approach a travel agent to book it. I contacted the hotel alot of times asking for their assistance on queries and also to verify the booking done with another travel agency, their replies were fast and very helpful.
- Free ferry terminal transfer both ways
- Huge pool with nice design.. Good for tanning and there is also a pool for kids to play
- Breakfast variety is good
- Dinner is good with very nice ambiance (beside pool with singing band)
- Room is quite big with TVs in each room
- Free transfer to Nagoya Hill (few times a day and there is a schedule to follow)
- Towers were thick and clean
- Aircon is sufficiently cold for the hot country
- Bed is clean and very comfy

Cons:
- Hotel is 30mins away from Nagoya Hill (slightly far), however, as mentioned above, they provide free transfer few times a day. We didn't want to wait so we took a hotel taxi which is around 130k rupiah.
- We stayed on the 3rd level and have to wait for the slow moving lift (luckily there are not many levels)
- Living room floor was abit sandy in some corner when we first check-in (didn't matter much as we were wearing the slippers provided in the room)
- One of the white disposable slippers provided have some stains. I wrote a feedback and hope they change new slippers for every new guest who checks into the room
- 2 numbers on the safe was spoilt
- Bath tub has 2 black spots around the size of 50 cents (I guess it was damaged by other guest and not justifiable to replace the whole tub.
- Limited DVD player for rental. We bought DVDs but didn't manage to rent a DVD player as they were all rented out

I would give the hotel an overall score of 3.8. Hopefully they will improve more on the cons. Will definitely return if I go Batam again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your great review posted here on Tripadvisor. Especially I am delighted to read that our customer service was "extremely good". We also have taken note of all mentioned points and please be informed that we already increased the number of DVD players at the reception for free rental to our guests. The entire team is looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been to Batam on numberous occasion but my first stay there about 3 years ago, I never chose any other hotels to stay except for this.
The hotel staff was wonderful and helpful in attending to our requests and enquiries and we were never left to wait for their help for too long periods of time.
The amenities of the hotel was good with a large area to move around so that you wouldn't feel that there are alot of people staying in the hotel even when it was the school holiday periods. You can arrange with the hotel for a free pick up so it makes things much easier and more convenient.
I have since gone back more than twice and would definitely stay there again when i head to Batam.
One thing to note is that the Dim Sum Buffet at Dragon Inn Restaurant in Holiday Inn's premise may look tempting because of it's price, but I seriously don't recommend it unless you are a fan of starchy dim sum.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms offer a great view of the hotel premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your wonderful review posted here on Tripadvisor and for being a patron of Holiday Inn Resort Batam. We also have taken note of your point regarding the Dim Sum and will sit together with the Chinese Chef to work on the necessary improvements. Here as well as in all other restaurants we will come out with some new promotions in the near future. The entire team is looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night around Chinese New Year and this one was worst experience so far. Service in the restaurant was pathetic. With limited veg options, we ordered same dish three times, and every time food served was different. Waiters had limited knowledge on what they were serving. There was a big group staying in the hotel and reception area was in a mess due to dining arrangement for the group. However, massage was really good and worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review posted here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately we just got to know about that after such a long time. Please be assured it has been discussed with the entire team so that necessary improvements can be made. Although this experience in February was not meeting your expectations, we certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future. Especially when you review all the latest positive reviews I am very confident that we also can provide you with a relaxed stay the next time.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay at this hotel because of the famous tea tree spa and, it delivered. The massage was a very relaxing and peaceful experience.
About the resort, the rooms were clean and the service was satisfactory. Breakfast buffet was good. We had gone with our 3 month old baby and one major disappointment was that the resort has no baby room/ diaper changing station anywhere on the ground floor. We had to make a trip to our room for it every time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your great review posted here on Tripadvisor. Especially we are happy that our awarded Tea Tree Spa met your expectations. Please be also informed that since spring this year baby changing facilities can be found on the ground floor as that was a very valuable comment by many guests. The entire team is looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.